See other Austin properties

Firehouse Hostel

605 Brazos Street, Austin, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 79% from 22 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • + location, - very expensive for a hostel, no outdoor common area
  • 71%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Anonymous Greece
  • Absolutely recommended. Cheap and good localization.
  • 86%
  • 20 Sep 2014 maria teresa Spain
  • Great location on 6th Street Downtown. Location is the main thing going for it, as well as a good breakfast and most of the staffers are good. The problem is late night noise from 11 pm till around 2 am. There is a live music club on the main level, which you hear til 2. Worse is the noise from loud banter in the lobby of the hostel which carries up to the sleeping floors something fierce. If they would do some soundproofing, that would help a lot. Also, the bathrooms are just marginal.
  • 74%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Ron USA
  • Nice Hostel, excellent location.
  • 80%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Laura Germany
  • Ideal location for pretty much everything in Austin. Great breakfast. Offer lots of activity options and the bar downstairs is cool. Beds and bathrooms were average. Not amazingly spacious or ultrahygenic; but everything was upkept and clean. Can be a little noisy at night but hey its a hostel and people are on vacation. Everywhere is going to be a little noisy. I'd 100% reccomend this hostel.
  • 77%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Amanda USA
  • Not the best hostel for me. Bathrooms were sort of messy and staff could have been more...nice. I still believe that for those who just want to party, this is just perfect hostel.
  • 51%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Veera Finland
  • Great place in the middle of Austin. Good staff, facilities and a fine breakfast.
  • 91%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Lone
  • Broken bathrooms, old mattresses really should be fixed. Decent breakfast was a bonus, and complimentary ear buds a nice (but necessary) touch.
  • 57%
  • 18 May 2014 Jonathan Australia
  • Really enjoyed my stay here. Unbeatable location, close to everything. Wonderful staff. Loved the vintage feel of the building. Clean facilities. Deluxe dorms have bigger/nicer beds and bigger lockers, worth the upgrade. Breakfast was stellar with fresh fruit and pastries, cereal and bagels. Bar was busy and had a great vibe with live band. Tip: bathrooms on 3rd floor are way nicer, better for showering/getting ready.
  • 100%
  • 26 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We loved staying at the Firehouse. The atmosphere is not the most social, but the downstairs bar is super cool and you can meet both travelers and locals there. Awesome daily happy hour from 5-8 and cool pub crawls led by hostel staff.
  • 89%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Kate USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »