See other Taipei properties

Fun Taipei Hostel@Shilin Night Market

No.27, Wenlin Rd., Shilin District, Taipei, Taiwan, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 89% from 21 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Had an amazing time at this hostel! Staff was super friendly and helpful... Alice in particular! I was impressed the very first night I arrived when she came out to meet me in the taxi to make sure I found the hostel entrance (which could have been tricky the first time!) This hostel is in a great location, right next to Jiantan MRT station which makes sightseeing around the city a breeze. It's also in the heart of shilin night market... Delicious fried Taiwanese delights at your doorstep!
  • 94%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Chelsea England
  • This hostel was really confortable to me while staying in Taipei!
  • 80%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Loved the location, right NEXT to Jiantan station and Shilin night market. The only problem I have with the hostel is that there are no black out curtains. Were on the 4th floor and the blinds have no way to blacking out the GIANT LED screen across the street. It was hard to fall asleep. Aside from that, the facilities are wonderful and the staff is especially great.
  • 94%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We stayed here for 4 nights and the experience was average. There was little interaction between the hosts (except some small talk with Alice) and us, unfortunately. The rooms and toilets are really small. It would be better if the trash was cleared more frequently in the living areas and toilets. As more guests checked in, it felt a little like a cramp house as there were so many people but relatively little living space. The plus side would be its location, near Shilin market and Jiantan MRT.
  • 69%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • Just a few blocks from night market & mrt... Nice place...highly recommended
  • 94%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Danny Philippines
  • The staff was amazing and made us feel like family. They helped us get where we needed to go. Pretty peaceful despite being located above Shilin Night Market. It is VERY clean and the beds were comfortable. Free tea, coffee and toast. Located across street from MRT, which was super convenient. No red flags. Lockers in common area are too small to fit our whole backpack, but we felt safe leaving them in the locked rooms. Internet was faster than anything we've had!
  • 100%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Amanda USA
  • The best hostel I ever stayed
  • 89%
  • 21 Jan 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • i stayed 6 people's room. the facility is quite okay , but the room is too small to pack my luggauge.
  • 80%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Clean hostel with good service.
  • 83%
  • 27 Oct 2013 Anonymous Singapore
  • The hostel is located in a great area: Within a working class Taiwanese community and just a few steps around the corner from the local night market. About a kilometer away from one of the tallest buildings in the world; Taipei 101, Nightclubs and Bars. The staff including Natalia are receptive to the guests' needs. They are helpful and friendly; like the rest of the people of Taiwan, when help is needed you're cheerfully assisted. Lots of cool backpackers (travelers) to meet and party with.
  • 94%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »