See other Boston properties

Friend Street Hostel & Café

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 71% from 52 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 63%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel. Awesome staff that really care about your stay. The location is close to everything; I walked everywhere in Boston. The only bad thing was the room was hot at night. Other than that, I'm very pleased with this hostel and what it provides
  • 97%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Lauren USA
  • Wifi not working No internet cable or computer available Bad matress Scarce breakfast
  • 57%
  • 31 May 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • wifi not working No internet or computer working Bad bed Bad breakfast Not clean Noisy
  • 51%
  • 29 May 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • This hostel was not worth the money, especially if you are looking for a stay in the warmer months. Be aware that there is no air conditioning in the hostel, other than the main common room. The rooms itself don't even have a fan. We came in pretty late one night, and a bunch of guys were in the hallway saying they couldn't sleep since it was way too hot. Even with the window open, there was no air circulation, and the room smelled (I guess that's what happens with 6 hot people in one room).
  • 49%
  • 29 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Staffs are very nice. They are helpful and friendly. The location is also good. It is close to the station and cvs. However, not that clean, and some facilities are left broken. Shower room, Restroom, and kitchen has broken something. And the room was pretty hot.
  • 63%
  • 28 May 2015 Hyojeong South Korea
  • Beds are ridiculous. It is hard to sleep in those beds. Tables in common area are very dirty and sticky. Breakfast is very poor and limited choice. Air condition does not work properly. But location of the hotel is great.
  • 40%
  • 25 May 2015 Anonymous Turkey
  • It was worth it for the price. Great location! Staff were welcoming and friendly! The guests were also respectable of the rules. The Wi-Fi access was not consistent and some of the outlets did not work. The rooms are a bit humid at night and we had to leave the windows open. The only complaint was the construction outside and at night, it is pretty noisy because of the bars downstairs.
  • 94%
  • 16 May 2015 Hannah Canada
  • The location and staff was excellent and central to Downtown Boston and the Metro lines. The condition of the actual hostel building left much to be desired. It was cramped, dirty, and old. The condition of the bunk beds, mattresses, and bedding were horrid, old, and dirty. The showers were no better and rather than shower, I choose to opt out and wet wipe myself down. The lockers were accommodating to travelers wishing to secure their items for the night.
  • 51%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Richa USA
  • The location is convenient. Staff is helpful and nice. However, it was sometimes noisy at the midnight.
  • 74%
  • 18 Apr 2015 CHAN Hong Kong
  • The hostel is really nice and it it well located but I think the price is a little to high according to what they offer.
  • 63%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Nicolas Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »