See other Amsterdam properties

Euphemia Hotel

Fokke Simonzstraat 1-9, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.4km

Rating: 78% from 20 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice hostel. Rooms were clean. Reading light and electrical plug for each bed. Lockers inside the rooms. Staff was nice. Cheap during weekdays, not so much on weekends. There is no common kitchen if you plan on cooking. Overall was a nice stay.
  • 80%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • For it was OK. The people from the hostel were really kindly and attent. Just one thing to change, the pillow...
  • 66%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Tomas
  • The staff were very nice and helpful. They let us leave our bags for the day while we traveled out and were sincerely friendly. It was a pleasant stay.
  • 89%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Dahlia USA
  • 5 people in a 4-bed, 4 person room was a stretch, but the staff were very helpful upon arrival. Can't beat the location.
  • 74%
  • 09 Aug 2013 Kathleen USA
  • Staff is extremely helpful and the rooms have lockers. 10 euro deposit to use their locks, so bring your own if you remember. When I arrived, the front desk told me that I had been moved into a room with a private bathroom/shower! I was very pleased about that and the rooms were very clean, although a little small. The room size didn't matter much to me, all I look for in a hostel or budget hotel is a safe place to leave my things and clean sheets to sleep in. This place had both.
  • 89%
  • 02 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The rooms are very small and the breakfast is not included
  • 69%
  • 26 Jun 2013 Silvia Mexico
  • This was overall a good place for 2 nights. It's within a nice walk from the city center and there's a tram stop just next to it. What you see is what you'll get which is always clear and good. The place was clean, the staff friendly, things in general worked as they were supposed to. What might confuse or bug some visitors include the lack of nightly reception. The room temperature is also hard to nail down to a nice level: it's either hot or cold but not perfect. But these were minor troubles.
  • 83%
  • 24 May 2013 Tuomas Finland
  • My friend and I spent the past weekend staying at Euphemia, and despite the negative reviews we had a lovely time! Staff were helpful and happy, the hotel was secure and there was minimum noise. Although we did book Euphemia expecting it to be a hostel rather than a hotel, and we had realised beforehand that the website said we'd need to pay tax on arriving. Great location- you have to walk about 15minutes to get to Dam Square but it's fun discovering the city!
  • 89%
  • 18 May 2013 Rebecca England
  • It's a good hostel. But watch out that the reception doesn't work 24 hours. It closes at 11 PM e only opens at 8 AM.
  • 69%
  • 19 Apr 2013 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »