See other Edinburgh properties

Edinburgh Backpackers

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 71% from 24 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 63%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good location. Friendly staff. Crowded, stuffy lounge room. Tiny kitchen. Bathrooms smelly and dirty.
  • 66%
  • 14 Nov 2015 Thomas
  • Nice and friendly staff. Fantastic location. Fairly good value for money
  • 80%
  • 13 Nov 2015 Anant India
  • the room that we had was quite good. the only thing that was wrong: was that when it was raining we got water inside on the floor. the shower good not get the steam out son in time that will be mouldy. Otherwise it was nice, that we had a private room and own bathroom
  • 77%
  • 06 Nov 2015 Helena Denmark
  • Very dirty rooms, toilets and kitchen. Internet connection didn't work at all through out my staying. Wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to a friend.k
  • 46%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Lucilia
  • Hostel is clean, could be better but was ok.
  • 57%
  • 18 Sep 2015 Judith Italy
  • Excellent hostel in a good area, with good staff and great services.
  • 100%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Viktor Fredrik Sweden
  • Best hostel I've been in and I'd recommend this one to everyone. Right off the royal mile, close to everything you could need to see in Edinburgh. I've never met staff who love their job more, and the experience in Edinburgh was perfect... I gave them 100% for good reason! Thanks so much Edinburgh Backpackers!!
  • 100%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • THE WORST HOSTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN! I actually cut my trip short because I could not bear to stay another night (and was not given a refund for the night I did not stay) Damp dank and dusty it triggered my asthma and gave me an allergy attack. Awful communal bathroom setup did not have female and male toilet on every floor with mold stains on the shower curtains. Top bunks had no railings or ladders and the staff treated me more as an inconvenience than a guest. Never again.
  • 34%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Teresa Portugal
  • i truly recommend this hostal to everyone, guy in recepcion was really nice and helpfull i was alone in the trip two was in center it was really nice! a free trip recommended by hostal was beautifull!!! i really loved it!!!
  • 89%
  • 22 Apr 2015 Paulina Poland
  • the door to the room did not lock when i went out there was no arial for the littel box under the tv so i did not have the tv on in the evenig
  • 89%
  • 15 Jan 2015 gregory England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »