See other Austin properties

Firehouse Hostel

605 Brazos Street, Austin, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 81% from 21 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 99%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really enjoyed my stay here. Unbeatable location, close to everything. Wonderful staff. Loved the vintage feel of the building. Clean facilities. Deluxe dorms have bigger/nicer beds and bigger lockers, worth the upgrade. Breakfast was stellar with fresh fruit and pastries, cereal and bagels. Bar was busy and had a great vibe with live band. Tip: bathrooms on 3rd floor are way nicer, better for showering/getting ready.
  • 100%
  • 26 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We loved staying at the Firehouse. The atmosphere is not the most social, but the downstairs bar is super cool and you can meet both travelers and locals there. Awesome daily happy hour from 5-8 and cool pub crawls led by hostel staff.
  • 89%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Kate USA
  • Good fun people, great location. Ran out of towels, but had them ready when I went and asked.
  • 91%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Brett USA
  • This hostel is very close to 6th street, downtown.great location to hang out!if you want to have a fun, really nice place and hostel. But if you are looking for a clean and quiet place, you should check other options!
  • 71%
  • 24 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I met the most interesting and fun people from the film fest. We exchanged email address I could not have had a better bunch of nice people.
  • 69%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Carole USA
  • I had a lovely time, met several people and plan to keep in touch with them. I stayed at this hostel alone (I'm female) and had no issues with security. I enjoyed the the bar and the kitchen/lounge. Very cool :)
  • 80%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Andrea USA
  • Can't get a better location
  • 83%
  • 24 Aug 2013 Anonymous England
  • Verry Well located.. 2 mins walk to the 6th street. Partying hostel.. people are mostly young (18-25 years) Place was really NOT clean... the shower curtain was full of mushroom... bed was really NOT confortable... looked really cheap and not secure (up bed) Big Party place.. if you are looking for nightlife in Austin, i think its the place to be. Otherwise...
  • 69%
  • 25 Jul 2013 Julien Canada
  • This hostel is great! Very clean and modern-looking. Also has a nice lounge next door. Right around the corner from 6th street but still gets quiet near bedtime. Wifi was a little weak but I didn't care much; I wasn't there for the wifi. Also has cheap, travel-sized toiletries available for purchase, in case you're lazy like me and just want to buy it there.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jul 2013 Maxwell USA
  • The staff was awesome accommodating me when I showed up a night early because I messed up my booking, but this is definitely not the place you want to stay if you want to go to bed early. There's a bar attached to the hostel with live music on the weekends, so definitely bring earplugs if you want to go to bed before 3:00 AM. The location was great, though, and you're within walking distance of everything.
  • 69%
  • 15 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »