See other London properties

FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

41-42 Cosser St, London, England, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 79% from 32 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The Hostel is very organized but it doesn`t have a kitchen neither a coin laundry, and you are not allowed to bring any food or drink from outside, however almost everybody in my room brought food and drink inside. I would not stay there again. But it`s okay for the price I got.
  • 71%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Kaire Brazil
  • Staff acted bothered when asked questions
  • 63%
  • 21 Nov 2013 Christine USA
  • The Steam Engine was a nice hostel for my short visit to London. The beds were comfortable despite the three layered bunks. It was a good atmosphere during the day and night! There's a 24 hour bar and their pizza is definitely worth the price! Staff member named Dan was kind enough to suggest multiple places around the city. Visited one of the fish and chips places he suggested and it was worth it! Incredibly close walk to the London Eye, Big Ben, and just the center of London! Thank you!
  • 100%
  • 10 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Very good internet connection, which is rare in London)
  • 94%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Anonymous Russia
  • Only stayed for one night and it was just what I was looking for! Small place but everything was clean and the location was really great! There were only 2 showers, so I could see that being a negative but I got my shower in the morning really easily. Also, I wish their were plugs at every bunk but there were quite a few on the floor level so it worked out OK (just would have preferred it right at my bunk). Would stay there again for short stays in central London.
  • 77%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • everything was great but there is no kitchen and no fridge and the bathrooms faucet do not mix hot and cold water like in The London Eye Hostel. so you can't even wash your hands !
  • 97%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Vinicio
  • Great accommodation at a great location, accessible to the tube. Very friendly staff and friendly atmosphere. But only 2 restrooms and showers for so many people and one of the restrooms is more crammed than the other one. It would be great if a third restroom and shower can be added to this facility; it would be one of the best options to stay at. Also, I would have preferred an option to choose which level on the bunk-bed that I wanted to stay in.
  • 91%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Anantharaman India
  • Best Value for money you can get. Location is great. Staff is super nice. Would book there again with no hesitation - though the rooms are small. Very clean.
  • 94%
  • 06 Sep 2013 Oliver Austria
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »