See other Hamburg properties

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Steinorplatz 3,, Hamburg, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 84% from 54 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good location, cool staff always there when you have a problem 24h/24, well secured thanks to the many doors locked with the pink card and the lockets. But one very negative point about the cleaning of the rooms: the beds where super and comfortable but please clean the bathroom, the toilet and empty the waste bins each time someone new moves into the room.
  • 77%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • Amazing hotel, amazing staff, amazing visitors, great wi-fi, amazing atmosphere. Loved it so much.
  • 100%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Robby USA
  • The hostel has a beautiful lobby and the computers available with Internet worked great. The in-room facilities are tiny, but there are a limited number of full-sized restrooms. The bed was decent and comfortable enough. The staff was friendly. There's no kitchen for guests, though you can buy food, etc., in the lobby.
  • 89%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Clean and efficiently run. Not a great place to go if you're not with your own group.
  • 74%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The booking system was down, so check-in was delayed and the key-cards did not work properly...
  • 83%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Marius Germany
  • As a solo traveler this hostel was too big and without a kitchen where you could meet people. People in the bar kept to themselves and tended to be groups. Staff were rude with a couple gems. Rooms were okay. Bathrooms were teeny tiny! I had read this in other reviews and thought people were complaining for nothing but oh no, they're about the size of a toilet on a bus. The location, though near the station, was terrible. I suggest staying in one of Hamburg's artsier or student areas.
  • 60%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very clean, safe hostel, excellent location in the center of the town, extremely close to the station (so, in case you want to change trains and have a quite night, better than in a sleeping car, this is a good choice).
  • 83%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The location for this hostel is fantastic. It is right across the street from the main train station and about a 5 min walk to the center of the city. The only bad thing I could say about it is that because of the awesome location it can be really crowded at times. At the peak check in/out times, don't even bother going down to the front desk as there is going to be a long line.
  • 91%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I think It's really a good hostel, clean and fantastic atmosphere. The room is nice but bathrooms inside room are really too small, however we use the bathrooms in the corridor, which were always free. I would have preferred that there was also a kitchen.
  • 91%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • The bed was good, but the bathroom was way too small. It wasn't even possible to brush my teeth there in a normal way. The luggage room next to the reception should also have been bigger. I would prefer if the breakfast was included.
  • 74%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous Norway
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »