See other Amsterdam properties

Flying Pig Beach Hostel

Parallel Boulevard 208, 2202H2, Noordwijk, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 34.3km

Rating: 84% from 15 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very friendly ambiance, but be aware if you wanna rest ;-)
  • 80%
  • 13 Sep 2015 Anonymous France
  • What an awesome place. Perfect place to see the beach, drink, and of course smoke. Make sure you buy your weed before coming here, though, as there are few/no coffeshops in the area. Locals actually come here to drink/smoke, so it is a great chance to meet some of them as well. There are a couple okay bars/clubs in the area, but the hostel bar/smokeroom is really the place to be.
  • 94%
  • 05 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Had an absolutely wonderful stay here, couldn't have had a better stay! Staff really went out of theor way to help us and after turning up and only fonding one bed in the room (for two of us) Chris quickly sorted this out within minutes. Lovely hostel and amazing people. Very sad to have left!!
  • 89%
  • 02 Aug 2015 Rebecca England
  • Amaaaazing hostel, best one i have ever been too. Booked here by mistake, but glad i did. Will definitely be coming back, and reccomend everyone to book here if you visit The Netherlands.
  • 91%
  • 31 Jul 2015 Anonymous Norway
  • I originally intended to stay at the downtown location but I am happy I accidentally booked here! The distance from Amsterdam can be a drag but the shuttles are great for day trips (just book well in advance at reception.) The staff couldn't be any better. The bar and smokeroom get pretty rowdy but I had no problem heading to bed early since the sound doesn't seem to carry over. My only complaint is that there was some booking error when I got there and I ended up waiting and hour for my room.
  • 89%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Nice people, a relaxed place, a great place to that price. we hadnt really planned anything to do before we came, but rented bikes and went to the hague and haarlem. got very sore butts but lucky with the weather, had a great time.
  • 71%
  • 12 May 2015 Eir Helle Norway
  • Pros: Really good atmosphere, bar and smoke room plus a pool table, nice area to just hang out; staff is pretty chill; beds are comfortable; breakfast (cereal, toast, spreads, coffee and tea) provided, WiFi works well. Cons: Honestly not a problem for us, but it's about 1 hr from Amsterdam. Hostel has a shuttle and we didn't have problem making reservations, plus this was a cheaper option than public transportation. We liked being close to the beach, even though the weather was bad.
  • 97%
  • 29 Mar 2015 Chaarles USA
  • Great hostel! I loved it :) Just one thing: the driver of the shuttlebus was very unresponsable. He smoked during the drive :/
  • 91%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Lea Germany
  • This particular location of the Flying Pig chain is located an hour drive away from the actual city. Its 4 euro one way to the city and you need to reserve in advance. If you don't its 18 euro one way to Amsterdam. The hostel itself is fine, smoking room, kitchen, fridges, clean showers, cool staff. Atmosphere is really chill and breakfast is provided. Fine hostel other than the location.
  • 63%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was by far my favorite hostel since I've been traveling. The beach is beautiful and close by. Amsterdam is very accessible whether you take the shuttle or use public transportation. The hostel is so welcoming you never want to leave. We made awesome friends here and experienced an atmosphere I've never experienced in a hostel setting. The smoke room is great and not clouded with smoke at all. They keep the facilities clean and the staff is very chill. I will probably be back soon!
  • 100%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »