See other San Francisco properties

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel

1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 77% from 23 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location, not far from public transportation and restaurants, bars etc. I got a double bed with extra pillows which made my trip. Would stay again even though the price was a little higher than what I usually pay for hostels.
  • 94%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Thank you for a pleasant stay!
  • 100%
  • 30 May 2015 Justin USA
  • For a night or two this place is fine, its clean, rooms are quite nice and the loacation is ok. Problem is its not really a hostel, no communal areas like a kitchen or common room and also a major lack of showering facilities. Therefore you also feel that the cost is a little steep considering this lack of facilities. I do have to commend the staff though. Very polite, very helpful and very quick to respond to emails.
  • 74%
  • 31 Mar 2015 Anonymous England
  • Way too many people in a very, very small room.
  • 60%
  • 30 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Met my "bargain" criteria, reasonable close to the event I was attending, and the room was comfy (4-person room but nobody else in it!). Area felt a little sketchy and the down-the-hall bathroom set-up was a minus. Also a little odd that the desk was closed from 11 PM to some time after 7 AM.
  • 74%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good location. Rooms were clean, beds were hard. Bathrooms are lacking. There are floors with 16 rooms each. Each floor has one bathroom with a toilet only and 2 bathrooms with toilet and shower. Very difficult to find an open shower. Sometimes have to wait for the toilet. Basement is a band practice facility/business with at least 16 practice rooms, they're also adding practice rooms on the ground level directly below hotel rooms. You can definitely hear them playing, but they stop at 11pm.
  • 60%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Casey USA
  • This place is very nice, clean, bed is very comfortable and big Great
  • 91%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Krit Thailand
  • It's rather unfair to share my view as I only spent a night at this hostel but for what it's worth the staff was friendly and accommodating in the early check in (their hours starts at 3pm I checked in at 9am) gave me great ideas on what to do in San Francisco on my short stay. It was a bit unusual that they do not have a kitchen there but otherwise provide a good environment.
  • 80%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • There are 3 toilets and 2showers for around 60 guests, that's each floor. You will need a long pee-pee dance. And you can expect housekeeping to steal your clothes and bathing products while you are off your bed.
  • 43%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »