See other Dublin properties

Generator Hostel Dublin

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 79% from 28 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff did not make me feel comfortable when asking questions. Some were even too busy to look at me when speaking. Its a shame because Generator is a nice hostel, but I was not impressed with the staff at all.
  • 77%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Erika USA
  • It was rather hot in the dormitory. Facing the sun were only glass windows without any help for shade. I felt the music in the entrance was rather loud. All in all it was a nice hostel and the staff was very friendly.
  • 94%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Margaret Germany
  • The tub / shower in room 114 is dangerous. Also, the smoking outside the front door prohibits opening the windows for fresh air in this room. This room is also at the start of the hall near the doors to the lift so everyone coming in & out is noisy at this point. Aside from these realities of the room we were assigned, the Generator Dublin is a great choice for a hostel here in Dublin.
  • 94%
  • 09 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel to stay at if you want a lot going on and have money. I was backpacking with little money and would not suggest going here. They have no kitchen and you cant bring in outside food. They have a restaurant, but it is over priced. They put a lot of money into having nice doors and silly things like that instead of using the money toward maybe offering breakfast or something that helps travelers like hostels are supposed to do. Generator is a hotel with dorms.
  • 71%
  • 26 May 2014 Owen Canada
  • Quiet, comfortable, clean!
  • 97%
  • 18 May 2014 antoinette USA
  • Only about a ten minute walk from the main street of Dublin. Cheap breakfast, not free, and clean showers (though I couldn't tell the difference between female vs male showers.) No lockout and security comes out at night to make sure everyone entering the building is staying there. Staff members were helpful but occasionally short tempered. Rooms were clean and other guests incredibly friendly!
  • 69%
  • 05 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • i guess that dublins generator is the best hostel where i have been really!!!
  • 94%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Boris Slovakia
  • Very very swanky place. Not the kind of place to find a dirty backpacker. You have 2 options. 1) be in your room or 2) step off the elevator into a loud night club. They market their kitchen in way that might make someone think there are kitchen facilities for them to cook or heat left overs. Not true. You must buy cooked food from them. There is no 'common room' just a loud night club. laundry facilities is a joke.
  • 46%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • loved that the bunks had their own outlets, such an awesome feature
  • 94%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • nice, clean hostel. super-cheap (payed like 13$ per night in a 6-bed-dorm) you could walk to all the sights and to temple bar - and a sightseeing bus stop was right in front of the hostel. would def go again!
  • 77%
  • 03 Mar 2014 Bernd Robert Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »