See other Hamburg properties

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Steinorplatz 3,, Hamburg, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 84% from 54 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very clean, safe hostel, excellent location in the center of the town, extremely close to the station (so, in case you want to change trains and have a quite night, better than in a sleeping car, this is a good choice).
  • 83%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The location for this hostel is fantastic. It is right across the street from the main train station and about a 5 min walk to the center of the city. The only bad thing I could say about it is that because of the awesome location it can be really crowded at times. At the peak check in/out times, don't even bother going down to the front desk as there is going to be a long line.
  • 91%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I think It's really a good hostel, clean and fantastic atmosphere. The room is nice but bathrooms inside room are really too small, however we use the bathrooms in the corridor, which were always free. I would have preferred that there was also a kitchen.
  • 91%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • The bed was good, but the bathroom was way too small. It wasn't even possible to brush my teeth there in a normal way. The luggage room next to the reception should also have been bigger. I would prefer if the breakfast was included.
  • 74%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • Being near the Hauptbahnhof noise from outside is a bit of an issue, so remember to bring your ear plugs!
  • 86%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • No issues, good hostel right by the train station. Was a little noisy at night due to other guests, but can't fault the hostel for that.
  • 91%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Great location - right next to train stations. Looks like a newly constructed building and definitely has a simple, clean, interior. Small toilet and shower. I'm only 5'6" and trouble fitting in.
  • 100%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Anonymous China
  • Truly tiny bathrooms, think submarine tiny. Nice bar.
  • 77%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anders Sweden
  • Very convenient location, awesome facilities, frendly staff... what more to ask for ? Very much recommended.
  • 97%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Victoire France
  • Clean and nice. Very close to the trainstation. We were very satisfied!
  • 91%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Anonymous Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »