See other Hamburg properties

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Steinorplatz 3,, Hamburg, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 84% from 47 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything was great. Put the milk on ice, eating cereal in the morning is gross with room temperature milk
  • 86%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Kevin USA
  • Great location directly across from the train station. Hotel like, not very friendly for solo travelers. Bathroom is incredibly tiny for no apparent reason.
  • 77%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The bathrooms were a bit small, but manageable. It was nice that every bed had its own outlet and light, but it would be nice if there were curtains on the beds so that you don't wake up to the lights/people comming in and turning on the lights.
  • 74%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Heather USA
  • Rooms were nice except for ultra tiny bathrooms and showers. It is not a good place to meet people except for those you are roomed with. It is just like a big chain hotel except with four times the people. Nevertheless I got plenty of sleep here
  • 71%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed there in mid June 2014 for two nights. Then I visited hostels in Copenhagen a day after. Then I found how great was the Generator. It was renovated very modern. The beds had convenient electricity plug, UBS plug, and LED light and a small cover at the side of the bed which makes your bed a little more private if you want to play with your mobile in the bed . The location is very close to central station and there are many restaurant open till very late night.
  • 100%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous Iran
  • Cleaning of the bathrooms of a 6-dorm only on demand.
  • 66%
  • 28 May 2014 Britta Germany
  • Very cheap, extremely good value for money. Clean, comfortable beds, super solid internet and bathroom, although I felt the ensuite bathrooms were a bit too small. The location though, is horrible. The only redeeming thing is its next to the train station. It is far from all nice parts of hamburg, and is very close to a rather sketchy neighborhood. In my stay there I would hear constant fights going on outside past 12 and all sorts of random stuff.
  • 83%
  • 27 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very clean and efficient facilities, located right next to the main station. I would definitely stay here again if I visit Hamburg in the future.
  • 80%
  • 22 May 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I really liked this hostel. Very close to the train station, but in an area that had restaurants and other things to do. The facilities were great. Free computers, a bar in the hostel, and a nice breakfast layout (not included). I did laundry there though, and all the directions in English were only for the washer, so after 55 minutes of my stuff being in the dryer, everything was very hot, but not dry. Rooms were spacious, and loved the shower in the room. Thanks!
  • 94%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff was hit and definite misses but not enough to take away from the quality of the hostel.
  • 77%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Emily
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »