See other Hamburg properties

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Steinorplatz 3,, Hamburg, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 85% from 54 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A very good hostel with incredible staff, always disposed to help you, and the most important aspect to take in account is that is next to the main train station in the city. I definitely will stay there if i go to Hamburg again.
  • 97%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Héctor Mexico
  • This hostel had a very good location, however a woman at the reception was a bit rude when we asked for help, it didn't feel like she wanted to help and she got almost angry when we asked for directions a second time. The rest of the staff was nice though.
  • 77%
  • 21 Jul 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • Although the staff were as accomadating as they could be...this just another big, impersonal, commercial, enterprise that lacks the heart of a hostel. First; a real hostel shows you to your room and helps with luggage if needed. Second a hostel makes your bed and removes sheets themselves. Yeah, there are other customer considerations other than selling you alcohol. Impersonal yeah, I feel sorry for newbies who have never experienced a real hostel who's customers are important.
  • 74%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Unfriendly staff from reception to bar (manager).
  • 60%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Michael Netherlands
  • Clean, pretty good food for decent prices. worth the money definitely. That said, the card keys here mess up a lot, the staff has to let us in a lot. I had to get it reset for my room. Also some of the staff is severely unfriendly and not helpful, particularly the bar staff. Slow and moody.
  • 60%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I loved the Generator Hostel in Hamburg. I was on the third floor, and I had an awesome view of the city since it is located at the center. I would go back there anyday anytime.
  • 86%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Alexandra USA
  • I wonder why breakfast is not included. I think it would be easier to administrate than breakfastvouchers.
  • 83%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • Super nice location just next to the train station!
  • 86%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Anonymous China
  • Location and price are really perfect!!! Check in time was 14:30. So l left my luggage in the locker room and l looked around. Everything was really good and staff (specially man worked in the morning was really considerate and kind) was nice.
  • 97%
  • 16 Feb 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • This hostel is fine. It's a chain, with no atmosphere. Probably good for big groups coming to party. The location is excellent for the central train station (Hamburg Hauptbahnhof).
  • 60%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Baran
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »