See other Rome properties

Funny Palace Hostel

Via Varese 33/31, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 89% from 22 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great customer service! Felt very welcomed.
  • 94%
  • 10 Nov 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Nice location with very clean rooms. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were cleaned daily. Mabri knows his restaurants! He sent us to the best pizza place around the corner- Andrea's.
  • 97%
  • 28 Oct 2015 Colleen USA
  • Walking to the address to check in. Ended up looking like a laundry mat. Don't judge a book by its cover. The receptionist was so kind and helpful. The rooms were one of the nicest I've ever seen. And it's about a 3 min walk from the main train station.
  • 100%
  • 16 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Staff are very kind. Close to Termi station and the internet cafe and laundry facilities are a nice extra, very helpful for backpackers! Bed is comfortable, overall rooms were good.
  • 94%
  • 07 Oct 2015 Stephanie USA
  • This is a great place if you want to sleep well, be in a beautiful building near the train station (Termini), use clean bathrooms, have a great small locker to put valuable things in and have access to computer and good wi-fi. The breakfast is also completely charming, served in a cafe 2 minutes from the hostel. There is not a lot of common areas that are actually used by people, so to meet, it's maybe not the best place. The kitchen have almost no cooking equipement (no pots, pans, cutelry...)
  • 86%
  • 28 Sep 2015 Camille Canada
  • First hostel experience and it was fantastic, First time in Rome and Johnny gave us a map with helpful tips and advice about what to do and where to go. Room was very clean, secure, and had a great view out onto the street. Free wifi too! Made the first hostel experience an incredible one, thank you Funny Palace Hostel!! -Emily, Nikki, and Caila
  • 94%
  • 19 Sep 2015 Emily USA
  • loved this place, 4 bedroom suite was very clean. Breakfast coupons for nearby cafe to get a cappuccino / croissant in the morning. It's a shame there was only one bathroom for a couple of rooms.
  • 100%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Eric USA
  • Great place to stay and great location. The staff were fun, welcoming and so helpful! Only a short walk to Termini station to get around Rome, this also has the airport line. Keep in mind, there isn't a kitchen or common room but the rooms are great. There's plenty of local places to eat a fair price with very friendly staff.
  • 89%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • The hostel provides breakfast voucher in a real cafe nearby where I can enjoy a nice cup of capucchino first thing in the morning before I start my day to conquer Roma. The hostel also provides us maps where all city attractions are marked which makes navigation much easier.
  • 86%
  • 02 May 2015 Thi Thanh Le Vietnam
  • The owner was very kind to my friend and I. The room was very nice, but it did get rather cold and there was no heater. When the owner learned that we were only in Rome for three days he sat us down with a map and marked out a path for us. He gave us metro stops and bus numbers for everywhere we wanted to go and then highlighted each day with a different color. As we did not have any plans for with order to see things in this was very helpful. I would recommend this place to someone.
  • 89%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »