See other Austin properties

Firehouse Hostel

605 Brazos Street, Austin, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 80% from 19 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice Hostel, excellent location.
  • 80%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Laura Germany
  • Ideal location for pretty much everything in Austin. Great breakfast. Offer lots of activity options and the bar downstairs is cool. Beds and bathrooms were average. Not amazingly spacious or ultrahygenic; but everything was upkept and clean. Can be a little noisy at night but hey its a hostel and people are on vacation. Everywhere is going to be a little noisy. I'd 100% reccomend this hostel.
  • 77%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Amanda USA
  • Not the best hostel for me. Bathrooms were sort of messy and staff could have been more...nice. I still believe that for those who just want to party, this is just perfect hostel.
  • 51%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Veera Finland
  • Great place in the middle of Austin. Good staff, facilities and a fine breakfast.
  • 91%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Lone
  • Broken bathrooms, old mattresses really should be fixed. Decent breakfast was a bonus, and complimentary ear buds a nice (but necessary) touch.
  • 57%
  • 18 May 2014 Jonathan Australia
  • Really enjoyed my stay here. Unbeatable location, close to everything. Wonderful staff. Loved the vintage feel of the building. Clean facilities. Deluxe dorms have bigger/nicer beds and bigger lockers, worth the upgrade. Breakfast was stellar with fresh fruit and pastries, cereal and bagels. Bar was busy and had a great vibe with live band. Tip: bathrooms on 3rd floor are way nicer, better for showering/getting ready.
  • 100%
  • 26 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We loved staying at the Firehouse. The atmosphere is not the most social, but the downstairs bar is super cool and you can meet both travelers and locals there. Awesome daily happy hour from 5-8 and cool pub crawls led by hostel staff.
  • 89%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Kate USA
  • Good fun people, great location. Ran out of towels, but had them ready when I went and asked.
  • 91%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Brett USA
  • This hostel is very close to 6th street, downtown.great location to hang out!if you want to have a fun, really nice place and hostel. But if you are looking for a clean and quiet place, you should check other options!
  • 71%
  • 24 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I met the most interesting and fun people from the film fest. We exchanged email address I could not have had a better bunch of nice people.
  • 69%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Carole USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »