See other Edinburgh properties

Edinburgh Backpackers

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 72% from 27 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The washrooms and baths were not comfortable and need to be cleaned more often since large number of users
  • 60%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Nirmala India
  • I had a private room and it was comfortable and very good price for a private. Great location as well, close to the sights in old town as well as the train station. I would stay here again.
  • 86%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Edinburgh Backpackers was a fantastic place to stay in a safe and prime location. If you're interested in the pent rooms, then get ready for a bit of a climb to the top of the building given they don't have a lift. The shower was rather small but it was functioning and warm. The rooms were nice and large, kitchen and sitting areas overlooking the town. Overall, this was a great hostel and I recommend it to any couple seeking a short stay in Edinburgh.
  • 77%
  • 14 May 2014 Sean Canada
  • The staff at the reception and the cafe next door were super nice and really welcoming. The location couldn’t have been better. However it was upsetting not having hot water to shower with. We stayed there for three nights and had hot water the first, freezing the second and warm the third. Still don’t understand what happened, if it’s frequent or was some isolated problem.
  • 80%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Isabel Spain
  • Cosy room Very dirty bathroom Great staff Weird people in the common area
  • 71%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Kaja Norway
  • Received a scarf and shot of whiskey upon arrival! Bottle of "champagne" (sparkling perry) awaited us in our room. Booked double room ensuite but really it was an apartment, plenty of room to sit and relax and a kitchen in another room. Unfortunately room was rather cold - one heater didn't work, one but didn't heat anything further than 10cm from it which left us with 2 mini space heaters to position right in front of ourselves in order to stay warm. Overall clean, but shabby. Towels threadbare
  • 83%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Josie England
  • Everyone was very kind. I think the bedroom is too little.
  • 83%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Lucia Brazil
  • The staff were very friendly and helpful when I arrived. The location was excellent as I was staying so that I could complete my exams at Edinburgh Uni and only really had a 5/10 minute walk to the exams. My room was a good size and very quiet which helped for studying. Great value for money.
  • 74%
  • 16 Dec 2013 Heather Scotland
  • good location single room was clean quiet
  • 91%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Martin Czech Republic
  • I stayed in a private twin bedroom. We had the luck to share the bathroom with only one other room. Location of the hostel is excellent: right off the royal mile, a few steps away from everything!!! Staff was also really friendly. But maybe a small tip for the hostel: do take care of the air vents and shower curtains once in a while, not really a pretty and hygienic sight ;-)
  • 83%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous Belgium
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »