See other London properties

FRESH @ The Green Man, Paddington

308 Edgware Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 4.3km

Rating: 74% from 19 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Visiting London was good, but The Green Man had a thief in my room. He stole a young lady's money by pretending to be sick and staying in the room all day while everyone left. He also stole my new Iphone. The puzzling part was the staff did absolutely nothing in both cases. In fact one of the staff members showed me exactly how the thief got into my locked, locker. This poses the question, if you know your lockers are vulnerable why would you have you guest use them? I believe we were all setup
  • 51%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Elijah USA
  • Great place to stay. The rooms are a little small, but the nice staff and the fact that everything is clean makes up for it.
  • 100%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Anonymous Netherlands
  • Even though they said it's free Cloud WIFI, you need to pay for it. There's no free WIFI.
  • 66%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Anonymous Thailand
  • Tony was a real gem. He wasn't able to extend my booking, but not only was he kind and sympathetic, he called around their loations till he found one of their places with a bed for the rest of my stay. He really went above and beyond the call. The room I was in at Paddington was quiet--the quality of the people I was staying with, more than anything else, but also had something to do with the fact that you have a 24 hour pub on the ground floor. Great location, great staff, great price!
  • 74%
  • 23 Sep 2013 Erin USA
  • This was the best hostel I've stayed in! The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and the pub downstairs was fantastic!
  • 97%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Location was pretty good. Bathrooms a little dirty. And seriously, no chill room. Good, cheap restaurants and supermarkets only steps away though. Would come back.
  • 69%
  • 11 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • They have a policy of over 18s only. My girlfriend is 30 and left her ID at home, no common sense used and happy to take our first night stay charge. Brazen Backpackers on the same street (Bell Street) just 5 mins walk away are much more flexiable for the same price. They were great. Green Man's over 18 policy is too black and white with no room for common sense/flexibility; but as said, say will happily charge you for the first night stay and send you an email claiming you didn't arrive.
  • 49%
  • 31 Jul 2013 Julie England
  • This hostel is located above a bar. The bar tenders are also the hostel staff, which makes it hard whenever you need anything from them because they are always busy tending to bar customers. The rooms are small, and they have triple bunk beds. I couldn't even sit up in my bed since I was on the bottom. The bathrooms are old, but they function alright. Overall, it is fine if you just need a bed for one night, but it is not a comfortable place if you are planning a longer stay.
  • 54%
  • 16 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel, nice and clean. Vert friendly staff. The food served in the downstairs bar could be better though.
  • 97%
  • 04 Jul 2013 Rakel Norway
  • Never had to wait for a toilet/shower/sink which is fantastic. It was the first hostel where I had to pay for a hair dryer tho. That's weird. So convenient to have the food/bar right downstairs as ur living room. Overall, a good experience.
  • 77%
  • 11 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »