See other San Francisco properties

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel

1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 75% from 58 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place is very nice, clean, bed is very comfortable and big Great
  • 91%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Krit Thailand
  • It's rather unfair to share my view as I only spent a night at this hostel but for what it's worth the staff was friendly and accommodating in the early check in (their hours starts at 3pm I checked in at 9am) gave me great ideas on what to do in San Francisco on my short stay. It was a bit unusual that they do not have a kitchen there but otherwise provide a good environment.
  • 80%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • There are 3 toilets and 2showers for around 60 guests, that's each floor. You will need a long pee-pee dance. And you can expect housekeeping to steal your clothes and bathing products while you are off your bed.
  • 43%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • When we arrived, we called the office from the intercom with no answer. We then called the front desk and were put on hold until someone opened the front door for us. We went upstairs and saw the person at the desk working with another customer. Commonly, when someone would call the main line, the front desk employee would put them on hold and forget about them until they hung up.
  • 60%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Sean USA
  • it would have been nice to have a common area to meet the others staying at the hostel; other then the 5 people in the dorms. other then that it was a good hosteling experience
  • 74%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anthony USA
  • The receptionist are quite cold to interact with. The room are small, they have locker but don't provide lock. The whole block have to share one bathroom, so it's a pain the morning to brush your teeth and having morning urinary. The towel is torn apart. Wifi works pretty well for each room.
  • 57%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Nguyen Vietnam
  • Band rehearsal space downstairs, so there was loud music directly under our room until about midnight. Would've been more annoyed with it if we hadn't just travelled for 24 hours. We were so tired we fell straight asleep regardless.
  • 74%
  • 01 Jun 2014 Jack Ireland
  • The best thing about this hostel is super nice staff! It is very clean, even towels were snow-white and fluffy. The beds were big and comfortable, and there was mini fridge, yay! The down side is they have only two showers per floor. From the room it sounds like people slam the doors instead of just closing, but that just the way doors are. Its nice that hostel is evenly close to waterfront,Bart and down town. But you have to walk through shady area to get to down town. Polk street is buzzing!
  • 83%
  • 28 May 2014 liliya USA
  • Excellent location. Safe neighborhood, tons of restaurants and cafés. Very close to bus lines. Inside- clean and friendly people. Bathrooms sterilized every morning and stocked with soaps and towels. Not enough bathrooms and showers in ratio to the room count- wake up earlier to get your spot. Private rooms are spacious and I'd rather stay here than 4 times the cost at the Hilton. Staff- super helpful and knowledgeable of the city. Really impressed with the Encore.
  • 89%
  • 22 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • in this hostel, there is no public space for people to chat with each other, and also the wifi is not very good.
  • 66%
  • 21 May 2014 Bin China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »