See other Edinburgh properties

Edinburgh Backpackers

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 76% from 26 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place is ridden with bed bugs. The hostel staff is pretty nonchalent about it unfortunately. Also the hostel is very dingy, unclean and the lock near the front was almost broken.
  • 34%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Tejaswi Canada
  • I think that it is normal hostel for normal price. All are clean, in the city center.
  • 69%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Elena Russia
  • Nice friendly staff, comfy beds. Female showers were communical.
  • 77%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • An okay hostel with a great location and very friendly staff. The rooms are clean and fairly basic, but practical. The facilities are old, but clean. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and will be back next year.
  • 74%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Tina Germany
  • Pretty good place to stay. Just a 30 second walk from the royal mile and the beds were comfortable. The lockers were fairly big. It was a bit of a pain that I had to leave the room and then walk into the bathroom with a wet floor to have a shower. The windows didn't shut properly so bugs came in a fair amount.
  • 86%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Sebastian Canada
  • Beds were very unstable and placed in a row, so when a person turned around in the bed next to mine, my bed vibrated aswell. I guess the beds would be okay to sleep in if they were further apart, so you were not woken up by the vibrationsas I was. Otherwise nice helpful staf, and the place felt secure and (sometimes) clean. Hint nice bathrooms on the top floor :).
  • 77%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Camilla Hasling Denmark
  • The washrooms and baths were not comfortable and need to be cleaned more often since large number of users
  • 60%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Nirmala India
  • I had a private room and it was comfortable and very good price for a private. Great location as well, close to the sights in old town as well as the train station. I would stay here again.
  • 86%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Edinburgh Backpackers was a fantastic place to stay in a safe and prime location. If you're interested in the pent rooms, then get ready for a bit of a climb to the top of the building given they don't have a lift. The shower was rather small but it was functioning and warm. The rooms were nice and large, kitchen and sitting areas overlooking the town. Overall, this was a great hostel and I recommend it to any couple seeking a short stay in Edinburgh.
  • 77%
  • 14 May 2014 Sean Canada
  • The staff at the reception and the cafe next door were super nice and really welcoming. The location couldn’t have been better. However it was upsetting not having hot water to shower with. We stayed there for three nights and had hot water the first, freezing the second and warm the third. Still don’t understand what happened, if it’s frequent or was some isolated problem.
  • 80%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Isabel Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »