See other Boston properties

Friend Street Hostel & Café

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 75% from 63 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It is a nice hostel. Clean and Cozy!
  • 83%
  • 14 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • We stayed at Friends hostel for four nights. It is a great location and although it was a good stay, I dont think it was the best value for money. Most staff members were helpful and went out of their way. But the beds were really squeeky which made it hard to get a good nights rest. It was a little noisy and the room was a little cramped. Breakfast was good! Had a really cool common area. Good hostel, but I think it was too pricey given the stay.
  • 63%
  • 14 Oct 2013 Sofia Australia
  • It seems many reviewers have not stayed at hostels before. This hostel is not luxurious. Think of sharing everything, there is little privacy but that is expected from a hostel. No employee was rude, they were pretty accomodating. We met a few other backpackers/roomates who seemed very nice and educated. The not so good parts were: (1)the street noise, but that is what you get when you are staying downtown. and (2) the mattresses were quite noisy because they are wrapped in plastic.
  • 83%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Telma A. USA
  • Walking distance into the city centre and 1 block down from TD Gardens stadium and train stations .... Staff very friendly and helpful. loved the idea of them doing the laundry - washed and folded - wooo hooo - as I have been on the road I while I hate doing laundry.
  • 89%
  • 06 Oct 2013 Anthony Australia
  • This hostel is in a great location in Boston, the common room is nice, and the free breakfast and cafe are pretty good. However, it's a pretty big rip-off. $50+/night for an uncomfortable bed in a dorm room. The manager is rude, gives everyone an attitude, and obviously hates his job. I've stayed at hostels in 3rd world countries that are much better than this one. Has potential to be good, but I can't recommend this at all. Couch Surfing is a much better option in Boston with nicer people.
  • 57%
  • 03 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great reception, location and cleaning. Just thing that I didn't understand is that why is not available alchol.
  • 91%
  • 06 Sep 2013 Aykut Turkey
  • Perfect location !! Literally only a few minutes walk into town. Staff were so helpful and friendly, as well as the other travellers staying at the hostel who were always happy to chat. Would definitely stay here again :)
  • 94%
  • 03 Sep 2013 Tess Australia
  • The worst beds I've experienced in a hostel - the plastic mattresses make loud noises with every movement. Boston is small enough that you can walk anywhere, so the great location and breakfast included in the price don't make up for this.
  • 66%
  • 02 Sep 2013 Anonymous New Zealand
  • i spent there a few nights in august and it was okay, but they have too small showers. Except this, everything else was allright. ;) They have very helpful and friendly staff, and it's close to the city center, so you don't have to take a bus.
  • 83%
  • 25 Aug 2013 Marta Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »