See other San Francisco properties

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel

1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 78% from 24 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • In the words of a friend I met there, "This hostel is bitchin'."
  • 77%
  • 06 Sep 2015 Edward USA
  • This hostel need more bathrooms with a sink in it and shower stalls. There are only two shower stalls for the entire hall! If one doesn't work, then there is only one left for the entire hall that can house 40 plus people. Waiting to use the bathroom and shower is not very pleasant.
  • 83%
  • 30 Aug 2015 Anonymous Comoros
  • It is a pleasant clean hostel close to some good bars. The staff is very nice and will help you any time. The only thing missing is a common room. The downtown area is not far away. I would book it again.
  • 74%
  • 21 Aug 2015 Fabian Germany
  • The male receptionist is very rude to me as he gave only half-hearted answers when asked about facilities and room booking extension, somehow in a pretty condescending way that felt extremely insulting to me. Rooms were pretty clean but there wasn't much space in the dorms. The lockers were too small to even fit a Mac Book. Location is alright as there are many restaurants, cafes and etc nearby.
  • 63%
  • 31 Jul 2015 Anonymous China
  • Great location, not far from public transportation and restaurants, bars etc. I got a double bed with extra pillows which made my trip. Would stay again even though the price was a little higher than what I usually pay for hostels.
  • 94%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Thank you for a pleasant stay!
  • 100%
  • 30 May 2015 Justin USA
  • For a night or two this place is fine, its clean, rooms are quite nice and the loacation is ok. Problem is its not really a hostel, no communal areas like a kitchen or common room and also a major lack of showering facilities. Therefore you also feel that the cost is a little steep considering this lack of facilities. I do have to commend the staff though. Very polite, very helpful and very quick to respond to emails.
  • 74%
  • 31 Mar 2015 Anonymous England
  • Way too many people in a very, very small room.
  • 60%
  • 30 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Met my "bargain" criteria, reasonable close to the event I was attending, and the room was comfy (4-person room but nobody else in it!). Area felt a little sketchy and the down-the-hall bathroom set-up was a minus. Also a little odd that the desk was closed from 11 PM to some time after 7 AM.
  • 74%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good location. Rooms were clean, beds were hard. Bathrooms are lacking. There are floors with 16 rooms each. Each floor has one bathroom with a toilet only and 2 bathrooms with toilet and shower. Very difficult to find an open shower. Sometimes have to wait for the toilet. Basement is a band practice facility/business with at least 16 practice rooms, they're also adding practice rooms on the ground level directly below hotel rooms. You can definitely hear them playing, but they stop at 11pm.
  • 60%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Casey USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »