See other San Francisco properties

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel

1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 77% from 51 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's just place for sleep but with perfect location. Rooms are clean and old-style decorated. Problem for me that there isn't common space and kitchen. Only microwave in corridor. Also please take attention that in the basement of the building there is studio for rehearsals of rock groups. And it could be very noisy! It could be a problem if you want go to bed early (before 11-00 PM).
  • 60%
  • 15 Jul 2013 Anonymous Ukraine
  • This is a cute little hostel, pretty close to things, and really close to a street car route. If your looking for a luxury hotel, this is not it, but if you want to hang out in a cool place, with cool people, you really can't do much better. It was clean, and the staff were very nice, and helpful, and were flexible. One word of warning: there is no elevator, and you have to haul your suitcases up the stairs. Not a big deal, we had no problem, despite traveling with a senior citizen and a child.
  • 89%
  • 23 Jun 2013 Fianna USA
  • The immediate area was a little sketchy, but the hotel was so nice and cute! The staff was nice and friendly and the showers were really nice, although, there was some work being done on the roof, but otherwise, great deal for the price! Good location in San Francisco.
  • 94%
  • 03 Jun 2013 Daniel USA
  • Nice little Hostel, good location and good value for money. Staff weren't overly friendly but they 'rude either. Our room had a bit of a weird smell to it, but it wasn't too overpowering. There is a music studio beneath the hostel and on our first night a drummer was drumming away till 2 am. we had to go down the the studio find him ourselves and ask him to stop. it was very loud in our rooms and in the corridors of the hostel.
  • 71%
  • 28 May 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • The room that I stayed is small and with lot of stuff on the floor. But is okay for one night or all weekend. Free internet available, individual bedrooms. Good!
  • 69%
  • 18 May 2013 Carlos Henrique Silva De Brazil
  • This place is awesome. Very clean and convenient. The decorations are beautiful. Like it a lot.
  • 97%
  • 14 May 2013 Anonymous China
  • Great value hostel in the tender-nob district of San Francisco. Walking distance to a variety of bars and food. Metered parking in front free after 6pm, also option of a parking garage just steps away for $20/day or $2/hr. Can use a common room at this hostel though, we were kept awake by socializing guests in the stairway. Clean facilities, very basic and great for the no-frills needed traveler.
  • 83%
  • 13 May 2013 Anonymous USA
  • After hours procedure to access the building did not work. The man in the speaker box was not helpful in problem solving. It was necessary to call the police to help me gain access to the building. The SF police were must helpful; at 1am they carried my luggage up 2+flughts if stairs to ensure successful entry to my room. The facility staff were fairly non-plus about the incident. The location of the faciluty is questionable, would not want to enter late at nite again. It is noisy. No fan
  • 60%
  • 01 May 2013 Kimber USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »