See other Melbourne properties

Exford Hotel

199 Russell Street, Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 77% from 26 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Conveniently located in Chinatown Melbourne and security is excellent for a hostel, though not many great things can be said about the rooms or washrooms themselves.
  • 74%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Shu Chong Canada
  • Amazing staff, great location..everyone super friendly. Gets loud at night especially on weekends because there is a lively bar downstairs, but great for us. Facilities were clean but a bit old, shower goes from hot to cold but overall, GREAT value for money (highly recommended).
  • 91%
  • 28 Jan 2015 Jack Canada
  • Receptionists were so kind and location was very nice!
  • 80%
  • 21 Jan 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • This is in the busy Chinatown section of the city so getting around its easy and there are plenty of food and drink options. With that, its incredibly loud at night. Not in the hostel, but the street noise its terrible. I think the amenities are alright? We didn't get much of am explanation on anything at check in and the hostel seems secondary to the bar and bottle room. Kitchen has plenty of work spaces and burned, but it was a little gross with old sponges you doubt clean anything.
  • 74%
  • 17 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great location, a bit noisy but not too bad! Great big and clean kitchen, nice tv room. Good breakfast for a hostel!
  • 89%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Dina Netherlands
  • great place to stay even for bit longer, only problem I had was the road work near our window, bit loud at the evening, but otherwise can't really say bad thing about the place, great place to stay, clean and comfy place.
  • 86%
  • 24 Oct 2014 antti Finland
  • I like this hostel, one of the best I stayed. If I will go to Melbourne again I will definitely stay there again! Perfect location, great atmosphere and it's clean!
  • 97%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Kamila Poland
  • Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was great, easy to get to all the attractions. Rooms were clean and comfortable
  • 100%
  • 15 Oct 2014 Kerry England
  • If I come back to Melbourne, I would definitely stay at Exford Hotel again
  • 100%
  • 13 Oct 2014 Niko New Zealand
  • Worst hostel I used ever. Dirty rooms, lack of basic facilities, horrible shaky beds and other furniture, awful toilet with the awful shower. Kitchen with the smell of dead meat.
  • 43%
  • 24 Sep 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »