See other Boston properties

Friend Street Hostel & Café

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 74% from 58 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 66%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had to cancel my reservation, I was trapped in New York because of a snowstorm, it was circumstances beyond my control, was still charged for the room. I notified them as soon as I could. I wish my account credited or will not book the hostel April 21st on my return trip. Simple request. Thank you, Richard Smith
  • 54%
  • 02 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It felt a little disorganized (they were overbooked and switched me twice but luckily it was early on), the wifi wasn't the best and the security into the rooms was terrible in terms of other guests as the passwords were simple to guess.
  • 66%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • This was the BEST hostel I've been to, highly recommend! We were recommended by a friend. It was in an excellent location, right on the edge of French Quarter which is the only part we walked around for our 2 day visit in New Orleans. We felt safe walking to and from the hostel. The people here were amazing and so friendly. The hostel was so cute and nicely decorated. We loved the fruit cup and pancake breakfast. Also, excellent wifi which isnt always the case in hotels/hostels
  • 97%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Great hostel! Very well-located in the heart of Boston!
  • 100%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Besides the good location, I have to say that I'm disappointed. Mostly because I expected a clean place to sleep. First thing I saw were hair on my bed, like nobody has never cleaned it up before. Then I had to ask for the new sheet, because I found dirt and more hair on it. The matress was uncomfortable, I could feel every spring pinching my back and hear every single move, either mine or others. I'm not sure if the bathroom was cleaned at all. The morning, afternoon, night - hair everywhere!
  • 51%
  • 26 Dec 2014 Malgorzata Poland
  • It's nice hostel, but price in my opinion is to hight.
  • 80%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Marta Poland
  • If you're a walker, you can walk to downtown/chinatown in 20-25 min. Don't pay to take the subway. The walk is nice and you get to see the beautiful architecture of the city, as well as lots of nice pubs, squares, parks. I walked to the harbour by blue hills pavilion centre (for a concert) in 20 min and it was lovely to walk by the water. Very walkable city.
  • 77%
  • 14 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The bed is not comfortable enough,but the breakfast is free and good.
  • 71%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Jing China
  • Hostel is ok. Location is pretty good. However, they are full of rules and prohibitions: there is no drinking due to a lack of license and there is no cooking due to a lack of stove because of fire regulations. The common room is closed from 12 pm to 2 pm and breakfast is really until 9.45. I've been travelling for the last 4 years, around Europe, SouthAmerica and now the US and this is by far the most expensive hostel I had to pay for but it was the most affordable in Boston's downtown area.
  • 60%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • The staff were super helpful, even if some of them were a bit new to the job. The place is spotless and the lounge has all the basics. The cafe was a little gem, shame it's only open for breakfast. But seriously, the no alcohol rule really killed any atmosphere and it's really up to yourself to make your own fun. Some daytime tours or a night time activities wouldn't be a bad idea
  • 71%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Mark Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »