See other London properties

FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

41-42 Cosser St, London, England, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 80% from 33 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Absolutely recommend! It is close to the sights, in a great area where I felt completely safe by myself, the staff are wonderful. Breakfast is decent enough with cereals and toast. The only downside is not enough showers, but for the price definitely worth it!
  • 94%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Beds are a little uncomfortable. I could feel the springs in the mattress. One of the showers was out of order for 2 days. Besides that, really nice.
  • 89%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
  • A great place to stay, staff was friendly, had a decent bar and free breakfast (cereal, toast and coffee). I left my bag in the room when I went out and took comfort that the room was locked, there were also lockers I which you could store small items, need your own lock. I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good place to stay.
  • 94%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location is great and the place is superb. Love to have a bar downstairs in my hostel, never experienced this before :) Especially huge thanks to Daniel who served us crazy Finns so greatly!
  • 100%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • There are only two bathrooms and showers in this hostel, which is not enough! the door security code also changed suddenly and getting the new code was a little bit cumbersome. there was free breakfast, which was great, but only consists of toast (pb and jam), coffee, and cereal.
  • 54%
  • 12 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Good location and clean room. 12 beds in a room was not that beautiful but the price is lovely. Perfect for young travelers who want to save money :)
  • 83%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Nansol South Korea
  • The friendly staff and lower prices compensates the lowlights. Nevertheless, I felt a little insecure, because the existing lockers were only enough for small objects, while the luggage stayed opened in the shared bedroom during all day. Thank godness nothing haappened to our belongs! And the location is not exactly good. In the middle of a residential area, you have to walk abou 10min to London Eye and 20min to Westminster Church. (in the map it looked nearest).
  • 74%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Vanessa Brazil
  • The hostel has great location, it´s right in the heart of Westiminister, just few steps from London Eye and few more from Big Ben and Parliament :). Rooms are small, but totally worth the price.
  • 86%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Zuzana Slovakia
  • The only good thing about this hostel was the location. Five minute walk to Big Ben and all the best attractions! I was able to walk everywhere. Other than that, it wasn't great. It was above a 24 hour bar so it was always loud. The cleaning staff would come in really early in the morning and take hours to do what should be a very quick job, and I even woke up one morning to one of the cleaning guys napping on the bed next to me. They should wait until 2pm to clean.
  • 69%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Cassandra Canada
  • we stayed in a 12 people room, the bed was super small but very comfortable. the hairdryer cost money to use. the bathroom and toilets are very few, only 2 of each. But there's a bar downstairs and it's a ok place to meet people. it's very nice that the have luggage room so whenever you arrive you can left your baggage there.
  • 66%
  • 06 Feb 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »