See other Amsterdam properties

Flying Pig Beach Hostel

Parallel Boulevard 208, 2202H2, Noordwijk, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 34.3km

Rating: 83% from 18 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 75%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Pros: Really good atmosphere, bar and smoke room plus a pool table, nice area to just hang out; staff is pretty chill; beds are comfortable; breakfast (cereal, toast, spreads, coffee and tea) provided, WiFi works well. Cons: Honestly not a problem for us, but it's about 1 hr from Amsterdam. Hostel has a shuttle and we didn't have problem making reservations, plus this was a cheaper option than public transportation. We liked being close to the beach, even though the weather was bad.
  • 97%
  • 29 Mar 2015 Chaarles USA
  • Great hostel! I loved it :) Just one thing: the driver of the shuttlebus was very unresponsable. He smoked during the drive :/
  • 91%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Lea Germany
  • This particular location of the Flying Pig chain is located an hour drive away from the actual city. Its 4 euro one way to the city and you need to reserve in advance. If you don't its 18 euro one way to Amsterdam. The hostel itself is fine, smoking room, kitchen, fridges, clean showers, cool staff. Atmosphere is really chill and breakfast is provided. Fine hostel other than the location.
  • 63%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was by far my favorite hostel since I've been traveling. The beach is beautiful and close by. Amsterdam is very accessible whether you take the shuttle or use public transportation. The hostel is so welcoming you never want to leave. We made awesome friends here and experienced an atmosphere I've never experienced in a hostel setting. The smoke room is great and not clouded with smoke at all. They keep the facilities clean and the staff is very chill. I will probably be back soon!
  • 100%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Had a great time at this hostel! Came here with 4 others for a last minute Amsterdam excursion. We had a car luckily so didn't have to deal with the shuttle, but everything else was great. Awesome staff, great atmosphere and the bar stays open extra late if you make nice with the bartender. I definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in Holland. We felt very safe and well taken care of.
  • 80%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Kelly USA
  • Great people, great hostel. This hostel provides such a friendly and relaxed environment, that makes it really hard to leave. Staff is great, the rooms are clean and the beach is just a couple blocks away.
  • 100%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • A fantastic hostel in a really lovely location, with a convenient and cheap shuttle bus (only 4 euros) into central Amsterdam. Facilities included a fully equipped kitchen for guest use, a pool table, a projector + screen for movies, etc, a spacious smoking lounge with comfortable seating, loads of books and an outside decking area. Rooms and communal bathrooms were kept clean and hygienic, and ensuite rooms are available. Basically it's fantastic and we were very sad when it came time to leave!
  • 97%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • Had a lovely stay it was like spending a weekend on vacation, while on vacation.
  • 80%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Eric
  • nice ataying
  • 77%
  • 30 Jul 2014 Analia Argentina
  • This is the best atmosphere of any hostel I've stayed in Holland.
  • 91%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Bradley USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Here are some of the best places to hit up once your university days are over!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »