See other Edinburgh properties

Edinburgh Backpackers

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 75% from 23 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • the door to the room did not lock when i went out there was no arial for the littel box under the tv so i did not have the tv on in the evenig
  • 89%
  • 15 Jan 2015 gregory England
  • Stayed here for the Hogmanay celebration. It was awesome! Perfect location in the city center. You get free breakfast next door and the staff their are really friendly. Would definitely go back!
  • 100%
  • 31 Dec 2014 William USA
  • Very dirty and very unsafe hostels. For that very poor value for money Won't come back for sure! I really don't reccomend. Better add extra 2 pounds and go into another hostel
  • 31%
  • 21 Dec 2014 Mariya France
  • Nice place close to the heart of the city - cosy, quiet twin room. Good value for money, definitely worth to visit again:)
  • 89%
  • 12 Nov 2014 Karolina Poland
  • This place is ridden with bed bugs. The hostel staff is pretty nonchalent about it unfortunately. Also the hostel is very dingy, unclean and the lock near the front was almost broken.
  • 34%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Tejaswi Canada
  • I think that it is normal hostel for normal price. All are clean, in the city center.
  • 69%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Elena Russia
  • Nice friendly staff, comfy beds. Female showers were communical.
  • 77%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • An okay hostel with a great location and very friendly staff. The rooms are clean and fairly basic, but practical. The facilities are old, but clean. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and will be back next year.
  • 74%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Tina Germany
  • Pretty good place to stay. Just a 30 second walk from the royal mile and the beds were comfortable. The lockers were fairly big. It was a bit of a pain that I had to leave the room and then walk into the bathroom with a wet floor to have a shower. The windows didn't shut properly so bugs came in a fair amount.
  • 86%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Sebastian Canada
  • Beds were very unstable and placed in a row, so when a person turned around in the bed next to mine, my bed vibrated aswell. I guess the beds would be okay to sleep in if they were further apart, so you were not woken up by the vibrationsas I was. Otherwise nice helpful staf, and the place felt secure and (sometimes) clean. Hint nice bathrooms on the top floor :).
  • 77%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Camilla Hasling Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »