See other London properties

FRESH @ The Crown, Clapham

102 Lavender Hill,, Battersea, London, England, Distance from city centre: 4.7km

Rating: 78% from 21 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The room was cold and comfortless (the only piece of furniture in the room was alone stool), room was expressed mold smell and was not cleaned (complete with trash previous guest). There was no guest kitchen. However, there is a very tasty pizza in the bar.
  • 54%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Maija Latvia
  • Nice hostel, small beds.
  • 91%
  • 23 Jan 2014 Anonymous England
  • Overall a very good experience. The lack of kitchen was sad, but understandable given the location above a pub. The bed linens were very clean and fresh, though the mattresses were a little springy. The showers were a little dodgy in terms of pressure, but there was hot water and lots of it, which was all that really mattered to me! Free wifi was excellent. I enjoyed popping downstairs for a beer, and for ten pounds a night I would definitely stay here again.
  • 89%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Erin
  • The only complaint I have is the location. It was a tad out of the way, but it was easily accessible once you figured out how to get there. And there's a bus that runs all night that drops you right in front of the place, so that was convenient. And the surrounding neighborhood seemed really nice. Other than that, it was a nice hostel. The triple-decker beds were interesting. Kinda fun. Showers were good, breakfast was good, staff was nice. I'd stay here again.
  • 94%
  • 18 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • It´s a pretty basic hostel, just a safe place to rest your head at night. The sheets are clean and there is a nearby bus and train station that is a fifteen minute walk, plus a bus stop right outside that will take you anywhere around London. They offer a small deal on drinks at the bar if you stay, but they stop serving at 11pm. The bar doubles as a common room and there is little private space. Quiet atmosphere.
  • 71%
  • 11 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Nice loby, less nice room, bunk beds of 3, that means 9 person in each and poor room. Bathroom shared with men and women, hot water enought. Very nice terrace for relaxing. Breakfast very easy - cornflakes with milk, toast with peanut butter and jelly.
  • 74%
  • 05 Jul 2013 Kristyna Czech Republic
  • I won't stay there again..Never..I can not find out any good point about this hotel. Breakfast, location, cleanliness...everything was bad.
  • 34%
  • 28 Jun 2013 Suhyun South Korea
  • We had a great time staying at the Crown! The staff were extremely kind and they were very helpful. It was also very clean. At first I wasn't sure how I felt about having a bar right below us but it really wasn't a problem. We actually enjoyed hanging out down there! The security was also great. We didn't have to worry about losing our key because of the coded locks on the doors. The only minus is the location but bus stops are right in front of it. Overall we had a great experience!
  • 91%
  • 26 May 2013 Johanna USA
  • The hostel was well maintained and had a nice bar on the first floor. It's not that close to the center of the city but the bus that goes there stops right in front of the building.
  • 94%
  • 12 May 2013 Stefan Bulgaria
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »