See other Amsterdam properties

Flying Pig Uptown

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 86% from 12 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 98%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is the coolest hostel. They have/ provide everything you would need. Safe, fun atmosphere, bar inside with great prices and smoking room, kitchen, laundry, extra lockers, all maps and flyers for all information you would need to get around/have a good time in Amsterdam/get to the airport/etc. Also great, quiet area in walking distance of lots of things to do.
  • 97%
  • 11 Oct 2017 Anonymous USA
  • The shared rooms are quite small.. it was pretty hard to walk around with all the luggage on the floor... Also, you have to go upstairs for the rooms, what is hard when you have big luggage(which was our case). The breakfast is good enough, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the late bar/smoking area has a very nice atmosphere. The lockers with password instead of keys are very handy. Good option, after all.
  • 80%
  • 25 Jul 2017 Anonymous Brazil
  • Although the hostel was kinda messy because it was still renovating, I truly enjoyed the vibes & my stays. Not only that you met some of the most awesome folks work here who also happen to be avid travelers (special shout-outs to Sara & Aaron), but you get to enjoy the lovely Vondel Park right beside the hostel. Here's a tip though - ask to stay on the ground floor if you can.
  • 91%
  • 10 Apr 2017 Anonymous Canada
  • Here's my first night staying at Uptown Flying Pig: the staff & location were just as wonderful as my other review suggested; however, because I was living on the 4th floor, I had to climb all the way up & down repeatedly with all my luggage. Also, you have to share the toilets/washrooms with the entire floor, which was very annoying. Overall, this is one of my MOST pleasant stay in Amsterdam thanks to the friendly staff, but I just found the facilities inconvenient.
  • 83%
  • 09 Apr 2017 Anonymous Canada
  • It's indeed a rock n roll hostel!!
  • 83%
  • 21 Mar 2017 Anonymous China
  • Awesome hostel with great atmosphere.
  • 97%
  • 02 Mar 2017 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • The Flying Pig Uptown in Amsterdam was wonderful! The staff was super friendly and helpful, the premises were clean, and there were plenty of security options from bringing your own padlock to electronic lockers to a safe down by the front desk. The Flying Pig has a bar downstairs in the main room that holds a nightly happy hour good for meeting other guests, and it really created a great atmosphere for meeting people and having a fantastic travel experience. Also, they offer free breakfast!
  • 100%
  • 20 Feb 2017 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great time at the Flying Pig Uptown. The setup of the hostel is very conducive to meeting other travelers and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. I actually showed up with a cold and a fever, and the staff were awesome and helped me restructure my holiday and also provided me with tea. Due to my changed schedule, I ended up staying in three rooms and had no issues in any of them. I highly recommend this hostel!
  • 94%
  • 16 Feb 2017 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »