See other Amsterdam properties

Flying Pig Beach Hostel

Parallel Boulevard 208, 2202H2, Noordwijk, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 34.3km

Rating: 87% from 13 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location makes it a great place to visit many places from and the 4€ shuttle to 'dam is a great deal. The beach is very nice, I'm told warm enough to swim as well! Leiden is where the nearest coffee shops are, and although they don't open until 5, the town is lovely.(they open earlier in' dam and The Hague) We had en suite shared rooms, but the en suite bit isn't necessary so I'd advise against that. Guests and staff all friendly and helpful. I strongly recommend the place!
  • 86%
  • 02 Jun 2016 Christopher
  • Really full rooms with no ladder for bunks and it's super loud ( in the room downstairs) with bass coming through the walls and ceiling non stop but nothing too bad. The people were awesome. A mix of locals and visitors as its kinda the only night life in the village. The location is beautiful if you wanted to get out of the city a bit. A clean beautiful empty beach literally across the street. And if you want to get into the city just make sure to sign up for the 40 minute shuttle to and from.
  • 83%
  • 13 Apr 2016 Allyssa USA
  • I stayed here b/c there was some event going on inside the city jacking up the prices but this turned out to be a fantastic place! The staff was super friendly and helpful. If you want something quiet this isn't the spot since the weekends host DJ's and lots of locals come and hang out but if you're into that it's a blast! Plus you're across from the beach! My only warning is to make sure you book that shuttle ahead of time or else you're going to be stuck taking the earlier one or a bus home!
  • 94%
  • 08 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel was clean a kitchen in. So you could do proper food it had a smoking area inside and out the back. I stayed in 3 hostels in Amsterdam but they weren't as good as the flying pig beach. Will stay at this hostel again.
  • 100%
  • 25 Mar 2016 Dale william
  • I enjoyed the three nights I stayed at the flying pig, the kitchen is well stocked and rooms were cleaned every day. The hostel is a bit far away from Amsterdam but they run a shuttle 4x a day for 4 euros which isn't bad, and you can take a bus to Leiden which is pretty close. There is a smoking room in the main part of the hostel with doors leading into the bar and reception area, the drink prices are great especially during happy hour. Overall I had a good experience at the Flying Pig :)
  • 91%
  • 18 Mar 2016 Julia Canada
  • Very nice place. Definitely worth staying for a couple of nights (especially thru weekends)!
  • 89%
  • 04 Mar 2016 Marek Czech Republic
  • Very friendly ambiance, but be aware if you wanna rest ;-)
  • 80%
  • 13 Sep 2015 Anonymous France
  • Clean hostel by a beach in the Netherlands. There were enough bathroom facilities. The rooms are removed enough from the central bar area that noise is minimized. I wish there was an electrical outlet for each bed though! Great otherwise
  • 91%
  • 12 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • What an awesome place. Perfect place to see the beach, drink, and of course smoke. Make sure you buy your weed before coming here, though, as there are few/no coffeshops in the area. Locals actually come here to drink/smoke, so it is a great chance to meet some of them as well. There are a couple okay bars/clubs in the area, but the hostel bar/smokeroom is really the place to be.
  • 94%
  • 05 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Had an absolutely wonderful stay here, couldn't have had a better stay! Staff really went out of theor way to help us and after turning up and only fonding one bed in the room (for two of us) Chris quickly sorted this out within minutes. Lovely hostel and amazing people. Very sad to have left!!
  • 89%
  • 02 Aug 2015 Rebecca England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »