See other San Francisco properties

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel

1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 82% from 26 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I wasn't sure what to expect when we booked our stay here because I don't have much experience with discount hotels but my boyfriend and I were extremely pleased with what we got! We had a private room with a shared bathroom but the bathrooms were kept very clean and I never had to wait for one to be open. In our room we had a fridge, tv, and sink (so I didn't have to go out to brush my teeth) and the room itself was very clean and comfortable. I *highly* recommend this hotel!
  • 89%
  • 25 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The staff was so helpful and my bed was super comfortable! I will definitely return here for my next visit to SF.
  • 100%
  • 18 Feb 2016 Carolyn USA
  • Very good experience, nice staff, clean, safe, great location. No common room, but the rooms had a sink and small fridge and showers great. There is a music studio below and loud into the night, but the rooms have thick walls so the sound was muffled enough to not disturb my sleep for long. Would recommend!
  • 91%
  • 25 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Lovely and helpful crew. Safe location. Clean. Really good value, coazy. Really enjoyed this place. Recommend this. No kitchen and commonroom.
  • 89%
  • 22 Jan 2016 simon Norway
  • I didn't like the lack of a common room or kitchen. but I liked the atmosphere, the laundry, the free coffee, and especially the staff. The night front desk clerk, Kevin, is the nicest and most approachable front desk clerk I've ever seen.
  • 86%
  • 01 Nov 2015 Sheila USA
  • Stayed in the 6-bed male dorm with private bathroom. The room and bathroom were always very clean. For young people that like going to hostels to meet new people this Hostel misses a common area, other than that it is a very good place.
  • 71%
  • 15 Oct 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • In the words of a friend I met there, "This hostel is bitchin'."
  • 77%
  • 06 Sep 2015 Edward USA
  • This hostel need more bathrooms with a sink in it and shower stalls. There are only two shower stalls for the entire hall! If one doesn't work, then there is only one left for the entire hall that can house 40 plus people. Waiting to use the bathroom and shower is not very pleasant.
  • 83%
  • 30 Aug 2015 Anonymous Comoros
  • It is a pleasant clean hostel close to some good bars. The staff is very nice and will help you any time. The only thing missing is a common room. The downtown area is not far away. I would book it again.
  • 74%
  • 21 Aug 2015 Fabian Germany
  • The male receptionist is very rude to me as he gave only half-hearted answers when asked about facilities and room booking extension, somehow in a pretty condescending way that felt extremely insulting to me. Rooms were pretty clean but there wasn't much space in the dorms. The lockers were too small to even fit a Mac Book. Location is alright as there are many restaurants, cafes and etc nearby.
  • 63%
  • 31 Jul 2015 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »