See other San Francisco properties

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel

1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 75% from 60 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Had a great time. Very clean, kind of like staying with a friend.
  • 100%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • It is the first time I have been in San Francisco..It was very convenient for me to reach downtown from this hostel..Overall, the hostel was good,clean,and secure..the only problem with hostel is there is a music bar under this hostel, they make some noise until 12 am.if you use this hostel just for sleep ,that is fine..It is also good for budget..
  • 71%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Anonymous Turkey
  • The hostel was GREAT - but one morning, reception wasn't open till 9.30pm and you definitely should have 24/7 night reception as well => VERY important if the key card doesn't work, which happened in my case. I'll come back, but please please please have somebody at the front desk at all times. Otherwise difficult situations are bound to arise eventually.
  • 97%
  • 24 Oct 2013 Bodo Germany
  • I thought it was a good hostel for what you pay for, cleaning everyday which is uncommon for a hostel. My main problem was the area. I travelled as a solo female and I'm absolutely not an easily scared girl, believe me. But as you walk home an evening you will meet MANY homeless, drug addicts and prostitutes. The gut feeling was not a good one. But it is close to downtown, so I would recommend you to count in that you'll use some money for cab fare, I paid around 8 dollars from union square.
  • 63%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Sofia
  • This hostel has good beds. But no breakfast and card key sometimes does not work well. There are free coffee but it becomes ready after 9:30am. Staff are nice. and helpful. There is microwave, drinking bottled water but no elevator. In room(female dorm for 4 people), there is small refrigerator, closet, wash-basin, desk and two chairs,
  • 66%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • A beautiful furnished Victorian house - I loved the kitchen, fridge and bathroom for the room. More of a hotel - just with a lot more beds :) more comfortable than some hotels I have stayed at. thanks again - great place to stay.
  • 83%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Noraziah Australian
  • there are better locations for hostel but the location is fine... nice hostel
  • 71%
  • 05 Sep 2013 Anonymous Israel
  • We stayed for four nights. The staff during our stay was most of the time a young asian girl. She was not service minded at all. She seemed to be bored all the time and you could tell she did not appreciate answering questions. The room was small and kind of dirty. There was a chair in our room with a thick layer of dust at the seat. It was really obvious it was in need of cleaning, but that just didn't happen. This is a backpacker motel, nothing like a hotel, with that in mind it was ok.
  • 57%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • Great place to stay!
  • 83%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »