See other Venice properties

Generator Venice

Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 78% from 23 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 67%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice hostel, but the rooms were noisy. Noise went late in to the night from the bar downstairs (open to all). Probably would not stay there again.
  • 57%
  • 09 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Lobby is in a night club / lounge setting. You would not find the check in desk right off the bat after a long exhausting travel commute. Its new construction and facility. Only thing stood out to me was the long wait for the bathroom since the bathroom is not separate from the shower area. So if someone lock the door to take a shower or use the toilet, all others have to wait. But the do have one extra shared bathrooms in the hall way but its the similar design. Could have been better designed.
  • 77%
  • 05 Sep 2015 Peng China
  • My second favorite hoste by far! Atmosphere is great and they had conditioning which was awesome. Really recommend this hostiel!
  • 94%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This was by far the best hostel i stayed in during my trip around europe, staying in about 9 hostels all together, the only very minor issue was the location because it was on another island across from venice but so so easy to get to, the staff were so friendly and the bar and hang out area couldnt of been better!! the rooms were also superb.
  • 94%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Anonymous England
  • It is a bit out of the way as it isn't on the main island, but it has a large common area that includes food and a bar so it is really social. People sit outside and hangout by the water at night which is cool. They charge for everything, it seemed like. Doing one load of laundry costs €7. But the place is run like a hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The lockers are big. They have AC, a must with the humidity. If you are good traveling by ferry, then it is definitely worth it.
  • 94%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Charles USA
  • not a member so had to pay 2or3Euros extra-they should post that on bed had blood stains on it so they changed me to another bed-thank god. wish they had hand soap in bathrm-4 sany reasons. staff spoke some english. overall it was nice, some people gathered near water to talk. view is nice from there. their croissants are real good. its a nice place but nothing special in my eyes that i would say i definitely want to come back and stay there.
  • 77%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Don't stay here!!! The reviews are wrong. My sheets had blood stains on them. They didn't change them. They ran out of towels so I had to use a shirt to dry off (their excuse was that they didn't feel like doing laundry yet). The staff were rude. We asked questions at the front desk and they would roll their eyes. A woman in front of us as the bar asked for smaller change back instead of two big bills... the bartender said "I'm giving you what I have. Relax." In a very rude tone. Awful staff.
  • 31%
  • 25 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Very well run. Thoroughly impressed. The only issues I saw were: the boxes underneath the beds sometimes/often had lost their latch; the window overlooking the canal did not close securely. Would definitely repeat a visit.
  • 77%
  • 22 Apr 2015 Kelsey USA
  • I had an awesome time staying here! Rooms were very nice and the staff was very friendly. Super great environment for meeting people!
  • 97%
  • 10 Apr 2015 Wyatt
  • Great hostel to hang out and meet people. Make sure to get a multi-day boat pass to get there and back.
  • 91%
  • 09 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »