See other San Juan properties

Fortaleza Guest House

Fortaleza 303, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 69% from 13 reviews

  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 70%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff is not bilingual. They do not take credit cards - cash only.
  • 71%
  • 13 May 2014 Prithviraj USA
  • I don't recommend this hostel. It is not clean and the staff doesn't speak in English. The room was without windows and the bathrooms were dirty. The price ptoo high for the standard.
  • 40%
  • 05 May 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • Location is very central but therefor very noisy. No windows just a wooden broken door to close. Only a ventilator, so it is very hot and humid in the room. Bath and room not clean and very poor and old installation. Far too expensive for what it is, I guess you pay that price because it is perfectly located.
  • 43%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • If you read this post, DO NOT stay here. I have stayed at dozens of hostels in the past, and this is by far THE WORST. I have never written a review, but after staying in this dump for two nights, I felt I had a moral obligation to warn others. We stayed in a room with no windows or air conditioner. What a DUMP. We ended our stay early at Fortaleza and transferred to Posada San Francisco. Posada is one of the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in and would recommend it to everyone.
  • 31%
  • 07 Apr 2014 Thomas USA
  • The place is in a great location and the value is really good too. The facilities are pretty average for this type of place, but overall definitely a good option for the budget traveller. Also, the owner was a really nice guy. I asked to buy a beer from him while waiting for my taxi and he just gave me one for free.
  • 80%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Nice little balconies overlooking Fortaleza Street. Although furniture is dated, there is a nice rooftop patio to have dinner or just sit still for a while. Only 3 blocks from Plaza Colon. And 1.5 blocks to a great salsa club!
  • 100%
  • 03 Mar 2014 Desha USA
  • I thought all facilities were quite adequate but nothing to get excited about. Very clean sheets and towel, air conditioning in the room, functional kitchen with a water filter, clean bathroom and shower (though shared between 5-10 people). The atmosphere wasn't the most inviting toward a solo traveler, though everyone I met was very nice. I would definitely go back here, but after looking for a nicer place first. Also the location was excellent, I walked everywhere around the city from here.
  • 86%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I would stay here again. The staff is very friendly, and the visitors are generally friendly. I liked the beautiful balcony and the rooftop lounge. The hot water shower works, and the place was quiet. One kitchen (of 2) needs some improvement-3 out of 4 stove burners were broken, and the 4th was on its way out. A courtesy shuttle to and from the airport would be of value, even if it raised the cost a little, or the hostel should provide directions using the bus.
  • 80%
  • 23 Feb 2014 David USA
  • Great location, I had an excellent time staying here. Definitely recommend it to anyone, especially young female solo travelers like myself.
  • 83%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Small and seedy, it was like a prison cell. Dirty pots and pans in the roof top kitchen. The dining table was filthy and the whole kitchen area was a mess. We could not stay more than an hour. Ugh!
  • 34%
  • 01 Feb 2014 jane USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »