See other Boston properties

Friend Street Hostel & Café

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 73% from 45 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 66%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, Braxton even walked me to the subway station at the end of his shift to show me which line to take for my days destination. Above and beyond! The facilities were cozy and well kept, the beds what you expect from a normal but clean hostel (clean beds, sheets, etc). Held my luggage for free as I explored the next day. Only thing I would have liked to see was some fruit with the breakfast as I have allergies that prevented me from enjoying the offering.
  • 83%
  • 24 Sep 2015 Alisa USA
  • The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was a bit crowded with the bunk-beds, and was not a newly designed one, but the free breakfast, the few free dinners/week and a so-really nice staff made me feel compensated. I would not go anywhere else in Boston.
  • 100%
  • 03 Sep 2015 Anonymous Hungary
  • I stayed there in summer and the room was just so hot that I hardly slept.
  • 63%
  • 17 Aug 2015 Vera
  • The staff were very friendly and helpful and there were a lot of nice small touches all around that showed that they cared.
  • 86%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Benjamin Australia
  • + Excellent location near North Station + Pristine men's dorm with sink - Very uncomfortable plastic mattress - Breakfast is only bread, cornflakes and hoop cereal - Noisy fan in men's dorm
  • 80%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Good location and really friendly staff
  • 97%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Pauliina Finland
  • Great hostel. Awesome staff that really care about your stay. The location is close to everything; I walked everywhere in Boston. The only bad thing was the room was hot at night. Other than that, I'm very pleased with this hostel and what it provides
  • 97%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Lauren USA
  • Wifi not working No internet cable or computer available Bad matress Scarce breakfast
  • 57%
  • 31 May 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • wifi not working No internet or computer working Bad bed Bad breakfast Not clean Noisy
  • 51%
  • 29 May 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • This hostel was not worth the money, especially if you are looking for a stay in the warmer months. Be aware that there is no air conditioning in the hostel, other than the main common room. The rooms itself don't even have a fan. We came in pretty late one night, and a bunch of guys were in the hallway saying they couldn't sleep since it was way too hot. Even with the window open, there was no air circulation, and the room smelled (I guess that's what happens with 6 hot people in one room).
  • 49%
  • 29 May 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »