See other Rome properties

Funny Palace Hostel

Via Varese 33/31, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 88% from 19 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The owner was very kind to my friend and I. The room was very nice, but it did get rather cold and there was no heater. When the owner learned that we were only in Rome for three days he sat us down with a map and marked out a path for us. He gave us metro stops and bus numbers for everywhere we wanted to go and then highlighted each day with a different color. As we did not have any plans for with order to see things in this was very helpful. I would recommend this place to someone.
  • 89%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Funny Palace Hostel was fine, nothing extraordinary. They were accommodating and flexible when I requested a different room. The only thing was I didn't receive a very friendly welcome from the staff.
  • 66%
  • 04 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Everything great really. The staff could be a little bit friendlier perhaps, but they're effective and get to the point.
  • 97%
  • 01 Jan 2015 Leon Mexico
  • Really good place
  • 100%
  • 29 Nov 2014 Jorge Spain
  • Nice rooms and great location. Staff was kind.
  • 89%
  • 24 Oct 2014 Grant USA
  • The hardware of the hotel is good, clean and tidy. The boss of the hotel helped us a lot in planning the travel in Rome.
  • 91%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Shuping China
  • It is a very good place and nice service:)
  • 100%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Anonymous China
  • Great place, right next to the train station. Very trustworthy, I left one of my loafers there by accident. I emailed them, they said they have it, I was going ack to Rome a couple days later. I walked in to pick it up and they had it waiting for me. Thanks again!
  • 100%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I booked the hostel at last minute and got there quite late so didn't really have a chance to judge the hostel. but the receptionist was very friendly and helpful, and even gave me a free bottle of wine upon arrival which I've never gotten from a hostel before so that was really great. the rooms were of high standard and the location was really close to the roma termini central train station.
  • 97%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Hannah
  • Good location. But no shareroom or kitchen. Which made it Hard to meet and talk to other guest. Got free breakfast at a small café near by That was not good. But good location near termini.
  • 57%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Amy Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Here are some of the best places to hit up once your university days are over!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »