See other Boston properties

Friend Street Hostel & Café

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 76% from 64 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel is ok. Location is pretty good. However, they are full of rules and prohibitions: there is no drinking due to a lack of license and there is no cooking due to a lack of stove because of fire regulations. The common room is closed from 12 pm to 2 pm and breakfast is really until 9.45. I've been travelling for the last 4 years, around Europe, SouthAmerica and now the US and this is by far the most expensive hostel I had to pay for but it was the most affordable in Boston's downtown area.
  • 60%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • In Boston, there isn't a lot of hostels to choose from. Their location is not too far away from downtown Boston, and is easy to find from the Metro station. Only concern is that it seems to be in an area where there is a lot of homeless people, so try to avoid the local 7-eleven (they were sitting outside there every time I went there), I felt it uncomfortable. Rooms are clean enough, but the beds do not have normal mattresses, they have airbeds. This may be a problem for some people.
  • 80%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • Blankets smelled terrible, definitely they were not clean.0. Other guests were partying and laughing in the room, while others were trying to rest. Rooms should get some fresh air. Terrible mattress and lousy. I wouldn't complain this much if services were at least good enough as some other hostels i've been in which i've paid 20-50% of the price. Excellent employees.
  • 63%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Lucila Mexico
  • i checked out a day early, for a number of reasons (primarily due to another guest in the room screaming all night, which isn't the hostel's fault so I didnt complain or rag on them), but while checking out at the front desk at 3pm, a guy who seemingly was the manager started cursing at the front desk employee who was helping me. really laying down the f bombs how about check out was at 11aam. but i was checking out a day early. tremendously unprofessional and uncomfortable environment.
  • 49%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The wi-fi was too weak to connect at the second floor.
  • 100%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous China
  • The beds are useless. Very short and the quality is poor! promise you will get little sleep due to noise (on the street) and the very poor madrases! The staff (Levy) is the nicest person! They should double his salary, he is the reason i would recommend FSH!
  • 66%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • Everything is fine, BUT do not put your stuff on the floor. They think that is trash and throw it out. I had to find out my stuffs from the waste bag on the street. It was unpleasant experience.
  • 74%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Can be quite noisy at night when trying to sleep(around 2am) and the bed feels weird and uncomfortable. The shared space is awesome and felt a bit like home
  • 66%
  • 29 May 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
  • So nice staff, Kurt!! and others. I really love this hostel and if I go to Boston later, I will go there again! Also free light breakfast is good!!
  • 91%
  • 21 May 2014 SEUNGEUN South Korea
  • I booked the 6 beds room. But because I checked in at 11:00pm, they arranged a 12 beds room to me with the same price!!!! And they said they can do nothing but only this room available. I don't understand what's the meaning of booking room then, they just gave the room whatever they want.
  • 60%
  • 10 May 2014 Yanwei China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »