See other Boston properties

Friend Street Hostel & Café

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 72% from 51 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 65%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was worth it for the price. Great location! Staff were welcoming and friendly! The guests were also respectable of the rules. The Wi-Fi access was not consistent and some of the outlets did not work. The rooms are a bit humid at night and we had to leave the windows open. The only complaint was the construction outside and at night, it is pretty noisy because of the bars downstairs.
  • 94%
  • 16 May 2015 Hannah Canada
  • The location and staff was excellent and central to Downtown Boston and the Metro lines. The condition of the actual hostel building left much to be desired. It was cramped, dirty, and old. The condition of the bunk beds, mattresses, and bedding were horrid, old, and dirty. The showers were no better and rather than shower, I choose to opt out and wet wipe myself down. The lockers were accommodating to travelers wishing to secure their items for the night.
  • 51%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Richa USA
  • The location is convenient. Staff is helpful and nice. However, it was sometimes noisy at the midnight.
  • 74%
  • 18 Apr 2015 CHAN Hong Kong
  • The hostel is really nice and it it well located but I think the price is a little to high according to what they offer.
  • 63%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Nicolas Argentina
  • I really loved the atmosphere and spirit of the hostel, it was comfortable and good value for money. I wish I'd been staying more nights because people seemed very open to conversation and interaction! Great place that I really enjoyed, everything was fair all around. Obviously it is a downtown hostel so there is noise outside, and the hostel accomodates late arrivals and brings them to a room, but if you are a light sleeper a hostel likely isn't for you in the first place
  • 86%
  • 20 Mar 2015 Kieran Ireland
  • Friendly staff but a lil bit expensive
  • 69%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous France
  • Well located Hostel with very nice staff!! Quite good breakfast and nice common room. Very clean!
  • 89%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Jakob Austria
  • Very good and friendly but a little cold during early March, had to sleep with a coat on.
  • 77%
  • 05 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had to cancel my reservation, I was trapped in New York because of a snowstorm, it was circumstances beyond my control, was still charged for the room. I notified them as soon as I could. I wish my account credited or will not book the hostel April 21st on my return trip. Simple request. Thank you, Richard Smith
  • 54%
  • 02 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It felt a little disorganized (they were overbooked and switched me twice but luckily it was early on), the wifi wasn't the best and the security into the rooms was terrible in terms of other guests as the passwords were simple to guess.
  • 66%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »