See other San Francisco properties

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel

1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 76% from 52 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Only a few blocks from downtown. Staff very nice
  • 86%
  • 29 Mar 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • Great hostel/hotel, with a great location close to the embacadero and Union Square. Easy to get there by train and bus
  • 69%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Marie Denmark
  • If you are looking for an affordable place to stay that is pretty central, you will definitely stay at this hostel. It is clean and the room I shared with 5 other people had its own kitchen+bathroom and was pretty big. Unfortunately it is pretty close to a bad area in SF but if you know where the are is, you can easily avoid having to pass through there without having a major detour. Unfortunately there is not a lot of the typical "hostel life" going on - it's more a hotel-like atmosphere.
  • 60%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Bianca Germany
  • The room for two people was really nice (at least the one we got). Theres a Music Studio underneath the Hostel which makes some noise in the late evening, but no sleeping problems with that.
  • 80%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Yven Pascal Germany
  • I had a problem with my credit card (and it actually was my fault), but the asian girl that was at that time on the front desk was not really friendly and she didn't seem even concerned to let me in San Francisco without a place to stay on a long weekend. Another guest helped me, and if I stayed in the hostel was because of her help, not of the good service of the asian girl. However, the hostel is very good, clean and friendly, although a common area would be good if you want to meet others.
  • 89%
  • 15 Feb 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • terrible Asian staff but pretty good place
  • 57%
  • 05 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Encore hostel has great location and it is clean and comfortable. The clerk is helpful and nice. And sheets and pillows will be changed everyday. But there is no actual kitchen so it is a little bit inconvenient for traveler who need to cook.
  • 100%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • We stayed in a double private room for a week. Overall, we were very pleased with the accommodations. The very best part about this hostel is the location. We were able to walk everywhere that we wanted to go, and the central location was perfect! The room is small but nice, the shared bathrooms were clean and fairly convenient, and the music club downstairs stopped playing at eleven. For the price and placement, we would certainly stay again.
  • 80%
  • 14 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • great staffs. Please keep up the good job
  • 89%
  • 15 Nov 2013 Rophine USA
  • Had a great time. Very clean, kind of like staying with a friend.
  • 100%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »