See other Hamburg properties

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Steinorplatz 3,, Hamburg, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 85% from 52 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I did not like the hostel. The bathroom was so small, you cant dry with the towel when you were in it. No kitchen to cook, but they says that they offer food, but no after 8 because they run out of food or they close their kitchen. Theres a good bar but they dont treat you well. The breakfast is 5 euros, but as you dont have a kitchen you cant make your own breakfast. The staff dont tell you nothing even if you ask. The security guards treat you very bad, i hate them more than cups...
  • 54%
  • 22 Aug 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Visited twice because of a good location and cheap prices. Not very cozy, but clean rooms and good beds. Excellent value for money.
  • 89%
  • 19 Aug 2015 Maiju Finland
  • A very good hostel with incredible staff, always disposed to help you, and the most important aspect to take in account is that is next to the main train station in the city. I definitely will stay there if i go to Hamburg again.
  • 97%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Héctor Mexico
  • This hostel had a very good location, however a woman at the reception was a bit rude when we asked for help, it didn't feel like she wanted to help and she got almost angry when we asked for directions a second time. The rest of the staff was nice though.
  • 77%
  • 21 Jul 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • Although the staff were as accomadating as they could be...this just another big, impersonal, commercial, enterprise that lacks the heart of a hostel. First; a real hostel shows you to your room and helps with luggage if needed. Second a hostel makes your bed and removes sheets themselves. Yeah, there are other customer considerations other than selling you alcohol. Impersonal yeah, I feel sorry for newbies who have never experienced a real hostel who's customers are important.
  • 74%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Unfriendly staff from reception to bar (manager).
  • 60%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Michael Netherlands
  • Clean, pretty good food for decent prices. worth the money definitely. That said, the card keys here mess up a lot, the staff has to let us in a lot. I had to get it reset for my room. Also some of the staff is severely unfriendly and not helpful, particularly the bar staff. Slow and moody.
  • 60%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I loved the Generator Hostel in Hamburg. I was on the third floor, and I had an awesome view of the city since it is located at the center. I would go back there anyday anytime.
  • 86%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Alexandra USA
  • I wonder why breakfast is not included. I think it would be easier to administrate than breakfastvouchers.
  • 83%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • Super nice location just next to the train station!
  • 86%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »