See other Singapore properties

Empire Hostel

41 Opal Crescent Level 2 Unit, Singapore, Singapore, Distance from city centre: 4.6km

Rating: 73% from 33 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 65%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good place to stay.
  • 89%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous India
  • Someone offering his personal appartment as a fake hostel in a bad area, very far from everything. Singaporeans brought me there after searching for it for at least 2 hours to take me somewhere else after seeing the 'hostel'. I checked in somewhere else. So nobody should go there. It is not real and not safe.
  • 20%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Tamara Germany
  • The hostel is very clean and safe for stay.The manager is friendly and helps out a lot.The hostel is located in a serene location.
  • 100%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Anonymous India
  • Good deal for your money in Singapore. The room and the bed was very comfortable and with small lockers. Air/Con works really good at night on dorms. wifi/Internet is fast. No breakfast. Near the metro and 30 minutes walk to little India.
  • 74%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I have a little money ahhhhhhh
  • 86%
  • 14 Jul 2014 ENRICO Italy
  • I chose Empire Hostel for our two-week stay in Singapore because it's the cheapest among other hostels. Not really expecting a lot because of the cheap price but I found our entire stay pleasant and memorable. The place is really clean. The hostel manager loves to keep it clean daily. Though the aircon is only open at night I don't mind. The place is also ten-minute walk to the MRT station and there are also hawker centre near the area. Just don't mess with the hostel manager or else...haha!
  • 71%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Minette Philippines
  • The place is kept clean by Kim, and the bed is of good quality though the electric fan in our room is defective that time (please note that the aircon is working) it will be better if she have it fixed ASAP to add convenience for people who are not used to hot climate. I like that that the water heater is working and that there is always a ready hot water for coffee. One more thing to improve is the signage outside so that it will be easier for newbies to find :) Overall we had a good stay in SG
  • 86%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Anonymous Philippines
  • We are pretty tolerant travelers and usually don't review hostels but this place is pretty bad. I think the woman's cat must have died a few minutes before we turned up because she is soo grumpy and rude. We were told off for everything including not closing the crappy front door quietly enough and carrying shoes inside? It's not a nice environment and not very fun. A/C only in dorm and only between 7pm and 11am. Shower's seem to have developed their own species of blue mold. But it's cheap
  • 49%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Christiane Germany
  • Room's okay. But it local quite far MRT and the others attraction
  • 60%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous Vietnam
  • I just stay one day in Empire, the facilities very average. I accepted, cause the price is cheap. The price never lying, no breakfast no coffee or tea even white water. And the location is far from MRT station, i have to ride the Bus to get MRT station. If you stay just one night, is doesn't matter to stay here. But if you stay more 1 days or more, you better find the other hostel. Because so many hostel more good than this. But overall empire hostel so great.
  • 63%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Yogo
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »