See other San Francisco properties

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel

1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 75% from 50 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Excellent location. Safe neighborhood, tons of restaurants and cafés. Very close to bus lines. Inside- clean and friendly people. Bathrooms sterilized every morning and stocked with soaps and towels. Not enough bathrooms and showers in ratio to the room count- wake up earlier to get your spot. Private rooms are spacious and I'd rather stay here than 4 times the cost at the Hilton. Staff- super helpful and knowledgeable of the city. Really impressed with the Encore.
  • 89%
  • 22 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • in this hostel, there is no public space for people to chat with each other, and also the wifi is not very good.
  • 66%
  • 21 May 2014 Bin China
  • We had a double room for 34$, it was clean, we had our own fridge and our own TV. It was great Value and the location is alright. I rather prefer hostels though. Still the room was very old and had a strange smell. But i dont mind these things for 34$
  • 71%
  • 15 May 2014 Christopher Germany
  • Excellent Customer Services, very helpful staff, Highly recommend this Hostel... 5 stars:)
  • 97%
  • 14 May 2014 Oscar Mexico
  • This hostel is a homeless shelter, and is run by scoundrels. I arrived to discover that my private room would cost twice as much as I agreed to online. When showering, more water came out of the light above the sink than the shower head. Mosquitos devour your flesh at night, and there is a charge for a lock to keep your valuables safe. Note that walking two blocks in the wrong direction at night will result in you being robbed, because it happened to me. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND GET A HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!
  • 20%
  • 11 May 2014 Ari Canada
  • I thought there is going to be a kitchen in somewhere.(I stayed in 4 beds). But there wasn't. So, it was quite difficult to cook. (actually, I coudln't cook at all). Except that, it's really clean, they change a towel every day, and clean every day~location is not that good.. I recommend you to find hostels within the downtown.(Powell or whatever)
  • 63%
  • 08 May 2014 Su-Ji South Korea
  • Only a few blocks from downtown. Staff very nice
  • 86%
  • 29 Mar 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • Great hostel/hotel, with a great location close to the embacadero and Union Square. Easy to get there by train and bus
  • 69%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Marie Denmark
  • If you are looking for an affordable place to stay that is pretty central, you will definitely stay at this hostel. It is clean and the room I shared with 5 other people had its own kitchen+bathroom and was pretty big. Unfortunately it is pretty close to a bad area in SF but if you know where the are is, you can easily avoid having to pass through there without having a major detour. Unfortunately there is not a lot of the typical "hostel life" going on - it's more a hotel-like atmosphere.
  • 60%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Bianca Germany
  • The room for two people was really nice (at least the one we got). Theres a Music Studio underneath the Hostel which makes some noise in the late evening, but no sleeping problems with that.
  • 80%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Yven Pascal Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »