See other Hamburg properties

Generator Hamburg

Steintorplatz 3,, Hamburg, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 83% from 30 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything by business, nothing personal :) If you need a place just to nap/sleep and take a shower, you are in the right place!
    Owner Comment

    Hello, it is always good to see, when the team is able to impress. I would be delighted if you choose Generator also in the future. If not in Hamburg, than maybe in one of our other exciting destinations. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • 86%
  • 27 Sep 2016 GIORGI Georgia
  • The staff is not that kind and that they did not respect the deposit that was charged to my credit card when I did the booking
    Owner Comment

    Hello, I am sad that you left with a bad impression. I hope the issue with the deposit could be solved during the stay? If you ever return to hamburg, we would be happy that be your host again. Regards, Sven heberling Assistant General Manager

  • 74%
  • 13 Sep 2016 Anonymous Mexico
  • Dorm shower heads should be pivotable to focus the water stream. The shower curtain should be more rigid and drape lower to prevent wetting the floor outside the shower stall.
    Owner Comment

    Hello, many thanks for the review and the suggestions. Eventhough some changes cannot be made in our Hostel, we still take suggestions in consideration, when opening new Generator, such as Amsterdam and Paris. Check it out on your next trip to Europe. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • 86%
  • 09 Sep 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Lovely hostel at the train station. Its noisy during the night. The hostel was very clean.
    Owner Comment

    Hi, many thanks for your stay and for the excellent review. Whenever you return to Hamburg, we would be delighted to be your host again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • 97%
  • 17 Jul 2016 Katrin Austria
  • Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff. I didn't like the small toilets and bathrooms in the rooms. No breakfast included, but you can pay for one, which is very basic. Also there are no towels provided, and you have to buy one from the reception.
    Owner Comment

    Hello, many thanks for the constructive feedback. It is always good to see that the team was able to convince you . I wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • 86%
  • 06 Jun 2016 Ivan Macedonia
  • The place felt more like a hotel than a hostel. But overall really enjoyed the place. It had a bar and a lounge and an atm right in the lobby. It's really nice that It's right across the street from the main train station. Every bed had it's own plug and the wi-fi was really great.
    Owner Comment

    Hi, Thanks for the nice feedback. We work hard to gain also the remaining points on a possible return visit. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • 80%
  • 23 May 2016 sam USA
  • Excellent location, close to the central station with all connections nearby. The building is great, the beds are good but the inroom bathrooms are irritably smal.
    Owner Comment

    Hello, Thanks for the review. Good to see that you had a good time in Hamburg. I always especially proud, when I read about good experiences with the team, because they make a hostels unique. If you ever return to Hamburg, we will be there for you. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • 80%
  • 18 May 2016 Maria Netherlands
  • location, connectivity to the rest of the city, hostel room, the property are excellent. Staff is friendly enough. However, the bathroom and shower area is a bit too tiny for ones comfort and the shower area door handle was broken during my 3 nights stay here. Still, would recommend to stay here as the overall experience was nice and the location is great.
    Owner Comment

    Hello, Thanks for the review and the recommendation. I would be delighted if you choose Generator also in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • 83%
  • 28 Mar 2016 Saurabh India
  • Great Place to stay, exellent value for money. Even breakfast was very good given it only cost 5€. And no air condion, personally I prefer that. The only thing that could make the sleep even better would be a parted window with a sall opening to allow some fresh air. And very friendly, easy going staff that makes one feel welcome.
    Owner Comment

    Hi, thanks for the review. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • 100%
  • 21 Jan 2016 Silke
  • Great stay, very nice place great atmosphere, very clean, next to central station. The only thing not positive were the matresses, not confortable.
    Owner Comment

    Hi, Thanks for the review. We have just recently renewed some of the matresses. Come and check it out on another visit. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • 97%
  • 01 Jan 2016 Maria Portugal
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »