See other Edinburgh properties

Edinburgh Backpackers

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 74% from 28 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Best hostel I've been in and I'd recommend this one to everyone. Right off the royal mile, close to everything you could need to see in Edinburgh. I've never met staff who love their job more, and the experience in Edinburgh was perfect... I gave them 100% for good reason! Thanks so much Edinburgh Backpackers!!
  • 100%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • THE WORST HOSTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN! I actually cut my trip short because I could not bear to stay another night (and was not given a refund for the night I did not stay) Damp dank and dusty it triggered my asthma and gave me an allergy attack. Awful communal bathroom setup did not have female and male toilet on every floor with mold stains on the shower curtains. Top bunks had no railings or ladders and the staff treated me more as an inconvenience than a guest. Never again.
  • 34%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Teresa Portugal
  • i truly recommend this hostal to everyone, guy in recepcion was really nice and helpfull i was alone in the trip two days...it was in center it was really nice! a free trip recommended by hostal was beautifull!!! i really loved it!!!
  • 89%
  • 22 Apr 2015 Paulina Poland
  • the door to the room did not lock when i went out there was no arial for the littel box under the tv so i did not have the tv on in the evenig
  • 89%
  • 15 Jan 2015 gregory England
  • Stayed here for the Hogmanay celebration. It was awesome! Perfect location in the city center. You get free breakfast next door and the staff their are really friendly. Would definitely go back!
  • 100%
  • 31 Dec 2014 William USA
  • Very dirty and very unsafe hostels. For that very poor value for money Won't come back for sure! I really don't reccomend. Better add extra 2 pounds and go into another hostel
  • 31%
  • 21 Dec 2014 Mariya France
  • Nice place close to the heart of the city - cosy, quiet twin room. Good value for money, definitely worth to visit again:)
  • 89%
  • 12 Nov 2014 Karolina Poland
  • This place is ridden with bed bugs. The hostel staff is pretty nonchalent about it unfortunately. Also the hostel is very dingy, unclean and the lock near the front was almost broken.
  • 34%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Tejaswi Canada
  • I think that it is normal hostel for normal price. All are clean, in the city center.
  • 69%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Elena Russia
  • Nice friendly staff, comfy beds. Female showers were communical.
  • 77%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »