See other Amsterdam properties

Flying Pig Downtown

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 91% from 37 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Awesome place friendliest staff and cool hang out area/bar. Right in the middle of a really cool and busy shipping street with lots of cafés, coffee shops, stores, restaurants, etc. Only negative the shower and toilet and sink were together in one room, and there were only two in the dorm of 14 people, so morning were a little annoying to go to the bathroom and brush your teeth.
  • 97%
  • 10 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A really good location, you are really near the city center and stores. There is a kitchen in case you need to cook some food if you are in a budget. The staff is really nice and helpful.
  • 97%
  • 09 Feb 2014 Horacio Mexico
  • It was definitely a really nice place to stay, very close to everywhere we wanted to go! The people were really nice if you were able to talk to them. They had that attitude of ill get to you when I get to you. However they were really nice and friendly. Room smelled like pot but hey what else to you expect for a hostel in Amsterdam!
  • 86%
  • 09 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Loved the pig but the awesome staff really made it. Friendly and helpful and a really good bunch.
  • 89%
  • 06 Feb 2014 Caz England
  • The people this hostel attracts is more than enough to make up for any problems you'll encounter which there are none. I don't think my stay in Amsterdam would be anywhere near this awesome or amazing if I hadn't stayed here and met some amazing people
  • 94%
  • 03 Feb 2014 Chun England
  • This was an excellent hostel. The location was in a very happening part of town, close to anything that was worth seeing. The reception and staff seemed like one big happy family that made you feel at home. The bar and smoking room were top notch. The atmosphere was comfy and friendly. I met a lot of people just hanging out in the common areas. They even had food and drink specials available! I would have loved to stay here for longer.
  • 100%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was great but we have to change from a 6 bedroom to a more crowded one, that actually was terrible because it was smelly and dark. I recommend not to allow people to continue sleepping until late because there are people that need to move around to change and those things.
  • 100%
  • 01 Jan 2014 Anonymous Colombia
  • excellent hostel in the best neighborhood of amsterdam.. very close to parties, food, supermarket and attractions
  • 89%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Very clean, excellent location, helpful staff, fun environment! I would definitely come here again.
  • 100%
  • 16 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • My companion and I only stayed here for 1 night and it was incredible. The location was phenomenal, and close to everything. The staff was magnificent and extremely helpful (especially Charlie at the front desk). And the atmosphere was also great with the on sight bar/smoking room. Great stay at the Flying Pig, a definite must if your in Amsterdam!
  • 100%
  • 01 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »