See other Cartagena properties

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Calle 7 Infantes, Cartagena, Colombia, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 84% from 21 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff is well prepared to recomend places to eat, exchange money, how to buy mobile sim card, and other information. All I asked was answered in a good way. This hostel has and incredible atmosphere for interaction, to meet other travellers and friendships. The location, inside old town, is excellent. Really enjoyed!
  • 86%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Andre Brazil
  • It was great although I'd like more things for breakfast. The atmosphere is great, the service is good and the beds are comfortable. I liked it and would definitely book a place in el viajero hostel when travelling to Cartagena!
  • 83%
  • 06 Jan 2015 Wilmer Colombia
  • The staff is very rude and unhelpful. The showers were disgusting. I've been in many hostels and this one is by far the worst hostel in the world.
  • 46%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • Staff could have been more friendly. They seemed annoyed when I asked them about some questions, but it could have been because it was extremely hot that day.
  • 74%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • My boyfriend and I had a private room, and we were in their second location (just a few doors down from the main building where reception desk is) and we were so pleased!! It was very quiet, peaceful, and private - the main building always had a lot of action going on and people hanging out which is not a bad thing, but we really enjoyed our quieter location. We really enjoyed our stay and the staff was friendly and helpful.
  • 91%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel, wonderful common areas to meet others!
  • 100%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The showers are mixed and need to be more clean. Clogged drains and too much sand. Staffs are well informed. Air conditioner in the rooms!
  • 66%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Fernanda Brazil
  • Best place ever!! I really enjoyed my visit in Cartagena and also in El Viajero. Recomended .. Will stay again.
  • 97%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Laura Mexico
  • Great location but I don't think this hostel quite lives up to its billing. It is reasonably priced and in a good location but it has drawbacks. It seems like a good place to go if you're arriving in a big group, but for travellers looking for meet others, it's not the friendliest place. Not many showers considering the number of guests, and they could be cleaner. Some of the staff were very helpful, others were quite lazy. Tours booked here are cheaper than at other hostels. Towels cost extra.
  • 63%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Stuart New Zealand
  • This hostel is very nice, I recommend it, but I don`t recommend Cartagena. It`s very expensive (more than Europe), there are no Caribeean beaches around (you need to travel by boat) and it`s extremely hot. Nightlife is awful, only 1 club with A/A.
  • 83%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »