See other Cartagena properties

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 88% from 31 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My boyfriend and I had a private room, and we were in their second location (just a few doors down from the main building where reception desk is) and we were so pleased!! It was very quiet, peaceful, and private - the main building always had a lot of action going on and people hanging out which is not a bad thing, but we really enjoyed our quieter location. We really enjoyed our stay and the staff was friendly and helpful.
  • 91%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel, wonderful common areas to meet others!
  • 100%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The showers are mixed and need to be more clean. Clogged drains and too much sand. Staffs are well informed. Air conditioner in the rooms!
  • 66%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Fernanda Brazil
  • Best place ever!! I really enjoyed my visit in Cartagena and also in El Viajero. Recomended .. Will stay again.
  • 97%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Laura Mexico
  • Great location but I don't think this hostel quite lives up to its billing. It is reasonably priced and in a good location but it has drawbacks. It seems like a good place to go if you're arriving in a big group, but for travellers looking for meet others, it's not the friendliest place. Not many showers considering the number of guests, and they could be cleaner. Some of the staff were very helpful, others were quite lazy. Tours booked here are cheaper than at other hostels. Towels cost extra.
  • 63%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Stuart New Zealand
  • This hostel is very nice, I recommend it, but I don`t recommend Cartagena. It`s very expensive (more than Europe), there are no Caribeean beaches around (you need to travel by boat) and it`s extremely hot. Nightlife is awful, only 1 club with A/A.
  • 83%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • I just was there 1 night so I cant judge it, but I can said that the location is nice if your plan is to discov er the "Corralito" by foot. I saw a party atmosphere but Im not sure if it is like that. It is a nice and cool place. The thestaff are too frendly.
  • 80%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Anonymous Dominican Republic
  • After staying here 2 weeks before, this was my 2nd stay (for 4 days). Stayed in dorm and private room and both was very good. Staff is helpful.
  • 100%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • One of the best hostals I stayed in so far (if not even the best). Great location, good rooms (incl. safety boxes + lockers for everyone, professional handling of the luggage room, nice bar, free salsa lessons and organizes trips to nearby places (e.g. playa blanca). Nothing to complain about.
  • 100%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Thanks for everything. it was great and i even enjoyed wed night!
  • 97%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Norisuke Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »