See other Amsterdam properties

Flying Pig Downtown

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 90% from 34 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice place! Very nice staff and atmosphere! I recommend it!
  • 100%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Nice hostel. Helpful desk staff and really good location- easy to find your way to both Amsterdam Centraal and the Dam, which is a good landmark for navigating the rest of the city. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Definitely a party hostel, but what else would you expect in Amsterdam? Only wish they had laundry, because the nearby laundromat is crazy expensive and kind of sketchy.
  • 97%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Gwendolynne USA
  • Amazing stay! Was here just for the weekend. Right by the train station and in the shopping area. Staff was great!
  • 97%
  • 30 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location and staff are really great! It's only 5 minutes walk to Amsterdam Central, and very near from the Red Light District, bars and coffeeshop. Staff is very friendly and always has good recommendations. There's also a nice bar and smoking room so you can meet others travellers. My only negative point is that it's diificult to sleep in a dorm of 30 persons and more, but it's kind of normal. Just take a smaller dorm and it's perfect!
  • 86%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Awesome location and great bunch of people. I liked the stay here.
  • 80%
  • 08 May 2014 Praveen India
  • Cool place if your looking to party, or if you want to be really close to Central Station. Good for young first-timers to the Dam.
  • 89%
  • 13 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Talk about a good time! Now that I've stayed in 8+ hostels in various places around Europe, I can definitely say that I made the best friends and connections at the Flying Pig Downtown. It definitely wasn't good for my liver (or lungs) but whenever I come back to Amsterdam I'll definitely stay here for a few nights to mingle and meet new friends. Not the cleanest hostel I've been in, but what can you expect from such a social place? The bar/smoking + the staff is awesome!
  • 94%
  • 07 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Awesome place friendliest staff and cool hang out area/bar. Right in the middle of a really cool and busy shipping street with lots of cafés, coffee shops, stores, restaurants, etc. Only negative the shower and toilet and sink were together in one room, and there were only two in the dorm of 14 people, so morning were a little annoying to go to the bathroom and brush your teeth.
  • 97%
  • 10 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A really good location, you are really near the city center and stores. There is a kitchen in case you need to cook some food if you are in a budget. The staff is really nice and helpful.
  • 97%
  • 09 Feb 2014 Horacio Mexico
  • It was definitely a really nice place to stay, very close to everywhere we wanted to go! The people were really nice if you were able to talk to them. They had that attitude of ill get to you when I get to you. However they were really nice and friendly. Room smelled like pot but hey what else to you expect for a hostel in Amsterdam!
  • 86%
  • 09 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »