See other Dublin properties

Generator Hostel Dublin

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 90% from 14 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 94%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very Impressive !! Is like being in discoteca, not a hostel at all. Very nice experience
  • 89%
  • 28 Jan 2016 Anonymous Italy
  • The best one, simply!
  • 100%
  • 25 Nov 2015 Anonymous France
  • One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Large, Newer, modern, clean facility. Six bunk room had its own bath. Had attached cafe and bar but no kitchen facility of any kind. Thought 7€ for laundry was expensive. Wi-fi worked everywhere. Stay here on weekdays because weekend rates jump up a lot. Not in the center of town but still an easy walk to nightlife
  • 100%
  • 14 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • loved everything about the hostel; i wish there was better ventilation in the rooms.
  • 94%
  • 04 Aug 2015 marisa USA
  • It was right next to the Jameson distillery which made it extremely easy to find due to the large amount of signs around town. The bar down stairs also had a great atmosphere and decent drink specials. One of the better hostels i stayed at.
  • 94%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Anonymous
  • The hostel was very clean and in an excellent location! Cafe has tasty food and the bar is a great place to start your night. We had trouble late at night with our key cards not working, but the staff was always extremely helpful and prompt. Rooms were clean and well-kept. Awesome hostel and environment, great place to stay!
  • 86%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Most solid wifi connection, & cleanest showers of any Hostel. Plus every bed comes equipped with two personal sockets & a reading lamp in the head. There is a cafe & bar within the hostel & the staff is always there to help you at the reception 24/7 & can also recommend things to do! The trunks under the beds are also very convenient rather than having to lock things away in some other room(bring a lock tho, or pay 6.50 at the reception for one ). I will stay here again when I return to Dublin!
  • 91%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Charles USA
  • 50€/night for a bed in a dorm (week-end)... most expensive of the 100+ hostels I've experienced worldwide. They have thousands of beds! And most guests are big groups (10 or more), unfriendly if you travel alone or with a friend or 2. Common room? There is none! It's actually a pub/club/restaurant where you feel like you should buy something in order to stay! All seats are taken by big groups, shouting, drinking and laughing. If you alone looking for people to meet, good luck to you!
  • 60%
  • 29 May 2015 Romain France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »