See other Rome properties

Funny Palace Hostel

Via Varese 33/31, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 84% from 16 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really good place
  • 100%
  • 29 Nov 2014 Jorge Spain
  • Nice rooms and great location. Staff was kind.
  • 89%
  • 24 Oct 2014 Grant USA
  • The hardware of the hotel is good, clean and tidy. The boss of the hotel helped us a lot in planning the travel in Rome.
  • 91%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Shuping China
  • It is a very good place and nice service:)
  • 100%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Anonymous China
  • Great place, right next to the train station. Very trustworthy, I left one of my loafers there by accident. I emailed them, they said they have it, I was going ack to Rome a couple days later. I walked in to pick it up and they had it waiting for me. Thanks again!
  • 100%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I booked the hostel at last minute and got there quite late so didn't really have a chance to judge the hostel. but the receptionist was very friendly and helpful, and even gave me a free bottle of wine upon arrival which I've never gotten from a hostel before so that was really great. the rooms were of high standard and the location was really close to the roma termini central train station.
  • 97%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Hannah
  • Good location. But no shareroom or kitchen. Which made it Hard to meet and talk to other guest. Got free breakfast at a small café near by That was not good. But good location near termini.
  • 57%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Amy Sweden
  • I recently stayed 4 nights at the Funny Palace in Rome and I had an amazing experience. The owner/manager, Mabri, was quick, friendly, and always helping his guests in one way or another. By the time our first 5 minutes together were up, he had highlighted several cool walking tours on a map with different colored highlighters for each route, started a load of my laundry, suggested some websites to ease my Vatican visit and gave me my keys, a bottle of complimentary wine, some breakfast coupons.
  • 94%
  • 01 Jun 2014 john USA
  • The staff of hostel in Things to Note, wrote this sentence (copy - paste): Plear note that we do have aga restiction 40 years for shared room ! ! ! What does mean word AGA ? If AGA means AGE, what does mean restiction 40 years for shared room ? Any restriction, based on race, nationality, age, ..., are DISCRIMINATION due to European Union rules !
  • 20%
  • 12 Jan 2014 Anonymous Croatia
  • This hostel is hard to find but I am contended with staying this hostel. I originally booked a dormitory but They upgrade my booking into a private room without extra charge. And this hostel is very clean and bathroom is spacious I think. If I had a chance to revisit Rome, I would like to stay this hostel again.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jan 2014 JOONHYUNG South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »