See other Miami properties

Freehand Miami Hostel and Hotel

2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.5km

Rating: 86% from 37 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • An awesome benefit was free rentals of beach chairs, beach towels, umbrella, cooler, and bikes.
  • 97%
  • 26 Jun 2016 Emily USA
  • This is an excellent location with friendly, welcoming staff who made me even more excited to get settled and explore Miami. Thanks for everything!
  • 91%
  • 13 Jun 2016 Andre USA
  • this hostel is the best. I highly recommend it even if you are in a solo trip or in a group, the hostel is good to save money, I would definitely come back here,
  • 94%
  • 26 May 2016 Diana USA
  • I really enjoyed my time in a 8bed girls room. They have an amazing outside place with a lot of seating possibilities and a pool! Almost every evening is a little pool party. The staff helped me a lot with all the activities I wanted to do (Everglades, Key West etc) and it's very close to the beach too! There's a bus station in front of the hostel and south beach is on a walking distance. They provide beach towels and breakfast for free! I liked it a lot! :) Luisa, 21, Germany, 12nights Apr16
  • 89%
  • 01 Apr 2016 Luisa Germany
  • Had a very enjoyable experience at Freehand ! While not located straight on the beach it's only a short walk away. It is, if anything a bit of a walk to Lincoln Road. The place is very nice with a pool and nice bars. The private room I had, in the guest house, had a very comfortable bed with proper A/C and a clean bathroom ensuite. One thing that disappointed was the way security would clear the place when the bar closes, it felt like they were herding cattle as were rude and unrespectful.
  • 74%
  • 19 Mar 2016 Anonymous Switzerland
  • The bar inside the hostel is fantastic and I really enjoyed my slushy hibiscus drink. Many local residents at the bar; a somewhat glamorous be-seen sort of place that fits everyone from hipsters to yuppies. Given the price the restaurant food could be improved. My squid ink tagliatelle was just average. My stay was a little noisy. My room faced a noisy staircase and sidewalk. A lack of sleep ruined the trip somewhat.
  • 69%
  • 13 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The common area was nice and welcoming. However, the hallways and elevator were in need of cleaning and our room was disgusting. I've stayed in hostel dorms a number of times and I've never had a problem. However, the Freehand Hostel changed my perception of dorm rooms. There were wet towels all over our room, our shower didn't drain, the hostel was loud, and one of our beds had been used before we got there. Also, the lockers they provide do not lock. If you put a lock on them they still open.
  • 46%
  • 09 Mar 2016 Zachary USA
  • I would definitely stay there again, I really liked the location because its not directly in the party zone (South Beach around 5km) and its just 500m to the beach. As I stayed in a 8-bed dorm it was kind of noisy every night until around 1-2am. Although the room/bathroom were cleaned every day, there were a view things, which were just old or broken and a little dirty. But all together it is a great hostel, with an awesome pool area, were you can get drinks and yummy food.
  • 80%
  • 07 Mar 2016 Katharina Germany
  • Great location- only a few blocks from the beach. If you like to walk, you could easily get to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Mall, and other beach destinations. The front desk service was very slow. The rooms were dirty- especially the bathroom. The evenings were very loud. If you like to party and don't care much about the room, this place would be great. I was never given a towel, so I had to buy one at the neighboring grocery store. Additionally, my key never worked.
  • 66%
  • 27 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I would stay here again. It's charming with a great atmosphere and guests. A few feedback points though, 1) the toilet clogged while I was there and average several mitigation attempts a bloody tampon came out of the plumbing in a room with 3 fellas, the front desk was in no hurry to get maintenance involved or lend us a plunger 2) the pillows are very low quality and the front desk was unable to lend me an additional pillow 3) I would like to see more activities facilitated by the hostel.
  • 83%
  • 20 Feb 2016 nicholas USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »