See other Sydney properties

Elephant Backpacker Sydney

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 58% from 11 reviews

  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 63%Staff
  • 67%Security
  • 40%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 56%Value for money
  • 54%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • People are very crazy, but is fine. The wifi is good, but doesnt work in the bedroom only in the lounge.
  • 66%
  • 14 Aug 2014 adriano Brazil
  • great location, very kind, friendly and helpful stuff. nice experience, could only recommend !
  • 89%
  • 27 May 2014 Chunye South Korea
  • Bedbugs and cockroaches inclusive and everywhere. Staff advised us to go back to bed after discovering bed bug, since they would clean the whole room a f ew hours later. Happened das after We moved to another room, which was even worse. Kitchen dirty and also full of animals. Beds are double booked or just some strangers sleep in your room without paying. Nobody really checks or does care. Bathrooms are most of the time disgusting. Do yourself a favour and do not go there.
  • 43%
  • 29 Mar 2014 Xenia Germany
  • We were there in the start of mars and we just stay there over the day beacuse we saw that our bed ha a free surfer Mr.bedbugs, but we got our money back and the staff were friendly. The wifi is alright and the kitchen is quit good but you have to leave a deposit for everything you want to use and you get a plate and mug for your stay that you have to return when you check out.
  • 71%
  • 04 Mar 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • It was the most tragic, horrible and most of all unhygienic.... very dirty. Also the staffs were not friendly at all making us wait for more then 30mins just to check in.
  • 20%
  • 23 Feb 2014 Anonymous
  • The staff was uninterested, not helpful and unfriendly. The toilets were always dirty and not usable. The fridges were disgusting and cockroaches and bed bugs love to say hello.
  • 43%
  • 18 Feb 2014 Louisa Germany
  • Would be worth paying $5 per night for staying at this filthy hostel. Im not so sensitive when it comes to hostel because all you really do is sleeping there but the toilets at the second floor did not get cleaned every day neither the showers. They really need too upgrade this hostels cleaning areas.
  • 40%
  • 17 Feb 2014 Malin Sweden
  • I stayed for 3 nights in Elephant backpackers. The location is great, near St.James metro station and walking distance to many important places. The hostel has very nice and helpful staff, it's not the cleanest hostel, the bathtub was full of wet paper and toilets in general looked like that. I don't mind that much if its messy and all that, but jsut saying if you are. The rooms were very spacious which was good, Wifi didnt work most of the time, It's okay for the money you pay =)
  • 63%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • First I was thinking that is really nice hostel.. rooms are big and you have lot of space to put your staff. After all toilets were really really dirty and they didnt put toilet paper everyday. We stayed one week. For short term its good but for long term I wouldnt rekommend it to anybody. We gave feedback that kitchen was closed in lunch time but staff was rude. Not really good organising.
  • 49%
  • 16 Jan 2014 Marjaana Finland
  • Hostel was OK apart from having to sleep on the thinnest pillows ever!
  • 74%
  • 04 Jan 2014 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »