See other Hamburg properties

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Steinorplatz 3,, Hamburg, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 86% from 61 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • takk for det jeg synes det var bra i generator hostel men når jeg har bestelt hos deres . på nett side i booking var etter kl 14.00 du kan komme in roome men når jeg kommer på hostel jeg ventet ca 2 timer og hun som jobber i respshon. og hun muslim dame som jobber ikke for nøyet med henne. snakke myer blab balab. men men rest service var veldi bra og fornøyt- takk
  • 80%
  • 25 Jan 2015 jusef Norway
  • Excellent hostel at a great location. The lounge was cool, but it seemed like things turned down a bit early.
  • 94%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • First time staying at a Genorator and I would definitely go to another one!
  • 86%
  • 26 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is in an excellent location--across the street from the Hbf but a short walk to anything downtown. The hostel is huge and clean but because it is so big, it was hard to meet people in the hostel. Luckily I met people on the walking tour but it I hadn't, I doubt I would have met people. Also, the food and drinks were way too expensive and the breakfast was NOT worth 5 euros (stale bread, two types of cold cuts, and cereal). They also don't lend towels, you have to buy them for 6.50.
  • 77%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Feels a bit like a high security prison. The security guy even checks what you were shopping and might deny your entry. Doesn't feel very privacy friendly..
  • 80%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Very good location, cool staff always there when you have a problem 24h/24, well secured thanks to the many doors locked with the pink card and the lockets. But one very negative point about the cleaning of the rooms: the beds where super and comfortable but please clean the bathroom, the toilet and empty the waste bins each time someone new moves into the room.
  • 77%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • Amazing hotel, amazing staff, amazing visitors, great wi-fi, amazing atmosphere. Loved it so much.
  • 100%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Robby USA
  • The hostel has a beautiful lobby and the computers available with Internet worked great. The in-room facilities are tiny, but there are a limited number of full-sized restrooms. The bed was decent and comfortable enough. The staff was friendly. There's no kitchen for guests, though you can buy food, etc., in the lobby.
  • 89%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Clean and efficiently run. Not a great place to go if you're not with your own group.
  • 74%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The booking system was down, so check-in was delayed and the key-cards did not work properly...
  • 83%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Marius Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »