See other London properties

Generator Hostel London

Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London, England, Distance from city centre: 3km

Rating: 80% from 16 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed in this hostel for two separate nights. The first night is a private room on the 4th floor. This room is quite nice and I had a happy living experience. HOWEVER, the second time is the poorest living experience I had ever have in any hostels. I booked a 4 mix-dorm on Generator official website, but I got 6 mix-dorm in London Generator. I came back to the reception and tried to understand what was going on. The male staff was very impolite to me, explain nth and refused to solve this.
  • 46%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Anonymous China
  • I don't know where the other people who left reviews were staying, but it certainly couldn't have been the same place I stayed! Firstly, your room rate gets you a bed: that's it. Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING else is an additional charge. The staff are unfriendly. Many people have mentioned that the security is good, and I will agree with them. It was so good it completely bummed me out! The motto on the doors is 'Have Fun'; instead it should be 'Shh!' I wouldn't even recommend it to enemies
  • 57%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Fergus Canada
  • Generator London is a nice place worth the money, if you wish to be in a center, cause location really superconvenient. There has been no prob whatsoever during my stay. Still, a traveler gets the feeling that this place is too much about money, which spoils the atmosphere, for instance breakfast could be cheaper for what is offered and staff could be more flexible for late, unexpected check-ins (there were beds free guys!!!)
  • 80%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Markéta Czech Republic
  • Such a great hostel!! great location, great value, fun travelers, great security, great rooms. No complaints!
  • 100%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is geared towards the younger crowd. It was noisy, especially the doors and the music from the bar. Laundry facilities a plus, bathrooms clean, staff helpful but maybe too few of them. Beds were comfy but 4 person room was teeny tiny. Pretty close to metro and shops. All in all I'd stay there again.
  • 69%
  • 02 Feb 2014 Shannon USA
  • Your number one rule were to have fun and fun alcohol go hand in hand so rhink it was a shame that you were not allowed to bring alcohol to the room. Otherwise a perfect stay, thanks:)
  • 89%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • 1. not enough staff in travel shop, always cannot find staff in travel shop 2. the soak should be sold in reception 24 hours because usually come back at night 3. the breakfast's food is not good, little choice 4. the bedroom is very small and narrow, should have at least one power supply in every bed, the bedroom is very narrow, so I could not have enough space to open my luggage 5. the bathroom is very small, always has to wait 6. no one clean the bedroom's rubbish bin everyday.
  • 74%
  • 23 Dec 2013 WAI MAN RAYMOND Hong Kong
  • It's a pitty that breakfast isn't included in the price for the bed.The biggest difficulty was the disstance beween the toilet and 10-person bed room. Also, despite the fact I booked the 10person bed room, I was in 12 person bed room whcich makes a difference...
  • 77%
  • 11 Nov 2013 Barbara Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »