See other Hamburg properties

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Steinorplatz 3,, Hamburg, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 85% from 59 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Clean, pretty good food for decent prices. worth the money definitely. That said, the card keys here mess up a lot, the staff has to let us in a lot. I had to get it reset for my room. Also some of the staff is severely unfriendly and not helpful, particularly the bar staff. Slow and moody.
  • 60%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I loved the Generator Hostel in Hamburg. I was on the third floor, and I had an awesome view of the city since it is located at the center. I would go back there anyday anytime.
  • 86%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Alexandra USA
  • I wonder why breakfast is not included. I think it would be easier to administrate than breakfastvouchers.
  • 83%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • Super nice location just next to the train station!
  • 86%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Anonymous China
  • Location and price are really perfect!!! Check in time was 14:30. So l left my luggage in the locker room and l looked around. Everything was really good and staff (specially man worked in the morning was really considerate and kind) was nice.
  • 97%
  • 16 Feb 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • This hostel is fine. It's a chain, with no atmosphere. Probably good for big groups coming to party. The location is excellent for the central train station (Hamburg Hauptbahnhof).
  • 60%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Baran
  • I had a fair number of problems with this hostel. While the location was close to the main train station, this area did not seem very safe, especially for a girl traveling alone. Also, the bathroom and shower were TINY in my room; I could barely turn around and there was no soap or a hand towel provided. The wifi did work in the room. But I was annoyed that they wanted to charge 6.50 euros for me to buy a towel since they didn't have ones to rent. Strange. The staff was very unfriendly.
  • 69%
  • 09 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Perfect experience. Cannot recommend Generator more highly.
  • 100%
  • 06 Feb 2015 Daniel USA
  • takk for det jeg synes det var bra i generator hostel men når jeg har bestelt hos deres . på nett side i booking var etter kl 14.00 du kan komme in roome men når jeg kommer på hostel jeg ventet ca 2 timer og hun som jobber i respshon. og hun muslim dame som jobber ikke for nøyet med henne. snakke myer blab balab. men men rest service var veldi bra og fornøyt- takk
  • 80%
  • 25 Jan 2015 jusef Norway
  • Excellent hostel at a great location. The lounge was cool, but it seemed like things turned down a bit early.
  • 94%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »