See other Amsterdam properties

Flying Pig Uptown

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 83% from 20 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • had a great time, totally recommend it!
  • 94%
  • 19 Feb 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • Decent hostel at a good price for Central Amsterdam but not so good if you are travelling alone as it is hard to meet people and there is not much interaction between the staff and the guests. However, if you simply need a good hostel with the usual facilities (apart from WifI which was really bad), then it is ok but nothing special.
  • 69%
  • 08 Dec 2013 Anonymous England
  • The place is awesome and the staff was wonderful. It is a bit small, especially in the restrooms. Over all the location and staff were unbeatable, the music was also a bonus, created a great vibe.
  • 89%
  • 03 Oct 2013 Toby USA
  • A great place to stay! Loved the atmosphere!! Totally would recommended it! :)
  • 94%
  • 21 Aug 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Great hostel! Awesome staff and our private room was clean and comfy and had an AC! What an relief on July heat. The location is bit off from the centrum but only 30min walk from central station. The breakfast was ok since it was free. Bar and smoking dorm had very chilled athmosphere. Tram stops near hostel and takes you quikly to the centrum if you are too lazy to walk. I highly recommend this hostel to every traveller since it´s excellent value to your money.
  • 94%
  • 25 Jul 2013 Sami
  • we enjoyed our stay at your hostel found the steps a bit steep and were glad we were situated on the ground floor Cheers Barry
  • 80%
  • 14 Jul 2013 Barry Australia
  • Inconvenient location. (Pretty though) Staff was AWESOME! Expen$ive (by hostel standards) but nobody else has an opening for a Saturday night. You will have to take a tram from Dam Square, you cannot walk that far. Many doubled-up in their beds. The room was crowded, and the chatter didn't stop all night. The desk will cheerfully provide earplugs (?) Free breakfast, free Wi-Fi, nice atmosphere....you will meet dynamite people, if you came to socialize. I came to sleep. Last resort, safe.
  • 77%
  • 22 Jun 2013 Allen USA
  • The bar and reception were great, excellent staff. Would prefer if the showers and toilets were inside the room and not in the hall but not a major concern.
  • 83%
  • 17 Jun 2013 Ivan USA
  • Oh lord Jesus. The stairs. All the stairs. Good luck if you have suitcases. Cheap bar. Good number of showers. Toilets with questionable levels of functionality. Under bed lockers are super awkward if you're not in the bottom bunk.
  • 77%
  • 23 May 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Was a bit worried at the place at first (seemed like a chain from the logo) but was surprised at the incredible atmosphere. Buddy and I got into town pretty early, so we could check in right when we got there... we sat in the smoke lounge just to kill and hour and ended up hanging out almost the entire day just because the ppl we met were so cool. Great location too (by vondel park)
  • 89%
  • 22 May 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »