See other Cairo properties

Freedom Hostel

6, Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St., Downtown - Front of the Egyptian Central Bank., Cairo, Egypt, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 98% from 10 reviews

  • 98%Atmosphere
  • 100%Staff
  • 96%Security
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 100%Location
  • 100%Value for money
  • 98%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel! The staff was very friendly and helpful — stay around just to talk some. I also met other lovely travelers to explore Cairo with. The location couldn't be better, and it's easy to find from a metro station if you prefer. It's a good base for any sightseeing you might want to do — it's in the middle of everything.
  • 100%
  • 22 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Wonderful hostel! Amazing friendly service, doesn't matter what time it is or what you need Very clean and spacious
  • 100%
  • 13 Apr 2016 luz USA
  • The most important thing is that they make you feel like home.
    Owner Comment

    Dear Mercedes , Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • 100%
  • 18 Feb 2016 Anonymous Argentina
  • Perfect for a quick visit, had everything you wanted from a hostel. Great staff, very helpful.
    Owner Comment

    Dear Brent , Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • 100%
  • 24 Jan 2016 Brent USA
  • I booked four days here while I explored Cairo. It is a very central location and just about everything is walkable although if you want to see Old Cairo it's a bit of a trek. Staff is very helpful if you're looking for advice on places to see or where to eat, directions, etc. I feel bad for them that the tourism industry has taken such a hit the past few years, but on the bright side it meant I had the 6 bed dorm to myself 3 out of the 4 nights. Breakfast is simple but good.
    Owner Comment

    Dear Quinn , Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • 97%
  • 19 Jan 2016 Quinn USA
  • First impression left me wanting. Then I changed my mind! Yes an old building, yes the stairs are a long way up a dirty stairwell. The rooms are clean, the showers work (and cleaned every day), and the hosts are wonderful. I landed in Cairo not knowing what I wanted to do with 9 days, they took control and set me up with a wonderful time. A cup of tea or coffee was always at hand when sitting in the common area, conversation excellent. Highly recommend.
    Owner Comment

    Dear QI , Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We have just wanted to say that the building is old and it's under controlled from government . They don't give permission to make elevator or any changes . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • 89%
  • 05 Jan 2016 sharon USA
  • I never make reviews, but this is the exception. I loved this hostel, one of he best hostel I have stayed all my life. Wonderful location, amazing breakfast and so far the best staff members I have met. They are nice, professional, and take care of everyone, making you feel happy and part of the family !
    Owner Comment

    Dear Jesus , Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • 100%
  • 29 Dec 2015 Jesus USA
  • I had a really great experience in Cairo with Freedom 6. The location was great and the staff, especially Peter and Islam very helpful.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jul 2015 William USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »