See other Venice properties

Generator Venice

Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 78% from 27 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 69%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It is a bit out of the way as it isn't on the main island, but it has a large common area that includes food and a bar so it is really social. People sit outside and hangout by the water at night which is cool. They charge for everything, it seemed like. Doing one load of laundry costs €7. But the place is run like a hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The lockers are big. They have AC, a must with the humidity. If you are good traveling by ferry, then it is definitely worth it.
  • 94%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Charles USA
  • not a member so had to pay 2or3Euros extra-they should post that on site.my bed had blood stains on it so they changed me to another bed-thank god. wish they had hand soap in bathrm-4 sany reasons. staff spoke some english. overall it was nice, some people gathered near water to talk. view is nice from there. their croissants are real good. its a nice place but nothing special in my eyes that i would say i definitely want to come back and stay there.
  • 77%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Don't stay here!!! The reviews are wrong. My sheets had blood stains on them. They didn't change them. They ran out of towels so I had to use a shirt to dry off (their excuse was that they didn't feel like doing laundry yet). The staff were rude. We asked questions at the front desk and they would roll their eyes. A woman in front of us as the bar asked for smaller change back instead of two big bills... the bartender said "I'm giving you what I have. Relax." In a very rude tone. Awful staff.
  • 31%
  • 25 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Very well run. Thoroughly impressed. The only issues I saw were: the boxes underneath the beds sometimes/often had lost their latch; the window overlooking the canal did not close securely. Would definitely repeat a visit.
  • 77%
  • 22 Apr 2015 Kelsey USA
  • I had an awesome time staying here! Rooms were very nice and the staff was very friendly. Super great environment for meeting people!
  • 97%
  • 10 Apr 2015 Wyatt
  • Great hostel to hang out and meet people. Make sure to get a multi-day boat pass to get there and back.
  • 91%
  • 09 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Amazing Hostel, very clean, great cool atmosphere, comfortable beds and feels secure. The bar downstairs was very fun with great music and people. Cheap buffet style breakfast. Only thing is you need to take a waterbus to this hostel which will cost you 7 euro there and 7 euro back.
  • 91%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • It was a very good place to stay. You should take a boat to get there, but its a nice experience.
  • 97%
  • 17 Jan 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Hostel itself is really nice. If you have a plan to buy a 3 days ticket for Vaporetto, you could choose this hostel. Anyway you should take a Vaporetto to get this hostel. It makes everything expensive. But it is nice hostel though.
  • 83%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The place is stylish, very clean and well organised. Really nothing to complain about! Some people complain in their comments that you need to pay for the boat to get to the place. That is right, but if you move around Venice, I would anyway recommend to buy a boat pass for your whole stay right on your arrival. It's so much fun to go around Venice by boat.
  • 94%
  • 05 Oct 2014 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »