See other Amsterdam properties

Flying Pig Beach Hostel

Parallel Boulevard 208, 2202H2, Noordwijk, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 34.3km

Rating: 82% from 15 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This particular location of the Flying Pig chain is located an hour drive away from the actual city. Its 4 euro one way to the city and you need to reserve in advance. If you don't its 18 euro one way to Amsterdam. The hostel itself is fine, smoking room, kitchen, fridges, clean showers, cool staff. Atmosphere is really chill and breakfast is provided. Fine hostel other than the location.
  • 63%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was by far my favorite hostel since I've been traveling. The beach is beautiful and close by. Amsterdam is very accessible whether you take the shuttle or use public transportation. The hostel is so welcoming you never want to leave. We made awesome friends here and experienced an atmosphere I've never experienced in a hostel setting. The smoke room is great and not clouded with smoke at all. They keep the facilities clean and the staff is very chill. I will probably be back soon!
  • 100%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Had a great time at this hostel! Came here with 4 others for a last minute Amsterdam excursion. We had a car luckily so didn't have to deal with the shuttle, but everything else was great. Awesome staff, great atmosphere and the bar stays open extra late if you make nice with the bartender. I definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in Holland. We felt very safe and well taken care of.
  • 80%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Kelly USA
  • Great people, great hostel. This hostel provides such a friendly and relaxed environment, that makes it really hard to leave. Staff is great, the rooms are clean and the beach is just a couple blocks away.
  • 100%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • A fantastic hostel in a really lovely location, with a convenient and cheap shuttle bus (only 4 euros) into central Amsterdam. Facilities included a fully equipped kitchen for guest use, a pool table, a projector + screen for movies, etc, a spacious smoking lounge with comfortable seating, loads of books and an outside decking area. Rooms and communal bathrooms were kept clean and hygienic, and ensuite rooms are available. Basically it's fantastic and we were very sad when it came time to leave!
  • 97%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • Had a lovely stay it was like spending a weekend on vacation, while on vacation.
  • 80%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Eric
  • nice ataying
  • 77%
  • 30 Jul 2014 Analia Argentina
  • This is the best atmosphere of any hostel I've stayed in Holland.
  • 91%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Bradley USA
  • I've traveled A LOT and this place was my first big disappointment. Just being honest. Made reservation for shuttle from sister hostel, waited for two and a half hours, only to be told it wasn't coming and I had to find my own way at night, offered no reimbursement. Place kind of run down & small, not really common area, rooms not worth price, wifi bad, only TWO bathrooms for whole building which was a problem for most people there. Great breakfast though, and town and locals were really cool!
  • 54%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Vert nice hostel, super close to the beach and the shuttle to the city is really useful/cheap compared to public transport! We had a lot of fun!
  • 94%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Sophie Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »