See other Interlaken properties

Funny-Farm

CH 3800, Interlaken, Interlaken, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 82% from 10 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The Funny Farm exceeded my expectations, the pictures on Hostels.com seemed a bit too good to be true, but the reality matches the pictures pretty well. We ended up getting a room for 4 to ourselves for the weekend, so that was certainly nice. The views are spectacular. My only complaints are that the club was a little dead when we were there (maybe a bad weekend?) and the pool table in the lobby should cost less than 2 francs. Otherwise, the rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly
  • 86%
  • 30 May 2014 Joseph USA
  • Beds were making so much sound that it was hard to sleep.
  • 74%
  • 29 May 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • One of the nicest hostels I've been to. I would recommend it for sure. Very nice rooms with private bathrooms. High level of cleanliness. Only complaint is no Wi-fi access in the rooms but there is still access in the lobby.
  • 94%
  • 10 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Beautiful views in really nice rooms with personal decks off of them. Worth what you pay!
  • 100%
  • 07 Dec 2013 Emma Canada
  • Had a very nice time here. More of a hotel atmosphere than a hostel. Nice bar and restaurant downstairs. Very helpful staff.
  • 100%
  • 20 Sep 2013 Clark USA
  • I got to just stay here one night because of a mixup, but it was a pleasant experience. I had booked for a 8 person ensuite, but there ended up only being 3 people in there. The Wi-Fi only works in the lounge, but it works well. Breakfast is very good, but costs you 10 CHF extra. It's about a 15 minute walk from the Ost station. Shower light timed out on me once so I had to open my door and wave my hand around a bit. It's also right by Alpine Raft which is a great outdoor adventure provider.
  • 77%
  • 18 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The room itself was okay, other than the musty smell coming from the blankets and pillows (what else would you expect). But the staff treatment was terrible. One man was incredibly racist whilst addressing a Japanese customer, using a sarcastic tone of voices and a lot of eye rolling.
  • 37%
  • 19 Jul 2013 yeonhwa South Korea
  • Nice hostel and atmosphere. Staffs are good and very clean room and toilet too. Enjoyed the staying....
  • 80%
  • 17 Jul 2013 Anumol India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »