See other Cusco properties

El Tuco Hostel

Av. Grau 835, Santiago, Cusco, Peru, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 89% from 24 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was not professional. Although this hostal is a house. I expected more professionalism from the staff. Before I arrived I received an email from Coco the person in charge of the hostal. In the email he recommended a pick up service from the airport to the hostal. The cost of the pick up service is 40 soles but he said that other taxi companies charge 55 soles. The truth is the cost is about 15 soles. I was ripped off by this hostal. I would recommend other to look at other hostals.
  • 37%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • El tuco hostel was great!! Coco and his familly accepted me into their familly for a couple days!! Hot showers and a comfy bed was exactly what I needed after a day of traveling around. Good breakfast included and a walking distancie from the square. It was perfect!
  • 100%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Audrey USA
  • Coco is great! He helped everything what I want!!!! They have Wi-Fi, hot shower, baggage storage, and most important things that very kindness heart for everyone! Cost is not expensive! 本当に何でもしてくれるホストの方でした!値段相応の部屋ですが、ホストの方の思いやりの気持ちが充分に伝わって来て、値段以上の体験が出来ました。素晴らしかったです。
  • 97%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • Coco was helpful and the place is excellent. Will definitely recommend for future visits. Best hot showers!
  • 100%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Highly recommend this hostel. Coco and his wife are wonderful hosts! The hostel is great if you are looking for a quieter hostel away from the busy centre of the city. It is only a 10 minute walk from the main square and worth it for a quiet night's rest.
  • 97%
  • 06 Feb 2014 Bernadette Canada
  • A little bit farther away from the center of the downtown (10-15 minute walk perhaps) but very friendly staff and nice accommodations for the price. Wifi and breakfast included. My only complaint was trying to figure out how to get in! (There is a doorbell tucked away behind the main gate). Overall very satisfied.
  • 83%
  • 23 Jan 2014 Nicholas USA
  • I liked this hostel a lot. The owner of the hostel, Coco, was really helpful. He likes to help guests and tries to make them feel at home.
  • 94%
  • 20 Jan 2014 hiroki Japan
  • Coco, the manager of this hostel is really considerate and helpful! The first time we were at this hostel he told us about the bugs on Macchu Picchu & reccommended an allergy medicine, which was needed. :) We liked it so much, we came back again. :) This time I went outside to enjoy the day and he brought a table cloth out for me and an umbrella to shade me from the sun. He is very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Amazing hostel, I DEFF reccommend it. nice big kitchen too!!!!
  • 91%
  • 01 Jan 2014 Hannah USA
  • a hidden gem. tucked away from the main bustle and hustle of the main square but within walking distance. great value for location. amazing facility with extremely friendly staff/owner. very hospitable and accommodating and helpful. love the place. very secure, cozy with great amenities. 7 blocks from the main square with plenty of local shops and stores on the way to interact with the local people. only a short distance from the airport, convenient and easily accessible. plus plus
  • 97%
  • 21 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Very pleasant stay. Though not in the middle of the historical/tourist areas, it's very close to Qorikancha, about a 15 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas (though there were significantly fewer tourists after we turned off the main street, El Sol), and 15 minutes to the airport by taxi. The high pressure (though a bit too high, had to fiddle with the knobs a bit) and hot shower was wonderful! Our room was very clean as well. Staff members were all very friendly.
  • 100%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »