See other Dublin properties

Generator Hostel Dublin

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 84% from 15 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very clean, lots of plug ins, awesome food. BUT the hostel is a bit too big, may be hard to meet people since most are their in big groups for bachelor/rette parties.The downside to large hostels is that they try to pedal their paid events like pub crawls, their restaurant etc. The breakfast was way overprice. Also don't go to the grocery store across from it because it's an organic overpriced shop. The location isn't city center but Dublin is small, maybe a 10 mins walk to everything.
  • 77%
  • 05 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I enjoyed staying at the Generator Hostel very much. The room was a good size and clean. As well as the bathroom. It felt like I was staying at a hotel. I loved that it had a bar, a cafe, food, laundry room, and a lot of space to hangout at. It was a very nice place.
  • 100%
  • 19 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Might be a nice hostel for people who don't need much sleep. There is party every day organized by the hostel which is nice but also very loud. There are no female washrooms on every floor so you had to use the lift every single time. Furthermore you really had to use the lift as the doors to use the stairs (or to get out again on another floor) were locked.
  • 57%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Andrea Sabrina Germany
  • I enjoyed both of my stays at this hostel (I had layovers that went long in Dublin). The beds were alright, not the most comfortable, but being jetlagged makes even the flattest of surfaces feel like heaven. The atmosphere is very great and I really enjoyed the bar area to just talk to people before I left. Overall cheap place to stay, close to most sights and easy to get to the airport on the AirCoach.
  • 89%
  • 08 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The dorm room is so dark and no fresh air, probably will be very smelly during summer.
  • 77%
  • 16 Dec 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Great hostel, little walk to the center (10-15 min), which meant it's a little more quiet than hostels right in the heart of the center. Rooms are big enough and beds are provided with bed light and two sockets to use. So no sharing for charging your batteries! Great atmosphere and lovely bar. Staff is friendly and helpful. Really good in organizing parties! Loved the beds, slept well. Nice mattress, pillow and blanket.
  • 77%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • Loved this hostel! Felt more like a hotel than a hostel which was definitely a nice surprise. Each bed had two outlets and a reading light which was great!
  • 97%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Megan USA
  • Staff did not make me feel comfortable when asking questions. Some were even too busy to look at me when speaking. Its a shame because Generator is a nice hostel, but I was not impressed with the staff at all.
  • 77%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Erika USA
  • It was rather hot in the dormitory. Facing the sun were only glass windows without any help for shade. I felt the music in the entrance was rather loud. All in all it was a nice hostel and the staff was very friendly.
  • 94%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Margaret Germany
  • The tub / shower in room 114 is dangerous. Also, the smoking outside the front door prohibits opening the windows for fresh air in this room. This room is also at the start of the hall near the doors to the lift so everyone coming in & out is noisy at this point. Aside from these realities of the room we were assigned, the Generator Dublin is a great choice for a hostel here in Dublin.
  • 94%
  • 09 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »