See other Amsterdam properties

Flying Pig Downtown

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 86% from 33 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel, had a lot of fun in Amsterdam. Cool bar and common area, and the smoking room was really convenient. Staff were helpful and rooms were clean, I stayed in the 35 bed dorm which didn't really feel as big as I thought it would. My only complaint is that you can't bring outside people into the hostel, even if they're with you, without a key.
  • 94%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great environment, good location, friendly staff, lots of variety for breakfast and nice, clean rooms!
  • 80%
  • 28 Apr 2015 sara England
  • The hostel was nice, location is only 2 minutes from centraal station but at night the area is not the best, because all the shops and restaurants are closed after 9. A special thanks to receptionist Hayden, who helped a lot with a problem i had with some train tickets! he is the best! i think i paid a lot for being a hostel, 52 euros a night. breakfast was good!
  • 74%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • If you are coming to Amsterdam to use drugs and party this is the place to be. If not then you will find that it smells like pot and is very noisy.
  • 89%
  • 01 Mar 2015 Andrea
  • This hostel is very nice. The location is great, the staff is very helpful and the desk is always open, it's clean, and it has a good value for the money. Security and facilities for valuables however leave a little to be desired. There aren't any security boxes in the rooms, only a "safe" at the reception desk which is good but it means you have to give the staff your valuables. The lockers in the rooms are really noisy and could be moved around, so you need a good padlock or bicycle lock.
  • 83%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anonymous Guatemala
  • This hostel is definitely for a younger, livelier crowd. The DJ played music until about 2am all weekend so I used the free earplugs to sleep. If you want to smoke and/or party this is a good location.
  • 83%
  • 12 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostels I've stayed in while in Amsterdam. Secure, great staff and awesome social area, with a pool table, a bar and a smoking room. Breakfast is included, and the kitchen is really well equipped. The only bad thing I can remember is there were mice in my room, which apparently is something the staff is well aware but haven't found a way to get them out, aside from getting a cute cat and telling people to store food in the kitchen instead of the rooms.
  • 91%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • great location, friendly staff, and awesome atmosphere
  • 97%
  • 25 Dec 2014 Anonymous India
  • Great place to party. Not so much if you want to turn in early and wake up early. Breakfast starts late at 8:30am. Location of hostel is great. Lots of interesting people to meet.
  • 83%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This is definitely a party Hostel and you will have to deal with some noise to sleep, but its not thaaat much. It is really close to the Red Light and to Anne Frank's house, so the location is awesome. The breakfast was a good surprise! Althought simple, it was really good and things are never missing, Good value for money even if you are not there to party.
  • 83%
  • 30 Nov 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »