See other Sydney properties

Eva's Backpackers

6-8 Orwell Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 85% from 14 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice atmosphere. Internet was slow at times, but worked fairly well. Kings cross is of course not everyone's favourite area at nighttime, but the Hostel is far enough away from most of the action, while still having the train station around the corner. Will come back on my next trip to Sydney
  • 89%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Martin Austria
  • Everyone very helpful right from the start. Good atmosphere and very helpful. Was just gutted Liz has a boyfriend already!!! ;-)
  • 100%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Simon England
  • I got a bed and shared facilities in a central location that wasn't run down. I might got a bed bug bite, too. Check-in becomes apparently impossible if you don't carry your passport even if you carry you Australian issued state ID (which requires a valid passport) and your driver's licence and have a family member with a passport with you. Official reason: Security. Nonesense, the security system is not a barrier for people with criminal intentions.
  • 63%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Nur Germany
  • I stayed here 3 times over the course of February. The largish kitchen is nice but the TV area is a bit dark and grungy. The cleanliness of the rooms depends on the other travellers. There are a lot of long term tenants who seem to take over their rooms and the washrooms need a good scrubbing down to get riid of the musty smell. The walk to all the touristy sites is not bad but is closer to 30 minutes. All that being said, I stayed here repeatedly, so I must not have minded too much.
  • 63%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I will definitely recommend your bakcpackers because it was nice to be 2 nights in your hostel. The staff made a really good job ! Thanks
  • 86%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Marlène Switzerland
  • The room was very clean and tidy, also the kitchen is very useful and you can have milk tea, coffee and chocolate for free. On the roof there isa a very nice place where you can have a bbq, sunbath, and there is the laundry room which is very tidy. The staff is very helpful and polite, and you can find many young people to share your experience.
  • 86%
  • 10 Nov 2013 Anonymous Italy
  • Maybe there is only one thing to improve, wifi hot spot.
  • 89%
  • 29 Oct 2013 Anonymous Colombia
  • Sehr schoenes Hostel! Tolle Dachterrasse! Waschmoeglichkeiten, saubere Baeder, gute Lage, nette Mitarbeiter! Nicht so laut und "partymaessig" wie manch andere Hostels! Wir haben den Aufenthalt genossen! Beautiful hostel! Amazing rooftop terrace, clean bathrooms,laundry available, short ways to downtown, nice staff. Not so noisy and partylike like other hostels!!! We enjoyed our stay there very much!
  • 89%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Martin Germany
  • The place was a great place to just relax. Nice and quiet. Only downside was that the other guests were all used to each other, from having been there awhile I suppose, they were not friendly to new people at all.
  • 91%
  • 04 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »