See other Kathmandu properties

Elbrus Home

Thamel, Kathmandu, Kathmandu, Nepal, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 93% from 9 reviews

  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 97%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • What a wonderful experience! This is an oasis in Kathmandu. In the morning Khem, Aleh, and their staff prepare a wonderful breakfast at any time from 6AM to 11AM based on your schedule. They are very helpful for any type of activity you would like to do. They also, with no reservation, took care of our baggage while we were in Nagrakot. This is a little outside of Thamel, which can actually be a good thing but wanted to let you know that you need to cross a busy road to get into Thamel.
  • 100%
  • 23 Aug 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I had such a great experience, the owner Kheem was so accommodating, so helpful literally to the last minute. Even after I had paid and checked out he walked me to the bus stop to make sure I got on alright. The breakfast was great, the staff was friendly, and the location was perfect distance from the hustle and noise of Thamel. I loved my stay here, I would definitely recommend.
  • 94%
  • 29 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • We had a nice stay with an excellent breakfast and a hot shower. The hostel manager is very helpful with whatever you need.
  • 86%
  • 26 May 2016 Julie Pommer Denmark
  • Elbrus Home was such a great hostel in Thamel. Kim will bend over backwards for you to make you happy! He is very nice and will have breakfast made every morning. He will also have tea or soup made for you in the daytime. I highly recommend it and would go back!
  • 100%
  • 13 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent stay at Elbrus home. Khem went above and beyond to welcome, accommodate, and help us throughout our journey of Nepal. Highly recommended!
  • 83%
  • 16 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Elbrus Home was a lovely respite from the chaotic nature of neighboring Thamel. Khim is a first-rate host and took care to address all of our needs during our two night stay in Kathmandu. Accommodations were simple but clean, and the hot showers always worked as advertised. Breakfast is a delight, and readily available drinking water is a nice touch. Lots of outdoor space, decent WiFi and a roof deck round out a good value guesthouse for a bookend stay before/after trekking in and around Nepal.
  • 89%
  • 07 Nov 2015 David USA
  • My son and I enjoyed our stay here at Elbrus Home . We stayed here twice on our trip in Nepal . The staff is great ! always willing to help you . A great breakfast too . Location is very close to the main Thamel area . They will answer any question and book whatever is needed . This is a must stay location and very safe place .
  • 100%
  • 31 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Each night I stayed was a pleasure. Great staff and service. Breakfast was good, the rooms nice and clean. I'll definitely stay again and recommend to friends.
  • 94%
  • 10 Oct 2015 Brendan Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »