See other Amsterdam properties

Flying Pig Downtown

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 90% from 38 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good hostel. Location is just perfect, in a nice area and quite close to the Central Station. Staff was nice and helpful. Very good breakfast for a hostel. The only downside is that my bedroom was a cubicle. It was a 4 dorms room and I could barely move in there for the lack of space. Everything else made up for it though. I would definitely stay there again.
  • 91%
  • 21 Oct 2014 João Brazil
  • Nice atmosphere, nice staff and nice bar on the floor to socialize and drink dutch beer with foreign people. :)
  • 89%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Ana Portugal
  • Very nice place! Very nice staff and atmosphere! I recommend it!
  • 100%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Best Hostel EVER! Smoke room is like an awesome black hole that you never want to leave. The bar nearby is awesome, and there's always cool people hanging out in there. The staff is the definitely the best!!! Pinja especially, Mitch, Hayden, Guilia, everyone was perfect. Stay here if you can!
  • 100%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice hostel. Helpful desk staff and really good location- easy to find your way to both Amsterdam Centraal and the Dam, which is a good landmark for navigating the rest of the city. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Definitely a party hostel, but what else would you expect in Amsterdam? Only wish they had laundry, because the nearby laundromat is crazy expensive and kind of sketchy.
  • 97%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Gwendolynne USA
  • Amazing stay! Was here just for the weekend. Right by the train station and in the shopping area. Staff was great!
  • 97%
  • 30 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location and staff are really great! It's only 5 minutes walk to Amsterdam Central, and very near from the Red Light District, bars and coffeeshop. Staff is very friendly and always has good recommendations. There's also a nice bar and smoking room so you can meet others travellers. My only negative point is that it's diificult to sleep in a dorm of 30 persons and more, but it's kind of normal. Just take a smaller dorm and it's perfect!
  • 86%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Awesome location and great bunch of people. I liked the stay here.
  • 80%
  • 08 May 2014 Praveen India
  • Cool place if your looking to party, or if you want to be really close to Central Station. Good for young first-timers to the Dam.
  • 89%
  • 13 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Talk about a good time! Now that I've stayed in 8+ hostels in various places around Europe, I can definitely say that I made the best friends and connections at the Flying Pig Downtown. It definitely wasn't good for my liver (or lungs) but whenever I come back to Amsterdam I'll definitely stay here for a few nights to mingle and meet new friends. Not the cleanest hostel I've been in, but what can you expect from such a social place? The bar/smoking + the staff is awesome!
  • 94%
  • 07 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »