See other San Juan properties

Fortaleza Guest House

Fortaleza 303, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 75% from 15 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • If you read this post, DO NOT stay here. I have stayed at dozens of hostels in the past, and this is by far THE WORST. I have never written a review, but after staying in this dump for two nights, I felt I had a moral obligation to warn others. We stayed in a room with no windows or air conditioner. What a DUMP. We ended our stay early at Fortaleza and transferred to Posada San Francisco. Posada is one of the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in and would recommend it to everyone.
  • 31%
  • 07 Apr 2014 Thomas USA
  • The place is in a great location and the value is really good too. The facilities are pretty average for this type of place, but overall definitely a good option for the budget traveller. Also, the owner was a really nice guy. I asked to buy a beer from him while waiting for my taxi and he just gave me one for free.
  • 80%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Nice little balconies overlooking Fortaleza Street. Although furniture is dated, there is a nice rooftop patio to have dinner or just sit still for a while. Only 3 blocks from Plaza Colon. And 1.5 blocks to a great salsa club!
  • 100%
  • 03 Mar 2014 Desha USA
  • I thought all facilities were quite adequate but nothing to get excited about. Very clean sheets and towel, air conditioning in the room, functional kitchen with a water filter, clean bathroom and shower (though shared between 5-10 people). The atmosphere wasn't the most inviting toward a solo traveler, though everyone I met was very nice. I would definitely go back here, but after looking for a nicer place first. Also the location was excellent, I walked everywhere around the city from here.
  • 86%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I would stay here again. The staff is very friendly, and the visitors are generally friendly. I liked the beautiful balcony and the rooftop lounge. The hot water shower works, and the place was quiet. One kitchen (of 2) needs some improvement-3 out of 4 stove burners were broken, and the 4th was on its way out. A courtesy shuttle to and from the airport would be of value, even if it raised the cost a little, or the hostel should provide directions using the bus.
  • 80%
  • 23 Feb 2014 David USA
  • Great location, I had an excellent time staying here. Definitely recommend it to anyone, especially young female solo travelers like myself.
  • 83%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Small and seedy, it was like a prison cell. Dirty pots and pans in the roof top kitchen. The dining table was filthy and the whole kitchen area was a mess. We could not stay more than an hour. Ugh!
  • 34%
  • 01 Feb 2014 jane USA
  • The room was small but clean and comfortable. Two bathrooms on our floor each with a shower. One large restroom and the other VERY small with only a toilet and shower (no sink.) Staff was present and helpful when needed. Bedding was only a sheet but the room was comfortable with the window size air conditioner. Our room had an indiidual small locker for each person.
  • 71%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Fortaleza was a wonderful experience for us. It is nothing new and shiny, it is old and worn, like San Juan Viejo. But it has charm and is clean and the staff is very friendly. The value was great. My GF and I got a private room for $40.
  • 89%
  • 03 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This is a great deal for the money. I was under the impression that I would be in a room with two twin beds instead of a dorm but a dorm it was. This was a bummer considering I woke up at 3am one night to the sound of running water only to turn over and see the guy sleeping across from me peeing in a bottle. I feel they should have put me in a room alone instead of the dorm with the men.
  • 91%
  • 01 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »