See other Dublin properties

Generator Hostel Dublin

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 83% from 40 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • loved that the bunks had their own outlets, such an awesome feature
  • 94%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • nice, clean hostel. super-cheap (payed like 13$ per night in a 6-bed-dorm) you could walk to all the sights and to temple bar - and a sightseeing bus stop was right in front of the hostel. would def go again!
  • 77%
  • 03 Mar 2014 Bernd Robert Germany
  • The facilities were great, and I loved that there were lockers provided in the dorm room. Also I was really impressed with the bar area and cafe downstairs-- it was very welcoming. The only issue was that somehow the bed numbers got mixed up in our 8-bed mixed dorm. Other than that disruption, which may or may not have been the hostel's fault, it was a very nice place to stay!
  • 86%
  • 03 Mar 2014 Rachel USA
  • They are not always even friendly at the reception, sheets for our beds weren't always that clean
  • 71%
  • 05 Feb 2014 Sigrid Belgium
  • Very good hostel. I'd stay in Generator again for sure. Only problem is the wifi. I almost never had internet connection.
  • 91%
  • 08 Dec 2013 Ildiko Hungary
  • Good rooms. Bathrooms not so clean but acceptable. Staffs friendly and relatively close to the city centre. I recommend this hostel.
  • 74%
  • 27 Nov 2013 Tiago Brazil
  • It was my first time in a generator hostel and won't be the last! Great location, super clean, nice atmostphere!
  • 97%
  • 16 Sep 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • VERY DIRTY!! staff unfriendly. breakfast cost 4 euro for nothing.
  • 46%
  • 14 Sep 2013 Anonymous Israel
  • When you book through this website seems that the breakfast is include (specially if you pay 40euro per weekend-night), but it's NOT. Furthermore, it's not possible to buy it later at the hostel. The only option there is going to the cafe, but not the ticket for the breakfast...
  • 80%
  • 05 Sep 2013 Iria Zeltia Spain
  • Great style and really clean. a short walk from the centre. all significatn sight seeing venues were walking distance, so was the main bar street. the clubs however were a bit to far to walk too. the staff were very helpfull and friendly. the only downside to this hostel is that the kitchen is only open from 5 pm onwards and that you aren't allowed to bring your own booze into the hotel, so not exactly a budget hostel, but worth the stay!
  • 77%
  • 24 Aug 2013 Joshua England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »