See other Boston properties

Friend Street Hostel & Café

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 72% from 53 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 63%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The owner is a really cool guy, unfortunately the hostel can't keep up with him. I was told when I arrived that breakfast would be in the cafe, but that never opened, so there was no breakfast. Plus there was literally no oxygen in my dorm room or in the shower, so if you stay here (location is good, close to little Italy), don't spend more time than necessary.
  • 63%
  • 12 Nov 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • This place has a poor atmosphere. Beds are in poor condition and don't appear to be clean. Poor internet wifi. No value for money.
  • 46%
  • 06 Nov 2015 Vinit India
  • My stay at the friend street hostel was great. I read some bad reviews before I stayed buy I've no idea why there was bad reviews. It's such a great place.
  • 80%
  • 02 Nov 2015 Lucy
  • This Hostel is BAD. Is not clean, the beds are very bad, does not exist any organization, the price is too high for what you receive. If you want to go to Boston please stay in another place.
  • 46%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Eduardo Portugal
  • I made a reservation for myself and a friend under my name. I made two separate reservations because my friend was staying one day longer. Upon arrival, we found that one of the beds assigned to us was already taken. We ended up having to share a single bed. The staff that evening was polite, but one of the managers, who came in the next morning, was cool and not apologetic at all for our inconvenience. The refund process he required involved us having to email a credit card number--unfavorable
  • 66%
  • 11 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • On the first night, we arrived at night and went to a bedroom with 6 beds (me and 3 friends), in the night I was awakened by two people who claimed that the bed was theirs, the hostel rented a bed for two people at the same time, as had rented before they had to sleep in the living room. The next day when we returned from walking to the hostel the same thing happened, someone else put things in my friend's bed, the same thing again. Not recommend because it is missing organization.
  • 51%
  • 08 Oct 2015 Jade Brazil
  • The hostel guests liked their stay here and the staff were super friendly and forthcoming. They even put me in a girls dorm at no extra charge because my mixed dorm was full of men and they wanted to make me feel comfortable. Super nice! Though it could be cleaner. There were lockers in each room, breakfast (cereals, peanutbutter and jelly sandwich) was provided and one night we even got pizza! The location is decent but the price was too high in my opinion.
  • 57%
  • 01 Oct 2015 Annemarie Germany
  • Comfy rest for the transient. Convenient location. Breakfast and internet access a plus. Understand that you get what you pay for. One friendly suggestion: Perhaps investment in mattress protectors? The stains! But, again, convenient and comfy enough for the transient.
  • 66%
  • 01 Oct 2015 Antoinette Bahamas
  • The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, Braxton even walked me to the subway station at the end of his shift to show me which line to take for my days destination. Above and beyond! The facilities were cozy and well kept, the beds what you expect from a normal but clean hostel (clean beds, sheets, etc). Held my luggage for free as I explored the next day. Only thing I would have liked to see was some fruit with the breakfast as I have allergies that prevented me from enjoying the offering.
  • 83%
  • 24 Sep 2015 Alisa USA
  • The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was a bit crowded with the bunk-beds, and was not a newly designed one, but the free breakfast, the few free dinners/week and a so-really nice staff made me feel compensated. I would not go anywhere else in Boston.
  • 100%
  • 03 Sep 2015 Anonymous Hungary
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »