See other Kathmandu properties

Elbrus Home

Thamel, Kathmandu, Kathmandu, Nepal, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 88% from 13 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It not located in center of Thamel yet it still convenient to get there,only takes 10 mins by walking. Host and staff were so friendly and enthusiastic to help travellers, they really treated us very well. Free and yummy breakfast is awesome benefit!!!
  • 91%
  • 06 Mar 2014 Chuan Wen Taiwan
  • The location has some distance walking to the center of thamel. Besides, the noisy street and barking dogs make you hard to sleep. Some sound-proof windows can be installed on each room.
  • 77%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Super friendly staff and a delicious breakfast! Would definitely stay here again.
  • 94%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Bronwyn Australia
  • Great location, delicious free breakfast, clean, organized, and a wonderful staff that will answer any questions and help you with anything you need.
  • 100%
  • 10 Nov 2013 Clark USA
  • Whether you're going to Nepal to hike, sightsee, or just explore, this is a great place to start. Helpful and knowledgeable staff that will set you up with anything you need and make you feel at home. Great location right at Thamel.
  • 100%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Clark USA
  • This is my second times to stay at Elbrus and I have no any reason to stay somewhere else when here is the best in Thamel. I definitely choose to stay here again, every time I visit Nepal.
  • 94%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Anonymous Thailand
  • Great location right at Thamel and a wonderful staff that will make you feel like you're at home. Had a wonderful time here.
  • 100%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Clark USA
  • Great place, the staff are really nice. The breakfast is good 2.
  • 97%
  • 09 Jul 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • GREAT PLACE TO STAY,VERY NICE GARDEN.BELIVE ME YOU NEED THIS IN KATHMANDU HAHAHA.BOTH BROTHERS WHO RUN HOSTEL ARE GREAT AND VERY HELP FULL.VERY SAFE PLACE TO BE AS WELL.IF YOU LIKE MORE RELAXING TIME BEFORE TREKKING,THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY FOR SURE.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2013 sergej England
  • Thamel has tons of hostels, but what sets this one apart is the staff and the location. The staff are incredibly friendly, knowledgable and helpful and the location is just outside of Thamel, making it not as noisy. The breakfasts included at also a nice bonus, and quite delicious! I highly recommend this hostel.
  • 86%
  • 24 May 2013 Ellen USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »