See other Dublin properties

Generator Hostel Dublin

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 83% from 18 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel was very clean and in an excellent location! Cafe has tasty food and the bar is a great place to start your night. We had trouble late at night with our key cards not working, but the staff was always extremely helpful and prompt. Rooms were clean and well-kept. Awesome hostel and environment, great place to stay!
  • 86%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Most solid wifi connection, & cleanest showers of any Hostel. Plus every bed comes equipped with two personal sockets & a reading lamp in the head. There is a cafe & bar within the hostel & the staff is always there to help you at the reception 24/7 & can also recommend things to do! The trunks under the beds are also very convenient rather than having to lock things away in some other room(bring a lock tho, or pay 6.50 at the reception for one ). I will stay here again when I return to Dublin!
  • 91%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Charles USA
  • 50€/night for a bed in a dorm (week-end)... most expensive of the 100+ hostels I've experienced worldwide. They have thousands of beds! And most guests are big groups (10 or more), unfriendly if you travel alone or with a friend or 2. Common room? There is none! It's actually a pub/club/restaurant where you feel like you should buy something in order to stay! All seats are taken by big groups, shouting, drinking and laughing. If you alone looking for people to meet, good luck to you!
  • 60%
  • 29 May 2015 Romain France
  • Very clean, lots of plug ins, awesome food. BUT the hostel is a bit too big, may be hard to meet people since most are their in big groups for bachelor/rette parties.The downside to large hostels is that they try to pedal their paid events like pub crawls, their restaurant etc. The breakfast was way overprice. Also don't go to the grocery store across from it because it's an organic overpriced shop. The location isn't city center but Dublin is small, maybe a 10 mins walk to everything.
  • 77%
  • 05 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I enjoyed staying at the Generator Hostel very much. The room was a good size and clean. As well as the bathroom. It felt like I was staying at a hotel. I loved that it had a bar, a cafe, food, laundry room, and a lot of space to hangout at. It was a very nice place.
  • 100%
  • 19 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Might be a nice hostel for people who don't need much sleep. There is party every day organized by the hostel which is nice but also very loud. There are no female washrooms on every floor so you had to use the lift every single time. Furthermore you really had to use the lift as the doors to use the stairs (or to get out again on another floor) were locked.
  • 57%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Andrea Sabrina Germany
  • I enjoyed both of my stays at this hostel (I had layovers that went long in Dublin). The beds were alright, not the most comfortable, but being jetlagged makes even the flattest of surfaces feel like heaven. The atmosphere is very great and I really enjoyed the bar area to just talk to people before I left. Overall cheap place to stay, close to most sights and easy to get to the airport on the AirCoach.
  • 89%
  • 08 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The dorm room is so dark and no fresh air, probably will be very smelly during summer.
  • 77%
  • 16 Dec 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Great hostel, little walk to the center (10-15 min), which meant it's a little more quiet than hostels right in the heart of the center. Rooms are big enough and beds are provided with bed light and two sockets to use. So no sharing for charging your batteries! Great atmosphere and lovely bar. Staff is friendly and helpful. Really good in organizing parties! Loved the beds, slept well. Nice mattress, pillow and blanket.
  • 77%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • Loved this hostel! Felt more like a hotel than a hostel which was definitely a nice surprise. Each bed had two outlets and a reading light which was great!
  • 97%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Megan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »