See other San Francisco properties

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel

1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 75% from 63 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • When we arrived, we called the office from the intercom with no answer. We then called the front desk and were put on hold until someone opened the front door for us. We went upstairs and saw the person at the desk working with another customer. Commonly, when someone would call the main line, the front desk employee would put them on hold and forget about them until they hung up.
  • 60%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Sean USA
  • it would have been nice to have a common area to meet the others staying at the hostel; other then the 5 people in the dorms. other then that it was a good hosteling experience
  • 74%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anthony USA
  • The receptionist are quite cold to interact with. The room are small, they have locker but don't provide lock. The whole block have to share one bathroom, so it's a pain the morning to brush your teeth and having morning urinary. The towel is torn apart. Wifi works pretty well for each room.
  • 57%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Nguyen Vietnam
  • Band rehearsal space downstairs, so there was loud music directly under our room until about midnight. Would've been more annoyed with it if we hadn't just travelled for 24 hours. We were so tired we fell straight asleep regardless.
  • 74%
  • 01 Jun 2014 Jack Ireland
  • The best thing about this hostel is super nice staff! It is very clean, even towels were snow-white and fluffy. The beds were big and comfortable, and there was mini fridge, yay! The down side is they have only two showers per floor. From the room it sounds like people slam the doors instead of just closing, but that just the way doors are. Its nice that hostel is evenly close to waterfront,Bart and down town. But you have to walk through shady area to get to down town. Polk street is buzzing!
  • 83%
  • 28 May 2014 liliya USA
  • Excellent location. Safe neighborhood, tons of restaurants and cafés. Very close to bus lines. Inside- clean and friendly people. Bathrooms sterilized every morning and stocked with soaps and towels. Not enough bathrooms and showers in ratio to the room count- wake up earlier to get your spot. Private rooms are spacious and I'd rather stay here than 4 times the cost at the Hilton. Staff- super helpful and knowledgeable of the city. Really impressed with the Encore.
  • 89%
  • 22 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • in this hostel, there is no public space for people to chat with each other, and also the wifi is not very good.
  • 66%
  • 21 May 2014 Bin China
  • We had a double room for 34$, it was clean, we had our own fridge and our own TV. It was great Value and the location is alright. I rather prefer hostels though. Still the room was very old and had a strange smell. But i dont mind these things for 34$
  • 71%
  • 15 May 2014 Christopher Germany
  • Excellent Customer Services, very helpful staff, Highly recommend this Hostel... 5 stars:)
  • 97%
  • 14 May 2014 Oscar Mexico
  • This hostel is a homeless shelter, and is run by scoundrels. I arrived to discover that my private room would cost twice as much as I agreed to online. When showering, more water came out of the light above the sink than the shower head. Mosquitos devour your flesh at night, and there is a charge for a lock to keep your valuables safe. Note that walking two blocks in the wrong direction at night will result in you being robbed, because it happened to me. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND GET A HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!
  • 20%
  • 11 May 2014 Ari Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »