See other San Francisco properties

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel

1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 77% from 21 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • always look forward to stay at this location!! only negative is lack of an elevator and having to climb narrow,winding stairs.
  • 94%
  • 13 Aug 2016 Anonymous USA
  • This place is also a hotel and it definitely has that feel. Hotel layout, very clean rooms, and free toiletries! However, this also means no real common areas, so if you want to be in the hostel but out of your room, tough luck. Also, the beds SUCK. I felt really old getting up in the mornings because my back actually hurt. In addition to being uncomfortable they all have this weird plastic undersheet that makes a lot of noise and also makes the bed feel really sweaty. Not impressed by that.
  • 80%
  • 18 Jul 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was dirty. they didn't clean up everyday.
  • 26%
  • 04 Jul 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • Why didn't you clean up everyday?
  • 26%
  • 03 Jul 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • The hostel was dirty. they didn't clean up everyday.
  • 26%
  • 02 Jul 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • The hostel was nice and clean, they tidied beds and gave fresh towela during our stay. The sinks and mini fridges in the room are a big help. There was a bit of noise a few nights but they can't help that. I recommend this hostel.
  • 77%
  • 26 Jun 2016 Devin Australia
  • Nice stay in this hostel. Really clean and feels secure with swipe card access on all doors (including bathrooms). They'll organise an airport shuttle for you for only $16 - best deal I could find! The staff are all friendly and willing to help. Couple of small negatives - there's only 1 washer and dryer, shared with housekeeping, so they're often occupied for most of the day washing sheets; there's no communal area; and there's no curtains in the dorm.
  • 86%
  • 16 Jun 2016 Abbey Scotland
  • See previous review.
  • 86%
  • 22 May 2016 Anonymous England
  • The staff were friendly and helpful on check-in. The dorm room was clean and comfortable. However I was disappointed that there wasn't a common room or kitchen which most hostels have.
  • 86%
  • 21 May 2016 Anonymous England
  • I wasn't sure what to expect when we booked our stay here because I don't have much experience with discount hotels but my boyfriend and I were extremely pleased with what we got! We had a private room with a shared bathroom but the bathrooms were kept very clean and I never had to wait for one to be open. In our room we had a fridge, tv, and sink (so I didn't have to go out to brush my teeth) and the room itself was very clean and comfortable. I *highly* recommend this hotel!
  • 89%
  • 25 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »