See other Kuala Lumpur properties

Fernloft KL @ Chinatown

No 60A Jalan Hang Kasturi, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 76% from 21 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • the location is great, it's all in a walking distance to the china town, central market and the old rail station. the subway station is just 2-min walk away from the hostel. but the sheets are a bit old and dirty. Luckily, I have brought my sleeping bag.
  • 77%
  • 08 May 2014 Lai Ching Margaret Hong Kong
  • Unfortunately this hostel has dropped in quality since the same time last year. There has been an ongoing security issue with the font door not closing and locking. The included breakfast has dropped to just a single option. The internet connection at this hostel is surprisingly good for Malaysia. Overall it is still a good hostel in a great location, but was much better 12 months ago... Note that some reviews on this site may have left by the hostel staff...
  • 74%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Staff is helpful. Location is very convenient, but at 5 a.m. I had to go to the reception and inform the lady that I am being bitten by bugs and needs to relocate. she looked surprised and pretended to be unaware of this problem. I killed a couple and left them on the pillow as proof. The dining area on the roof top needs to be a bit more hygenic, clean and organized.
  • 54%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Rooms/hallways smell like urine. Staff was relatively unknowledgeable regarding the city that they live it, and were able to offer little assistance when it came to our questions. Rooftop terrace was nice. Building secure. Wouldn't stay again...
  • 57%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • They had double booked (there was a big group who had all the rooms), so there was no space for us. Ended up staying in another hostel nearby. Wifi did not worked, so internet could only be used on the two computers in the lobby.
  • 60%
  • 28 Jan 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Nice hostel, clean and comfortable, close to Chinatown and bus stations. Decent breakfast, large lockers, and close to restaurants. The bunk bed was really flimsy and I felt i was going to knock it over every time i crawled into the top bunk and the 24 person dorm felt a little cramped. But overall not a bad hostel.
  • 83%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • we enjoyed our stay here. We were in a double room. HIGHS: - great AC in the double room - hot shower - friendly staff - awesome rooftop views - feels like good security with having to buzz in - central location to Chinatown, Petaling St, LRT and bus stations LOWS - can feel the spring coils through the mattress - WiFi was working on and off
  • 83%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great Location close to the metro, and busses. possibility to walk to Petronas Towers. ery nice young Indian lady at the front dest, very help full with the nice smile :).
  • 86%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Paulina Poland
  • The fern loft has a great location and is very centralized to most of KL's main attractions. All round a great hostel.
  • 89%
  • 03 Nov 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • simple and affordable, worth the money
  • 74%
  • 28 Oct 2013 Anonymous Indonesia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »