See other London properties

FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

41-42 Cosser St, London, England, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 76% from 36 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel has great location, it´s right in the heart of Westiminister, just few steps from London Eye and few more from Big Ben and Parliament :). Rooms are small, but totally worth the price.
  • 86%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Zuzana Slovakia
  • The only good thing about this hostel was the location. Five minute walk to Big Ben and all the best attractions! I was able to walk everywhere. Other than that, it wasn't great. It was above a 24 hour bar so it was always loud. The cleaning staff would come in really early in the morning and take hours to do what should be a very quick job, and I even woke up one morning to one of the cleaning guys napping on the bed next to me. They should wait until 2pm to clean.
  • 69%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Cassandra Canada
  • we stayed in a 12 people room, the bed was super small but very comfortable. the hairdryer cost money to use. the bathroom and toilets are very few, only 2 of each. But there's a bar downstairs and it's a ok place to meet people. it's very nice that the have luggage room so whenever you arrive you can left your baggage there.
  • 66%
  • 06 Feb 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Awesome location right in hype heart of London, super close to many great sights, also very close to Waterloo. The staff was friendly and helpful, and though there is no kitchen the pub downstairs is nice though it doesn't have a big menu. Small room for twelve beds but very clean with a shower in the room. Not enough toilets for how many beds, but the bathroom was kept very clean. Felt very safe, but lockers were small and there weren't enough for every bed to get one. Overall great value!
  • 89%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It lacks a kitchen
  • 74%
  • 10 Jan 2014 Iago Spain
  • Horrible place came up to room and yelled at us saying we didn't pay at midnight on our second night. We started looking for our receipts and we were told if we weren't down in 5 minutes we had to leave the hostel. Don't stay here.
  • 43%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Pat Canada
  • The Hostel is very organized but it doesn`t have a kitchen neither a coin laundry, and you are not allowed to bring any food or drink from outside, however almost everybody in my room brought food and drink inside. I would not stay there again. But it`s okay for the price I got.
  • 71%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Kaire Brazil
  • Staff acted bothered when asked questions
  • 63%
  • 21 Nov 2013 Christine USA
  • The Steam Engine was a nice hostel for my short visit to London. The beds were comfortable despite the three layered bunks. It was a good atmosphere during the day and night! There's a 24 hour bar and their pizza is definitely worth the price! Staff member named Dan was kind enough to suggest multiple places around the city. Visited one of the fish and chips places he suggested and it was worth it! Incredibly close walk to the London Eye, Big Ben, and just the center of London! Thank you!
  • 100%
  • 10 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Very good internet connection, which is rare in London)
  • 94%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Anonymous Russia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »