See other Amsterdam properties

Flying Pig Downtown

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 83% from 26 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Amazing hostel, where you can meet great people, including staff! Nice kitchen, great breakfasts, but not so clean rooms and toilets. And you really need a shelf or something in showers!
  • 91%
  • 27 Oct 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • Wonderful staff and great location! The hostel bar area and smoking room are fab, however we were booked into a top bunk queen sized bed with no railings, to share, which I don't recommend! The room was really noisy, so hot and you could fall of any minute! I'd recommend booking a smaller room size and either a single bed or requesting a bottom double bed.
  • 74%
  • 19 Oct 2015 Anonymous Scotland
  • Amazing stay at the flying pig downtown, coming back for sure! The rooms were great and the environment fun. 5 stars!
  • 89%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Manant India
  • The best Party Hostel ever, staff super nice, every night something was going on in the bar...just loved this place Freaking Well Done Flying Pig :)
  • 89%
  • 17 Aug 2015 Anonymous Costa Rica
  • Great hostel, had a lot of fun in Amsterdam. Cool bar and common area, and the smoking room was really convenient. Staff were helpful and rooms were clean, I stayed in the 35 bed dorm which didn't really feel as big as I thought it would. My only complaint is that you can't bring outside people into the hostel, even if they're with you, without a key.
  • 94%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great environment, good location, friendly staff, lots of variety for breakfast and nice, clean rooms!
  • 80%
  • 28 Apr 2015 sara England
  • The hostel was nice, location is only 2 minutes from centraal station but at night the area is not the best, because all the shops and restaurants are closed after 9. A special thanks to receptionist Hayden, who helped a lot with a problem i had with some train tickets! he is the best! i think i paid a lot for being a hostel, 52 euros a night. breakfast was good!
  • 74%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • If you are coming to Amsterdam to use drugs and party this is the place to be. If not then you will find that it smells like pot and is very noisy.
  • 89%
  • 01 Mar 2015 Andrea
  • This hostel is very nice. The location is great, the staff is very helpful and the desk is always open, it's clean, and it has a good value for the money. Security and facilities for valuables however leave a little to be desired. There aren't any security boxes in the rooms, only a "safe" at the reception desk which is good but it means you have to give the staff your valuables. The lockers in the rooms are really noisy and could be moved around, so you need a good padlock or bicycle lock.
  • 83%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anonymous Guatemala
  • This hostel is definitely for a younger, livelier crowd. The DJ played music until about 2am all weekend so I used the free earplugs to sleep. If you want to smoke and/or party this is a good location.
  • 83%
  • 12 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »