See other Taipei properties

Fun Taipei Backpackers

No.116, Chengde Rd., Sec4,, Shilin District, Taipei, Taiwan, Distance from city centre: 3.6km

Rating: 82% from 20 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Got bitten from few bed mites.
    Owner Comment

    Hi Luisa, thanks for the comments. We treat cleanliness serious. Please do not hesitate to contact us on this matter during your stay. See you next time^^

  • 54%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Luisa Malaysia
  • good location in terms of distance from hostel to mrt station jiantan. however the building the room was located was quite old and creepy. room was good though in terms of size for two person.
  • 66%
  • 07 Apr 2014 Wen xin Singapore
  • The hostel is situated in a very handy neighbourghood , very close to the Subway and for some excellent food on the nightmarket you just have to cross the road. The hostel is clean and safe, the manager is very helpfull and the securetie is always there. The room is standard with good bathroom and airco ,tv ,fridge ,watercooker ,good space for luggage also!
  • 89%
  • 05 Mar 2014 Martin Netherlands
  • location is perfect, just right outside shilin night market. a 5-10 min walk from jiantan station (red line), it is very accessible! the room is cozy, with a great view of the mountains and nightlife too. Everything is clean, there is even security downstairs. the host came by and was very friendly, and my friend and i were very comfortable there as we stayed for 6 days. the corridor might be a little creepy but its all cool. would stay there again, thanks Fun Taipei for all your assistance!
  • 100%
  • 19 Jan 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • Location was really convenient! Basic necessities are all there. It would be better if a heater was there during the winter to improve the overall stay at the hostel.
  • 94%
  • 19 Jan 2014 Jun Xian Malaysia
  • It is really close to Shilin Martket. Very convenient for traveling. The house is very clean and comfortable. It has lifts !!
  • 89%
  • 25 Dec 2013 Wenqian China
  • I booked a room for 2, the room is very cozy for 2. The toilet is very small and quite old, but definitely functional. Small tv, but it's okay. 2 desk were provided, so it's good to put things.The floor gets dirty very easily, luckily slippers were provided. The location is fantastic, just across the street from Shilin night market. The nearest train station is about 10 - 15 minutes walk and is very convenient to most of the tourist attraction in Taipei. I would definitely stay back here again.
  • 83%
  • 18 Dec 2013 Sheryl Singapore
  • Grieta hostel, just a bit confusing the check in process.
  • 86%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous Chile
  • wifi good. hair dryer is poor and weak.
    Owner Comment

    Hi~thanks for the comments. The hair-dryer is new now. Please do not hesitate to contact us in this case. See you again^^

  • 91%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • It was hard to find the location at first, I almost thought it was too a fluke. But when I did find someone with a cellphone to call the location, the staff was polite and helpful about giving me directions and even meeting me outside to greet me. The space is tight, but the people who stayed there were great people from all over the world and we had fun chatting about all our different traveling journeys. Overall it was a great 10 day stay, especially since I was traveling alone on tight budget
  • 91%
  • 18 Aug 2013 Kia USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »