See other Hamburg properties

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Steinorplatz 3,, Hamburg, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 81% from 51 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great Place to stay, exellent value for money. Even breakfast was very good given it only cost 5€. And no air condion, personally I prefer that. The only thing that could make the sleep even better would be a parted window with a sall opening to allow some fresh air. And very friendly, easy going staff that makes one feel welcome.
  • 100%
  • 21 Jan 2016 Silke
  • Great stay, very nice place great atmosphere, very clean, next to central station. The only thing not positive were the matresses, not confortable.
  • 97%
  • 01 Jan 2016 Maria Portugal
  • I really like the leisure floor that have computers, sofas and power supplies. The room has good light making it energetic and enjoy. You need to pass 3 doors needing key so it's rather safe. One thing: you need to bring your own locker if you want to lock your belongings.
  • 94%
  • 24 Dec 2015 Anonymous China
  • excellent location!
  • 80%
  • 18 Dec 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • I'm really happy i stayed in this Hostel. It was only for 2 nights, but still i can't think of a drawback!
  • 100%
  • 14 Dec 2015 ERMIONI Greece
  • The bathrooms in the mixed 8 bed rooms are super small. Make sure that you use the ones outside the room. I was injured while taking a shower when my head hit the sink as I was trying to pick up the soap off the floor.
  • 97%
  • 26 Nov 2015 Isis USA
  • not well managed, got a bed which was used; luggage room is only for group, but didn't update on hostels.com. (after arguing about these points, I got a bed in another room, and free usage of the luggage room on the next day )
  • 60%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Great place, more than my expectatives. Close to everything and with a perfect style.
  • 100%
  • 14 Oct 2015 Anonymous Uruguay
  • DO NOT book in advance. Got ripped off. Paid 35 euros for 1 night. Beds were about 18 euros closer to the date. No kitchen. The toilet and shower in the room looked like they belong on an aircraft. Also, spent a couple of hours in the bar and then asked the receptionist about luggage storage the next day and was treated like a drunkard, which is rich, especially in Germany.
  • 60%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I did not like the hostel. The bathroom was so small, you cant dry with the towel when you were in it. No kitchen to cook, but they says that they offer food, but no after 8 because they run out of food or they close their kitchen. Theres a good bar but they dont treat you well. The breakfast is 5 euros, but as you dont have a kitchen you cant make your own breakfast. The staff dont tell you nothing even if you ask. The security guards treat you very bad, i hate them more than cups...
  • 54%
  • 22 Aug 2015 Anonymous Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »