See other Venice properties

Generator Venice

Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 84% from 40 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I am From Myanmar and stayed there for two nights on weekends. I stayed in 8 person mixed bed room and bed is very clean n nice smell. When the person on upper bed is moving around, there is not much noise n bed frame is really good. My favorite thing of hostel is location, it will be far from main island but I really love to sit at canal side n drink beer. I never forget this moment. Strongly recommend to stay except price is a bit high. :)
  • 83%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Anonymous Myanmar
  • Nice hostel. The location mades it really expensive, at least for me. I got a two day pass for 24 euros for the vaporeto, if not every trip is 7 euros if I´m not wrong. The staff was ok with me. I liked the room. Continental breakfast.
  • 83%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • Nice place and easily accessible with waterbuss. Waterbus ticket costs 7 € one way, 20 € for 24 hours etc. The staff said that there are no cheaper tickets. It makes the stay more expensive. If you're planning to use the waterbus anyway then it doesn't matter. I slept really well in a 16 bed dorm. The bed and the linen were comfy and air conditioning good. The common room is big and it's easy to meet people. Most of the people were backpackers that are under 30, maybe under 25 years old.
  • 89%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Inka Finland
  • This is not a hostel for youth, it is a hotel for all types of people including families. Backpackers who come to this place will be surprised by how fancy it is- and expensive. The staff were all very unfriendly and not very helpful. To get to San Marc (the main tourist attraction plaza in Venice) you have to spend 7£ on a ferry one way to get there. For people who are poor backpackers this isn't good money wise. And don't think you can get away without having one, we got fined 60£ each.
  • 66%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • A nice hostel in a very good location close to International Architecture Exhibition 2014
  • 89%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Maurizio Italy
  • Nice place to stay.The atmosphere was good.I was in a mixed dorm and was surprised to see that the door to the shower mostly transparent. I would like to have more privacy in the shower considering the bathroom cant be locked.
  • 80%
  • 09 Jun 2014 varun India
  • Deffinetly a bumping party atmosphere! But also private rooms away from the noise. Bathrooms were shared between multiple large rooms though which made it difficult to use
  • 91%
  • 31 May 2014 Laura Canada
  • I chose Generator Venice because I had stayed at a the Generator in Copenhagen and enjoyed my experience so much that I decided to book with them again. The Venice hostel is even better!!! The staff was very accommodating and friendly and the location is perfect....the water bus stop is just out front and super easy to find. My only suggestion is that you may want to purchase a return ticket for the water bus as there is no station to purchase one at the stop in front of Generator.
  • 97%
  • 18 May 2014 Andrea USA
  • The place seemed modern and very clean. The location was great. Although it wasn't on the main island, the water bus passes are for unlimited use, so I'm not sure why people were saying they had to pay 7 euros to get there. Beautiful views outside the hostel. I loved that they had a bar/restaurant downstairs. Would definitely stay here again!
  • 94%
  • 04 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Cool and beautiful look.
  • 80%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Undoubtedly one of the prettiest and most other-worldly sights you're going to see on this planet, this natural phenom is caused by the collision of electrically charged particles from the sun. To us, it's an eerie sheet of coloured light, like a big rave in the sky. And here are the top spots to watch it!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »