See other Taipei properties

Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel

1F, No.6, Alley 4, Lane 48, JinJiang St., ShiDa,Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan, Distance from city centre: 8.4km

Rating: 92% from 23 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dreaming Dragon. The location is perfect--a quiet residential district just three stops from Taipei station. The staff were friendly, and Karen gave us a helpful introduction to the area and some ideas about what to do during our stay. Facilities were clean, and the room was cosy and spacious. I liked that at DD there was plenty of privacy and personal space. I would stay here again if I'm back in Taipei. PS: the hand drawn welcome card was lovely :)
  • 89%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • An exemplary hostel experience. The staff was outstanding: Immediately after my reception, I was given a map of the area and was told about many great places to eat. I was introduced to other guests who were similarly friendly, warm, and welcoming. The hostel has great character and an awesome atmosphere. It is less than five minutes from the met. Just follow the directions and you will find it no problem. I cannot stress enough how great the staff is. Would definitely stay again in the future.
  • 97%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Martin Canada
  • This hostel feels like home. The staff is amazingly nice! Organised activities are great too. If there's a hostel you need to book in Taipei it's this one!
  • 100%
  • 16 Jun 2014 Constance France
  • Never did try any hostel before. This was my first! It made me feel right at home! Everyone was friendly and awesome, the crew were very helpful and provided excellent hospitality. Def would come back again
  • 97%
  • 13 May 2014 marvin
  • This place has a really cool atmosphere, and it was clean and comfortable. My friend and I really enjoyed our stay and felt that it was close enough to everything. I particularly loved the art and elephants around the place.
  • 94%
  • 31 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was really great experience. Especially its host and staffs are really cool!! :) I want to visit again there... And I miss there...
  • 100%
  • 15 Feb 2014 GEUNSEOK South Korea
  • Very clean. Helpful staff. Central location.
  • 86%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was great and conveniently located just three stops from Taipei Main Station. However, the staff really make the place worth it. They're really happy to chat in English or Chinese and make you feel at home.
  • 100%
  • 05 Feb 2014 Wendy USA
  • I had a blast at Eight Elephants! The staff was welcoming and helpful, the lounge area was relaxing and fun, and the whole experience was so wonderful I only wish I could have stayed longer.
  • 97%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Geoffrey USA
  • Cozy and fun, my favorite place in Taipei!
  • 97%
  • 01 Jan 2014 Martin Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »