See other Hamburg properties

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Steinorplatz 3,, Hamburg, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 84% from 50 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location - right next to train stations. Looks like a newly constructed building and definitely has a simple, clean, interior. Small toilet and shower. I'm only 5'6" and trouble fitting in.
  • 100%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Anonymous China
  • Very convenient location, awesome facilities, frendly staff... what more to ask for ? Very much recommended.
  • 97%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Victoire France
  • Clean and nice. Very close to the trainstation. We were very satisfied!
  • 91%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • breakfast was not always available rooms needed hooks for hanging towels and coats maybe a chair to sit on..
  • 83%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Everything was great. Put the milk on ice, eating cereal in the morning is gross with room temperature milk
  • 86%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Kevin USA
  • Great location directly across from the train station. Hotel like, not very friendly for solo travelers. Bathroom is incredibly tiny for no apparent reason.
  • 77%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The bathrooms were a bit small, but manageable. It was nice that every bed had its own outlet and light, but it would be nice if there were curtains on the beds so that you don't wake up to the lights/people comming in and turning on the lights.
  • 74%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Heather USA
  • Rooms were nice except for ultra tiny bathrooms and showers. It is not a good place to meet people except for those you are roomed with. It is just like a big chain hotel except with four times the people. Nevertheless I got plenty of sleep here
  • 71%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed there in mid June 2014 for two nights. Then I visited hostels in Copenhagen a day after. Then I found how great was the Generator. It was renovated very modern. The beds had convenient electricity plug, UBS plug, and LED light and a small cover at the side of the bed which makes your bed a little more private if you want to play with your mobile in the bed . The location is very close to central station and there are many restaurant open till very late night.
  • 100%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous Iran
  • Cleaning of the bathrooms of a 6-dorm only on demand.
  • 66%
  • 28 May 2014 Britta Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »